We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
121
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit iron horse aspen cottage covered patio area family cottage black hills cozy place swing set satellite tv short drive definitely stay here again the perfect place to stay laundry room south dakota other guests coffee maker full hookups
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 136 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Great place and a good host. In eventing beautiful campfire! We had a Great time whith our family. Nice and clean cottages and bbq to use. Children could play in THE garden.

Very close to mount rushmore. Greetings fam from holland

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Travelfamilyholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

The cottage was a bit small compared to a hotel room, but it was very clean, quiet and cozy. Everything worked fine and the attention to detail is excellent. The managers were very friendly and they keep everything neat. We stay there again for sure!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarcoMoonDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed this private suite. Newly remodeled and within walking distance of restaurants, bars and shops. Also right across from the 1880 train. Private parking. Beds were vary comfortable and had plenty of pillows. The shower was huge and the towels and wash rags were plush.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful family vacation during our 5-day stay at Whispering Winds! The staff was so attentive and the property was well maintained. Great location, price and proximity to all the sites we visited! The bathrooms were very clean and we loved having on-site laundry. My kids loved the playground and we enjoyed dinner under the covered patio area. We stayed in our camper and other family members were in a cabin. The entire campgrounds was so quiet and peaceful. The WiFi is rather limited, but we were glad to unplug and not be distracted by our phones. There is a great little gas station just down the road stocked with things we needed like drinks, s’more supplies, ice, etc. We traveled 1,300 miles to enjoy South Dakota and Whispering Winds helped make our stay just about as perfect as it could be!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck V, Owner at Whispering Winds Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Thank you very much for your business! We enjoyed having you as our guests, and hope you had safe travels.

Best Regards,

Chuck Voorhees
Whispering Winds Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

Excellent! The owner is so nice. He was very helpful with directions & recommendations of things to do in the area. Clean, well maintained campground in a great location. Horse shoes & other yard games for the kids. Nice commons area. I love that they have free coffee in the office. Clean bath/washrooms & laundry room. My kids loved playing with the dog, Lola. We will definitely return!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cowgirl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck V, Owner at Whispering Winds Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

"Lola" will look forward to your return!! Thank you for choosing Whispering Winds for your stay!

Best Regards,

Chuck Voorhees
Whispering Winds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews