We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Best place to stay if you are making plans to Mt. Rushmore, Stergis, Deadwood, Crazy Horse Monument, Custer National Park, The Black Hills and the Badlands!! All of these attractions are within a 40-50 mile radius. The owners of this small business (4 motel rooms & 4 cabins) were the sweetest people and take very good care of you while you are there. We stayed in one of the cabins which has fully equipped kitchen, living room/bedroom combo and bath. B-B-Que grill on the front porch and a swing. Located about 5 miles outside the small quaint town of Hill City right on the highway. Very quiet and peaceful and comfortable..

Room Tip: Cabins are just 3 rooms kitchen bath 2 beds and couch .. Very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2016

The hosts of the Lodestone are very friendly and helpful. The cabin we got was clean but in need of expert repairs and redecorating. The place is really old and has apparently had repairs done by a handyman rather than by a professional. Everything was clean and worked, but was shabby and repairs not done neatly. An extra bed in the room and a sloping floor made it hard to maneuver and left no surface for incidentals. The kitchen was nice to have but so crowded as to be difficult to use. The wifi is very weak. Overall, the vibe is "old summer camp".

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We have always wanted to stay at the Lodestone, and this time we got a chance to do so. The cabin were were in was spacious and very very clean!! The beds were comfortable. The AC was not working the greatest, but it was super super hot, so was having a hard time keeping up. But the ceiling fan and extra swivel fan really helped. The Janssens are super nice people!! We would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We are so happy we found this place. The cabin was the cleanest place we have stayed away from home. The owners were very friendly, ( they were helping a guest fix his motorcycle when we arrived). Nicely centered to most attractions. It is a small cabin but with the two beds 4 could sleep there comfortably. The bed we slept on had a new mattress. The grill outside was also newer. We enjoyed unwinding on the porch swing at night. There was everything we needed in the room to cook, sleep, and shower. We plan on staying at the Lodestone on our next trip back to SD.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

If you are looking for a clean, centrally located area to stay in the Black Hills, this place is good for that. They have adjoining rooms if you come with family or friends, each with their own bathrooms, and rooms with a kitchen which is also great. Owners are very nice people. would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank eimersSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here for 5 nights. Hill City provided a great "base camp" for our stay in the Black Hills area. We stayed in cabin 3. Our cabin was clean and tidy upon arrival. We appreciated having a kitchen during our stay. Bathroom (sink, stool and adequate sized shower stall) was nice. The two beds were comfortable. TV was fine when we did want to use it. Owners were nice. They basically stay out of guests way, but were always available when we did have a question about the area. We would certainly return.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jaim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

From reservation through check-out the experience was A+. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and orderly when we arrived. The rustic cabins are nicely dressed up with key features like A/C, good lighting, and fully functional kitchens and bathrooms. We planned to cook meals during our stay, and everything we needed was there. Janssens clearly take pride in their operation and they clean and maintain the property themselves. The property is always being upgraded, so while the place is highly acceptable today, it's likely to be even better tomorrow.
The WiFi was sketchy at Cabin 4 which is farthest away from the main office. The satellite had just been upgraded and was experiencing technical difficulty while there, but it was to be fixed within a day or two. We didn't care about either one, as we were not there to sit and watch TV and surf the net - we were there to see the Black Hills and assume you will be too.
The price was very competitive as it was much cheaper than most of the hotels but provided the full kitchen (including working gas grill outside) and many more comforts. Janssens are resourceful which allows them to keep rates low; they are not getting rich off the tenants, they are just trying to put a great experience together for their guests and it worked out great for us. If we come back to the area, we wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

Stayed: August 2015
4  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
4.2 km away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
2.9 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
7.4 km away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
25.3 km away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins

Address: 23884 Highway 385, Hill City, SD 57745-6517
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Number of rooms: 155
Also Known As:
Janssen`s Lodestone Motel And Cabins
Janssen`s Lodestone Motel & Cabins Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing