We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
454
288
99
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
288
99
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolblack hillsfree breakfastcrazy horsecoffee bargift shopgreat place to stayon site restaurantgreat roomhot tubhot breakfastmain buildingoff seasonwould stay here againmount rushmorecuster state parkpleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 889 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

The bed was very comfortable. The linens and pillows were fresh smelling and of quality fabric. All good, so far.
The TV did not swivel toward the "teen sized" club chair. So, had to lie on bed to watch.
We booked here because of on-sight restaurant...it was not open due to "staffing issues". There is a well stocked ice cream/pastry/confection area in the main lobby, where kids of all ages seemed to flock around. The breakfast was superior.
Tip: Be sure to check for shower grout mold.

D

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sylvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Thank you for your comment,
we try to keep all of our bedding in top shape for your coziness and health.
The shortage of workers during this year has affected the whole area, we do apologize for that inconvenience but it is out of our hands.
housekeeping and maintenance are aware of the mold issue and are working on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018

A perfect location for visiting the Black Hills and Mt. Rushmore. I booked the BW based on having an outdoor pool - I just didn't realize how SMALL it was (although the indoor pool is really first rate). They have a nice breakfast buffet but it was really crowded. The biggest problem was the poor housekeeping. We were there 4 days and only had the room vacuumed once. Not a deal breaker but they could do much better.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Thank you for staying with us!
We are conveniently located in the middle of the black hills so every entertainment activity is within driving distance.
We do apologize for the housekeeping issue, we are aware of your complain and has been addressed to the person in charge immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018

We came to ride the 1880 train as part of a bit of exploring the Black Hills. The property is big, but the cleanliness and service were fine. The crowds at the breakfast room made the free meal unpleasant. It seemed odd that the onsite restaurant was closed. We had the feeling that there's a shortage of restaurant and hotel workers in the area. The indoor pool was wonderful -- the outdoor pool looked good, but the weather was overcast so we didn't use it. The day we left the prices jacked up very high; I'm glad we stayed before the summer season started. We saw more folks in wheelchairs than at any other hotel we visited in a 3 1/2 week trip. (That is a thumb's up to the hotel in my opinion.)

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Colona1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

We are glad you approve our place. we try to clean as soon as possible and on a daily basis. We do apologize for the restaurant, but you are right, the staff shortage is affecting the whole area.
It is always important to plan your vacations in advance, that way you can make use of the discount and promotions Best Western brings every season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018

Our stay was very enjoyable! We originally booked 5 nights and stayed an additional 6th night! Well run establishment and staff receptive to the few glitches we experienced. We requested a handicapped, double queen suite. This was the PERFECT accommodation for our needs. There were two separate bath sink and counter areas. Great for getting ready in AM. The tub had plenty of grab bars and a flip down seat to assist in bathing. There was a separate kitchenette room with a 3rd sink, microwave, fridge, table & chairs, sofa and TV. Plenty of closet room for the extended stay. All the Suite Rooms are located across the parking lot from the main check-in building where the breakfasts are served. Too far for me to walk each morning. So we had to move the car from our suite building to the breakfast area building each morning. The main problem we encountered was their lack of sufficient Handicapped Parking Spaces and inconsiderate people using the Handicapped Spaces without proper plates, cards or stickers. Also people parked across the crosswalks in access areas to the entrances, making it even more difficult to get in and out of the buildings with a walker. We notified the front desk of the problem and the gentleman immediately came out with us and got the liscence plates of the offenders and had them move their cars. After that it was much easier to find Handicapped Spaces. I don't know if they had someone monitoring the situation or what, but it definitely made for a much more comfortable and enjoyable stay!
The breakfast area was crowded early, because everyone wants to get up & out on their excursions ASAP. Would help if breakfast could start at 6AM instead of 6:30AM, in view of the fact that people are standing in line waiting for it to open. The personnel monitoring the breakfast area and refilling the stations are awesome. Very efficient and courteous!
The front desk personnel are also very receptive to special needs. One hot day the electricity went out and I called to enquire about the problem. They were working on it and after about 45 minutes it went back on. Shortly after, we received a front desk call to make sure it was back on in our room and if everything was ok. GREAT SERVICE. Our daughters enjoyed the pool area, clean and well maintained. We hope to be able to return!

Room Tip: Accessible suites are in a separate building from the Breakfast and checkin building.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancermomx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

We strive for accommodating the needs of every guest, that is why our universal rooms are a choice on our hotel. We do apologize for the parking inconvenience but you sure can ask one of our front desk staff to assist you at any moment during your stay Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018

This location is very convenient to many of the things we wanted to see in South Dakota. Check in was easy - and we changed our reservation (as we changed our plans) and we left a day early which was no problem. The room was a bit outdated in furniture/style and the tub was a bit older as well but everything worked well. A couple minor complaints - the beds were a little soft for our liking - probably could have been replaced. There really isn't a "restaurant" on site. It's a buffet for breakfast (which was excellent) and like a little coffee/dessert/ice cream bar but not a true restaurant. The indoor pool was WAY over chlorinated - we didn't even use it but the outdoor pool was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynndzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

We are happy you stayed with us,
We do apologize for the inconvenient and minor issues you found, we are working day to day with all the help we could get to keep the hotel in the best shape possible.
The restaurant is closed for the season due to staff shortage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews