We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat old place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed one night, had two rooms. They accommodated our need for ground floor, as we wanted to have our motorcycles close to the room. Had exterior and interior doors. Rooms were BIG. But one of the first rooms had the AC from the upper floor dripping on us as we walked in and out and the floor was very wet. They got us a different room immediately. Yeah, it's old and a little worn, but it's reasonable, right off the freeway, many restaurants close by to walk to and down town a mile or so away. Great lobby, great staff and we got a better rate when we called for reservations, rather than doing it online.

Room Tip: Lower rooms had interior and exterior doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Redvette69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stay at the Thunderbird about once a year. It is an older property a bit rough around the edges but well cared for. Get your picture taken on the big bunny out front. Good local next to an average cafe and McDonald's. Rooms clean shower drains work well plenty of hot water. Heater in room 47 is all or nothing. Talked to the front desk and they said they would sort that out. Staff seem to have been there for years. Very helpful and professional. Reservations are easy to make and rooms are ready when we arrive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottyTravels1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed at the Thunderbird Lodge for one night in August 2011. Located right off the freeway, 10 minutes to Corn Palace. More reasonable than even the Super 8 across the street. About $67 for the night. Clean decent sized room. Has neat old character. Basic continental breakfast in morning (toast, toaster waffles, cereal etc.) Great stop off point if traveling across South Dakota.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coldStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Initially we chose to stay with this motel because it was a locally owned property and the room rates were a fair price. The majority of the reviews I had read on Trip Advisor portrayed this motel as a decent place to stay, so I decided to book it for our Labor Day Weekend trip. In addition to my husband and my's room, we booked another room for my brother who required a pet room for his dog. The non-smoking room we stayed in was fine. There wasn't anything fancy about it, but it was clean for the most part. Unfortunately since my brother was needing a pet room, the only one that was available was a smoking pet room. Although he's not smoker, he said that for one night he'd be ok with staying in it. Everything seemed to be just as we expected until we woke up the next morning. My brother checked out of his room only to show my husband and me two disgusting pictures of the bed and pillow from his particular room. The pictures showed what appeared to be a blood stain on the bed/box spring nearest to the window. No sooner did my brother notice that, but he looked down at his pillow and there was a blood stain on the pillow too. The mear thought of these images made me cringe, especially since my husband and I had another night that we would be staying at this property. To make a long story short, we did end up staying another night without any incidences, but sadly I can't say that we'd recommend this motel after the whole "blood" incident with my brother's room. I informed the front desk clerk of the stains upon check out, so hopefully they will address the issue and correct it. The location, friendliness, and value are all positives of this property, but any situation that involves someone else's blood is a deal breaker.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdgirl077675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

On our national cross country motorcycle tour this year to Sturgis and points north, we rolled into Mitchell, SD minutes ahead of a raucous wind-rain storm system. Thunderbird Lodge was very reasonably priced and conveniently located. It's an older facility, but highly competitive and well run. Our room would compare favorable with any Chain motel room at twice the price! Owned and operated by a hard working, friendly and bright young man who knows his business. We would highly recommend this facility and will definitely stay here again! Has a pool, complimentary breakfast, large, comfortable rooms, and it's very clean. I recommend it to you wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Every room is a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Thunderbird is a great alternative to the hotel chains. The room was spacious, clean comfortable, quiet, and with a coupon from the roadside rest area - a really good deal. I have stayed at this place more than once and been satisfied every time. I would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNVikesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We came in exhausted from the drive the lady who checked us in was very nice and gave us a discount - bless her heart. We had our kids in the room, slept well, the bathrooms are clean and a great option for the price. I agree the breakfast is enough to get you going in the morning, for us veteran road travelers we prefer honest good old fashion service and older motels are a wonderful option.
Drawback - the room had a lot of light pollution from the parking lot and when our son got up to use the bathroom during the night the bathroom light lit up the room.

Next stop Chief Motel in Custer the kids want to hit the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Mitchell
Hampton Inn Mitchell
#1 of 18 in Mitchell
650 reviews
0.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mitchell
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kelly Inn and Suites Mitchell
0.6 km away
Corn Palace Inn
Corn Palace Inn
#16 of 18 in Mitchell
47 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Mitchell
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Address: 1601 S Burr St, Mitchell, SD 57301-4788
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range: $92 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Lodge is a locally owned and independently operated motel. We are dedicated to hospitality and service at an incredible value. We feature an expanded continental breakfast, on-site Liquor Store, hot tub and sauna, and clean, comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing