We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
211
123
51
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
123
51
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool room was clean front desk black hills smoking room hot tub waffles restaurants and shopping easy access biscuits and gravy laundry facilities close to downtown sturgis rally stay there again great place to stay south dakota parking lot
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 412 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

This Americas Best location was an okay budget hotel,option, albeit a tad overpriced at $166 for 2 night through Booking.com (less than their own and corporate website). We booked an "executive queen" but couldn't find anything in the room to justify the "executive" title except maybe the writing desk. The "queen" wasn't a queen, more like an old-fashioned double, or at least it was significantly narrower than the queen we slept on the previous night.

Room was clean upon arrival but the bathroom was not cleaned during our stay - washed my hair the 1st morning and it was still in the tub the next morning.

Furnishing in the "executive" room were spare - walked and immediately in front of the door was a luggage tray with clothes rod above, the a dorm-size fridge with single cup coffee maker on top, followed by a small chest of drawers with TV above. A small gap and then an upholstered wing chair in the corner facing the writing table which was perpendicular to the window. We had 2 carry on bags and 2 book bag sized backpacks with us. After leaving one carry on on the luggage rack since there was not much storage, the other fit behind the desk chair against the wall. On the wall opposite the TV the bed occupied most of that wall, with one small bedside table on the window side. The room was a bit on the small side but fine for a couple nights when we just slept and showered there.

The bed was a bit hard, but with clean linens and 4 adequate pillows. After long days sightseeing, sleeping wasn't hard! Average bathroom supplies, clean, not worn, good quality for budget hotel.

Very good breakfast, extended continental style, was included in the room price. We only were able to enjoy it one morning as we had a very early flight the 2nd morning, but the receptionist offered fresh coffee to go. However the breakfast was very good - hot & cold cereals, fresh fruit salad, pastries, yoghurt with choice of toppings, good coffee, juices, and (best of all) DIY waffles!

Last weekend of September the outdoor pool was closed for the season but a clean-looking indoor hot tub was available (however we didn't have swimsuits, so didn't use them). Our 1st floor room was next to the pool and facing the highway, with access through doors facing the parking lot in back. Although we could hear highway traffic sounds, they weren't intrusive enough to hinder sleeping (remember - long days sightseeing!)

All the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff. Although the cleaning was a bit below par, we would consider staying again.

Hotel was right off the highway exit and about a 20 minute drive to the airport and about 5 minutes from the revitalized downtown district.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank luv2ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear luv2ride,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us with your extensive comments and feedback. Future travelers will be sure to appreciate your detail. Most of your comments were accurate and veracious, I will however comment on the queen size mattress. Queen mattresses only come in one size, 60" x 80". Our mattresses are in fact queen size.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave your rating and review.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Americas Best Value Inn is true to it's word. We received a great rate with friendly service from the minute we entered the lobby. Our purpose was a family reunion and our rooms were conveniently located to accommodate all of us. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was a welcomed -well staffed self serve buffet, The hotel was a quick ride from the airport and the major attractions. We would definitely come back to this little gem

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLAIRERAFTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear CLAIRERAFTER,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you taking the time to rate us and provide us with your feedback and comments. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff.

Sincerely,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

This was a nice clean pleasant place to stay while visiting the bad lands. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was typical of the hotel breakfasts served these days. The room was recently redecorated and very nice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cpbaum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear cpbaum2014,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and leave us with your comments and feedback.

We rally appreciate your business.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017

Nice place with easy access to many of the great places to see in or around Rapid City. The hotel was clean and the staff was pleasent. Great morning breakfast with just about edible eggs. Rooms were a little dated but functional.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank P9413VQmarkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear P9413VQmarkr,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and leave us with your comments. I truly appreciate your feedback and will use them to continue to work to improve our accommodations.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017

We stayed 6 days upon visiting area national treasures. Room was adequate and very clean. Serviced daily. Free breakfast every morning. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Two computers and Wi-Fi for customer use. Located just off main highway.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ernest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Ernest M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and rating. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews