We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,170)
Filter reviews
1,170 results
Traveller rating
613
375
112
37
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
375
112
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open atrium front desk civic center embassy suites close to downtown nice hotel breakfast buffet room was large black hills great place to stay rooms were very clean parking lot would stay here again up to date nice stay south dakota rushmore
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,170 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of a Gate 1 tour of National Parks. It is a modern hotel with a soaring multi story lobby. Breakfast was great, a nice buffet in the lobby with something for everyone. The room was large, with a comfortable bed and nice sized bathroom. The hotel restaurant was great and everything was clean staff were friendly and welcoming.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

My husband an I were sleeping and around 1:15am we heard noise outside our door and suddenly our door opened (we had the security latch on) and a young drunk man stuck his hand in and said hey let me in. My husband preseeded to slam the door and tell him to get out of there. I called the front desk and requested security. Soon security came and ask if the guy had a backpack. We did not know if he did so they left. 2 min later we had a knock at door and it was 2 drunk girls. Husband went to door they insisted their friend was in our room and wanted to come in. He told them wrong room and they went away. Next security showed up with the “guy” He told security he found his room next door to us. We asked how he got in our room and the other hotel security guy who was with them said that he let him in cause he said it was his room. Really you just let them in. It was really hard for us to get back to sleep. We had an adjoining room to them and even though the door was locked we did not feel secure.
Not sure about compensation yet our room was paid by a business. But I know I don’t want to stay is this very up scale hotel again EVER. Also service in the bar and restaurant was very slow. Only one waiter and the hotel was full.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank greyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

greyma, I would like to apologize on behalf of all of our staff for your experience. What happened goes against all of our protocols and procedures and we take these situations very seriously. We are improving our training and examining our staffing levels to make sure all of our guests can have a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. I would be happy to discuss this further and can be reached at 605-399-7021.

Sincerely,
Logan Steffens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

We arrived here at 11:30 a.m. after booking a tour through Gate 1. Was met at the airport with shuttle. Although check in is after 3:00 our room was ready which was great since we had been on an early flight from Charlotte, SC (5:45 a.m) We stayed two nights here. Toured Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monument. Very convenient for both areas. There was a concert in the park next to the hotel. A short walk to downtown Rapid City. Indoor pool was COLD!!! Breakfast each morning was nice. Fresh fruit, toast, bacon and eggs. Beds were comfortable.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALMOST HEAVEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Hi ALMOST HEAVEN W,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Again, thanks for choosing to stay with us. We hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

This Holiday Inn is excellent for a visit to Rapid City and the surrounding area. Clean, comfortable beds, nice bathroom, large room. Atrium is a very nice touch, busy hotel, but not crowded at all. Breakfast buffet was very good, with freshly made waffles and omelets, servers were so wonderful, made you feel special as they refilled coffee etc. Staff was very helpful and cordial. Can't make a mistake by staying here. Safe is located at front desk.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gator567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We were pleased with the room, Lobby, pool, breakfast choices and proximity to town center in Rapid City. This was our first two day stay on our coach trip to the National Parks. We ate twice at the Hotel Restaurants becasue we were too tired to try a downtown restaurents. THe food was OK. Some guests complainted about noise due to a wedding held at Hotel during our stay. We were on the 4th floor were fine. THe staff were helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel

Room tip: Room on higher floor. Nice view of atrium
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelRalphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews