We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$162
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whispering Winds Cottages(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lantern Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Restmore Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Creek Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
41
66
49
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
66
49
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalmer gulchexecutive cabinmini golfi can't think of a betterhost hotelblack hillspancake breakfastchuckwagon dinnergift storeall you can eatfun placethe ice cream shopmain restaurantfamily reunionspotty wifia couple timeswine shop
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 200 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

The campground and gift store were already closed for the season. Stayed in the lodge. It was the host hotel for Crazy Horse Marathon. Would definitely stay again. Free breakfast, looked wonderful, but unfortunately, didn't see any kind of protein. Staff was wonderful. Beautiful location. Room decorated really cute. Carpet a little worn, but everything else, very nice. Very close to Mt Rushmore. Cell service was very limited.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DaGroomer1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

I booked this property months in advance to be sure we had a place to stay in the area we wanted. I booked us (4 women) in a "row cabin" which would have 2 beds/bath and the normal stuff. We got in pretty late and was escorted by the security guard to our cabin. Needless to say, no one got any sleep as we had to turn the air off because it blew right on one us directly as it was right next to the bed. Come to find out in the morning how unclean our cabin really was. We left early that morning for Mt Rushmore and upon our return back that day we talked with the Management explaining our dilemma and he immediately asked if we wanted to move to the lodge! After he was explaining they are closing in 2 weeks so a lot of their help had left already. (guessing thats why our cabin was not clean). The lodge was very clean and nice. We did eat a meal at the property in the main restaurant and since they are closing in 2 weeks seemed to be out of everything that we had wanted from food to the drink menu! We were constantly reminded by staff that they are closing in 2 weeks. I, as a consumer really don't care if your closing tomorrow, I paid full price for full amenities and clearly didn't receive them. If this was the case, maybe you as a owner should start discounting rates if your going to be out of everything including help to keep the cabins up to snuff.
We really wanted to like this place, but was hard to do so.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Traveled to Mt.Rushmore and this KOA campground was at the bottom of the mountain.They had everything ,laundrymat,gift shop,resterant.and what a beautiful view of the mountains.For Wi-Fi users ,they have spotty Wi-Fi at the Ice cream shop but no Wi-Fi or TV signals at your campers.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank sophieh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

We have been staying at the Palmer Gulch Resort for 28 years and this has been the worst year yet. Aside from paying for extra firewood not having a turndown service or housekeeping no extra towels toilet paper Etc they were not very helpful with our family reunion which is 14 years and going strong.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank SVinRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

This lodge is about 5 miles from Mount Rushmore so it is pretty convenient. It is also part of a larger complex with a very sizable RV park. The RV park looks pretty nice even though we were not RVing. They have a pool and a lot of outdoor activities for people to do that are staying there. We checked in to the lodge which encompasses a lodge building and a lot of cabins. Unfortunately, we got a cabin which was part of a string of four cabins ajoined and four more behind, that was probably the oldest building on the property. There were quite a few freestanding cabins on the property that looked much newer. I cannot speak for their condition. However having said this, our building was in need of repair. The hot water took about four minutes to come on in in one case was backwards. The wallpaper was peeling off above the shower. Who puts wallpaper on a shower anyway. The kitchen looked like it was crammed into a tiny space that was once a closet. There was no microwave, just day two burner electric stove. All the appliances were old. There was a TV that worked well. If you are wanting Wi-Fi, you are not going to get it here. There were a couple times in the middle of the night when I came on for a couple of minutes but for the majority of the three days that we suffered through this place there was no WiFi. there is a restaurant on the property call the Pondarosa restaurant which is in the process of being sold. It was at the end of the season and they were out of a lot of food and liquor. Some of the stuff that we wanted was no longer in stock so this whole place pretty much operates on a seasonal basis as far as I can see. It might be a fun place in the summertime when everything is up and running and all the activities are at your fingertips but if you go there after Labor Day and you don’t have an RV, it really isn’t that great of a place. I think for the price we paid our cabin was a little shabby and in need of fixing. I don’t think it was worth the money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews