We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for a small budget”
Review of Foothills Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Foothills Inn
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night before heading south to Hill City for the rest of our weekend in the Black Hills. The room was clean and comfortable, but nothing fantastic. For the price, however, I can hardly complain.

Room:
The room was clean and spacious. It had two double beds, table and sitting chairs, dresser, and tv. Nothing was modern but it functioned just fine for our short stay. Behind the seating area there appeared to be a sliding glass door leading to an outdoor pool area, but it was difficult to tell since we got in late and it was already very dark outside.

Bathroom:
The bathroom was small but adequate. The bright sapphire shower looked very outdated, but good ol’ Big Blue was clean and provided plenty of hot water.

Amenities:
Other reviewers have mentioned refrigerators and microwaves in their rooms. Our room did not have either, however, we did not need those as we were there only for one short night’s sleep.

Breakfast:
Breakfast is included and available from 6am – 10am. The spread consisted of cereal (Cheerios, Raisin Bran, and Special K), toast, mini muffins, juice, and coffee. It was nothing to rave about, but adequate. There was not enough seating for everyone, with only two or three tables in a small space, but we made ourselves comfortable on the overstuffed lounge chairs to eat our cereal.

Rate:
Our rate was $36 per night, including tax.

Overall:
For this rate, I would stay here again and would recommend it to others looking for a deal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viajerosivda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Foothills Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights as a central location to see Rushmore and the other tourists attractions. Location is great and very close to the highway. The normal rate is $49/night, but I booked on Travelocity and got it for 25% because I was there for 3 days.

On the positive side - the rooms are very large. Mine had a queen bed, work desk and other small coffee table, 3 straight chairs and reclining chair. Bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked great. There was also an oversized mini refrigerator and microwave. Very nice for buying drinks and snacks for the room.

On the negative side - the hotel probably looked great 20 years ago, but is very much outdated today. The light blue bathtub/shower combo was typical of the style. The continental breakfast was the poorest I've ever seen. It only contained cereal, sliced bread, mini muffins, juice, milk and coffee. The TV was a 27" tube TV and picture was very dark.

I would have given the hotel 1-2 stars if the price wasn't so good. Likewise I could have given it 4 stars if it wasn't just so outdated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vol_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed for one night on a road trip after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and all I can do is agree with the great reviews the place is getting.

I was dubious when I walked into the reception to be met by a guest without shirt or socks on and an overly generous amount of buttock cleavage on display but after dealing with the guest the front desk staff member politely asked if he wouldn't mind covering up next time in communal areas. He then followed this up with an immediate apology to me.

So checked in, we found ourselves in a lovely clean and well equipped spacious room. The beds were a little on the hard side for my liking but the place was otherwise so nice it's not worth marking down for that.

Combined with a complimentary breakfast (usual motel fare), this truly was a great stay at a bargain price. It was raining hard so we never did our intended trip to Badlands National Park but if and when we come back we'll look up the Foothills Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davideJ808VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I just got back from a trip to Rapid City and stayed at the Foothills Inn from 9/23/11 to 9/26/11.This was a wonderful place to stay. My room was very clean, it had plenty of room and had a refrigerator and a microwave. It was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Everyone was friendly and all of the front desk staff was very polite and helpful. Continental breakfast of cereal, milk, juice and some pastries was a great quick start for the day. The low price was amazing for such a nice place! I will definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Military_MoM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel was great. Nice clean rooms, good service, nice breakfast, friendly staff and good location in Rapid City. Almost half the price of the fancy name hotel and just as nice. Had 3 grandsons and it worked out fine. Didn't need nor want a lot of kids activities as we were doing the sightseeing and touristy stuff and all the water park stuff would have hampered that as the kids would only have wanted to stay and play at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

When we got there we had a problem with the reservation through Cheaptickets since the hotel does not accept 5 people in one room (even tough Cheaptickets accepted it). Steve, the receptionist, really helped us out looking for another hotel for us near the area. We didn´t find anything close by but we got a futton so the 5th person could sleep. Luckily, the next day they had rooms available and we got a second one for our party and a better deal than the one we got from Cheaptickets. The hotel is ok, breakfast is basic but I would recommend it just for the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabyrd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Chad; A personal note regarding the wonderful work ethics of both Karen Hodet and Laura Blerinx (front desk). My son and arrived on the 24th of Aug., another trip out to the Blackhills, and again had the opportunity to stay at The Foothills Inn. We were early and met with Laura and Karen at the front desk who spent the extra time checking us in to the room we wanted. I've stayed at your hotel on many occasions from as early as 1996 for many events over the months of Jun thru Sep. The girls always make us seem right at home and comfortable. Great people and hoping to enjoy many more trips out your way. Thanks Steven Jettner

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
4.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
599 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 48 in Rapid City
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Gateway Hotel
Grand Gateway Hotel
#31 of 48 in Rapid City
608 reviews
3.5 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foothills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foothills Inn

Address: 1625 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0702
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $59 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Foothills Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Foothills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foothills Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing