We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
52
14
3
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
14
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen plan on staying porch area quiet cabin black hills satellite tv easy access would stay here again custer state park comfortable beds needles highway mount rushmore cecilia attractions grandchildren swing atv
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 76 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2016

The hosts of the Lodestone are very friendly and helpful. The cabin we got was clean but in need of expert repairs and redecorating. The place is really old and has apparently had repairs done by a handyman rather than by a professional. Everything was clean and worked, but was shabby and repairs not done neatly. An extra bed in the room and a sloping floor made it hard to maneuver and left no surface for incidentals. The kitchen was nice to have but so crowded as to be difficult to use. The wifi is very weak. Overall, the vibe is "old summer camp".

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2016

We have always wanted to stay at the Lodestone, and this time we got a chance to do so. The cabin were were in was spacious and very very clean!! The beds were comfortable. The AC was not working the greatest, but it was super super hot, so was having a hard time keeping up. But the ceiling fan and extra swivel fan really helped. The Janssens are super nice people!! We would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2016

We are so happy we found this place. The cabin was the cleanest place we have stayed away from home. The owners were very friendly, ( they were helping a guest fix his motorcycle when we arrived). Nicely centered to most attractions. It is a small cabin but with the two beds 4 could sleep there comfortably. The bed we slept on had a new mattress. The grill outside was also newer. We enjoyed unwinding on the porch swing at night. There was everything we needed in the room to cook, sleep, and shower. We plan on staying at the Lodestone on our next trip back to SD.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2016

If you are looking for a clean, centrally located area to stay in the Black Hills, this place is good for that. They have adjoining rooms if you come with family or friends, each with their own bathrooms, and rooms with a kitchen which is also great. Owners are very nice people. would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank eimersSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here for 5 nights. Hill City provided a great "base camp" for our stay in the Black Hills area. We stayed in cabin 3. Our cabin was clean and tidy upon arrival. We appreciated having a kitchen during our stay. Bathroom (sink, stool and adequate sized shower stall) was nice. The two beds were comfortable. TV was fine when we did want to use it. Owners were nice. They basically stay out of guests way, but were always available when we did have a question about the area. We would certainly return.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jaim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews