We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms decent, pool ok, hot tub horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rooms decent, pool ok, hot tub horrible”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

1st room was very unclean, but we were moved to a much better room, would give 2nd room a 3/5. Pool area needs overhaul, pool and water slide just ok, steam room has horrible mold smell to it, cannot be healthy, hot tub is downright nasty, even after complaining they did nothing to fix it, claim it is "natural". Smells badly of urine, water is yellow, maybe a bit too "natural" for our taste. Breakfast was normal free breakfast fare, good for being free. Tried hard to make this work, but overall hotel is in unsatisfactory condition, would not reccommend. Staff is nice enough, but hotel has the 15 year old, in bad need of a cleaning feel to it.

Room Tip: If 1st room is not ok, ask for different room, we had luck with this
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 225522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    126
    72
    67
    74
See reviews for
274
159
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newell, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Absolutely love this place! First of all, it's beautiful when you walk inside. There is a fireplace that you can sit by in the lobby and have a good conversation, or just read a paper. It doesn't feel like a hotel, but more like a welcoming home. The staff is super friendly and check-in was a breeze. The room we rented was a suite with a fireplace and a whirlpool. It had a sofa sleeper and a king-sized bed that was really comfy. The room is also super quiet and I never once heard noise from the hallway or other rooms. My kids had a blast at the pool which has a water slide that doesn't empty into the pool. Because of that it made it possible for my 3-year-old to enjoy the slide without having to end up in water that was too deep. The hot tub was the perfect temperature. It also had a steam room that was nice. In the morning we had their free breakfast downstairs. It had waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereal, fruit, yogurt, muffins, donuts, and just about anything else you could imagine. Coffee was great and so was the food. Overall, the price was very reasonable and this is simply a great place to stay. Will definately be staying there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelbttrflyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGenMgr, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Thank you for writing such an excellent review about our hotel. Reading your review, I am not sure anyone would not reserve a room today!
Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Black Hills of South Dakota.

Sincerely,
Randy E. Dee
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We have stayed here multiple times over the years and always had a great experience. The winter rate is unbeatable for a king room and the the staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoy sitting by the fireplace in the evening and reading and enjoying the ambiance.The morning breakfast is very adequate and it is just a very nice place to stay while in Rapid City.

Room Tip: First floor rooms close to the lobby are nice because of the fireplace and nice sitting area. Very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planeguy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGenMgr, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. It is great to hear a comment for a person that has several times with us. It says that our great service and amzing hotel was not just a one time fluke.
We look forward to seeing you the next time that your travels bring you back home to the AmericInn Lodge and Suites of Rapid City.

Sincerely,
Randy E. Dee
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I stayed here 18 months ago and had a bad experience. Upon reviewing the Trip Advisor reviews for this hotel, I thought maybe my first stay was unusual so I stayed here yesterday to save $18 compared other top hotels. All I can say is, either I have bad luck at this hotel or trip advisor reviews are made through rose colored glasses. Below are specific details as to why:

Room 312 was cheaply made and showed signs of disrepair such as
Slow tub drain
Slow toilet drain (even when the handle is held down)
Carpeting coming off wall (as a baseboard cove)
Missing outlet cover behind nightstand.
suspended ceiling in the bathroom.
You have to constantly adjust the shower when other guests start or stop theirs,
The king bed had two small pillows for sleeping and 3 for looks (without removable covers).

There was a party in a room near mine that was intermittently loud and disturbing throughout the night. People were yelling in the room and in the parking lot. I finally called the front desk at 3:45am to complain and to my surprise, he already spoke with the group twice.
The most important thing at a hotel (IMHO) is to have a peaceful night's rest. This hotel showed they are not capable of meeting this need.

Fool me once, shame on you- Fool me twice, shame on me. Wont stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend a few more bucks and save yourself the headaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thankyouhaveaniceday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molalla, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel had great service, a great breakfast, a great slide, salt water pool, and perfect location. Our room was a little dinge, the door didn't shut very well, and the pool was a little dirty.

Room Tip: Ask for the new secotion of the building. Some of my family had rooms in the new part and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGenMgr, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.com

Your kind words about our great service, great breakfast, great slide, salt water pool, and perfect location are much approeciated.
I do aplogize that your room was a little dinge, the door didn't shut very well, and the pool was a little dirty. I will have the maintenance team address all of your concerns so that the next time your travels bring you to Rapid City your only choice in hotels would be the AmericInn Lodge & Suites.

Thank you,
Randy E. Dee
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Sky, MT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed with our family and dog in the Fall. We got a good rate compared to other hotels in the area, and our 9 year-old was very excited about the water slide. The staff was courteous and the room was basic but clean. Beds were not bad, but not the upper end pillow tops with down comforters that are becoming ubiquitous in mid scale hotels. TV was LCD flat screen.

A couple of minor maintenance issues came up. AC didn't work, though with the outside temperature the fan kept things sufficiently cool (we like to sleep cold). The exterior door's security lock had been removed with the wires hanging out. Hot tub was filled with soap like foam both nights. The timer on the water slide was not functioning.

The indoor pool and water slide were a hit with the kids. The place was pretty overrun, but that's what it's there for, right? The pool was much cooler the second night; I'm guessing that it got hit pretty hard all day Saturday and just couldn't keep up. The chemicals (bromine) were pretty heavy, but with such heavy usage, I don't know what the alternative would be.

The parking lot and hallways were pretty lively after midnight. We could clearly hear several groups of people coming back from the bars around 2:00. I'm not particularly squeamish about that sort of thing (that was me in the parking lot 20 years ago), but I found myself looking out the window a few times to make sure the car was still ok. My wife was approached twice by people looking for cash handouts while walking the dog late. It never felt threatening, just a little boisterous.

Breakfast, like the pool, was pretty overrun. Staff worked very hard to keep up but sometimes just fell behind in keeping things stocked. Items were the typical cold continental augmented by a waffle maker and biscuits and gravy that you see nowadays in hotels like this.

All in all, the hotel suited our needs. We felt we got what we paid for and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Away from the pool, away from an entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docbigsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGenMgr, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate hearing your comments.
I do want to apologize for some of the issues that you encountered during your stay. Our staff does a great job taking care of things. As you stated, when some areas are really busy, it is hard to manage, but from the sounds of you review, we still got it done for you.
Thank you again for your kind words and shared comments. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Rapid City

Thank you,
Randy E. Dee
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenville, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights our travelling companions were in the next room. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, computer access was fine and there was plenty of stuff for breakfast. My wife and I had been to Rapid City 3 years ago and stayed in the Hampton Inn next door, we decided to take a chance on AmericInn because it was considerably cheaper and we were not disappointed it was eveery bit as good as the Hampton.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGenMgr, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for coming to TripAdvisor and writing a review. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff loves to hear comments like yours.
I must say that the hotel next door that you mentioned is very nice. Ours is just as nice, if not better and you get the room for about 1/3 of the price. It is a true compiment for you to say we are every bit as good as them.
We look forward to seeing you the next time that your travels bring you to Rapid City.

Thank you,
Randy E. Dee
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.7 km away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 51 in Rapid City
967 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
3.3 km away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
358 reviews
0.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1632 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. While staying at the AmericInn Rapid City hotel, make time to explore the area, including a visit to the incredible Mount Rushmore, the equally inspiring Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State park, South Dakota casinos and the stunning Black Hills National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Rapid City
Americinn Lodge & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Americinn Hotel Rapid City
Americinn Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing