We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
52
14
3
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
14
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen plan on staying porch area quiet cabin black hills satellite tv easy access would stay here again custer state park comfortable beds needles highway mount rushmore cecilia attractions swing grandchildren atv
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 76 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We look forward every year to come out to Hill City and stay here! Our most recent was this Memorial Day weekend 2013. After two nights in Deadwood we came to stay at Janssen's. We have stayed here for the last two years, and every year it improves! The beds in the cabins are comfortable, and there was a brand new grill on our patio. They even allow you to fish in the creek behind the cabins! The owners are sweet, and very helpful when you ask questions about the area. Janssen's Lodestone is so close to many attractions in the Black Hills. I would recommend this place to any family or friends looking to come out to the Hilly City/ Black Hills area. Next year we will be staying here for all 4 days of our trip!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed twice. First time cabin was nice, and roomy but satellite on TV didn't work, which is no big since we don't have this amenity at home, but owner knew there was problems with it but didn't fix it. Second time cabin was a disappointment. Beds were let's say " less than adequate" and cabin felt small...and once again satellite didn't work too good...most channels didn't come in...but didn't mention it to owners since it didn't help with previous stay. Can't say we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationnthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose Janssen's Lodestone for our vacation for the reasonable price and because they were dog friendly. Though we knew they were close to the Black Hills attractions we were pleasantly surprised at how close. Hill City was also very close and a nice town to walk around. We enjoyed log cabin, #4, though it was small it was the perfect size for us and our dog. The cabin was clean and provided all that we needed for our stay. Relaxing in the porch swing was quite nice. The owners were friendly and their greeter, a large Newfie called Watson, made us feel welcome. Would I chose to stay here again? In a heartbeat.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank stevenjo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2012

3 adults and 2 kids (suite would accommodate another adult and child or 2) used this very clean and friendly and very conveniently located motel as home base to explore the Black Hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Harney peak trailhead were within a 20 min drive. Wind Cave Nat'l Park was a little further but the drive there on 87 is BEAUTIFUL. We packed light since we weren't camping and it was nice to pull the car off the road and right up to our motel door. We booked 2 adjoining rooms to create a "suite" with a "kitchenette" which was more of a small kitchen with a beautiful view of the creek and birds and bright morning sunshine and all 5 of us could sit down to breakfast together (and fits a 500 pc. puzzle). Since we had two rooms we also had 2 bathrooms-one with a shower, one with a shower/tub which was nice. The motel has a nice setting porch out front with a beautiful view of the craggy rocks and pines across the road and a very friendly, large and disinterested Newfoundland dog seemed to be the motel mascot. There is a lovely small garden in front and some open area but no real recreation options on site which was good because we were way too busy to spend any time besides meals and sleeping at the motel, which had good quality blue gingham sheets, nice firm mattresses and plenty of pillows. There is a groc/liquor/hardware store a quarter mile down the road and beyond that, Hill City which looks to be a lovely tourist/cabin town with plenty of restaurants and an outdoor RR museum AND Diary Queen.

Room Tip: We had rooms 5 and 6. There is a little highway noise and voices can be heard out in front if people are talking there. The walls between rooms are cinderblock and very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for one night in a cabin. I will say it felt a bit dated in terms of furniture. The couch could use an upgrade and it felt a bit "old." The bathroom, however, was perfect. It felt remodeled and was nice in the morning.

The service was awesome! We got in late and the owner waited up for us. You don't get that kind of service at a national chain (like you would find in Keystone).

It is a bit rugged, so if you are looking for modern, this is not the place for you. On the other hand, if you want to crack a beer, swing on your mini porch or simply hit the bed, this is affordable and perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvrandshker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews