We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst!!!”
Review of Motel 6 Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Rapid City
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The facility is terribly run down:. The air conditioning unit did not work ( it was over 90 that evening),. They brought a fan that did rotate, the bathroom had major water damage so it was difficult to tell if it was clean, the flooring was damaged and dirty and the beds had the WORSE mattresses that were broken down edges, made broken spring noises and sagged.

Room Tip: Avoid .... Almost as bad as sleeping under a bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLSK98640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

The office he[p was ok there was no shampoo,not enough soap, small beatles were crawline all over the floor, I pulled back the bedding and ther were a couple of ants on the bed,then we had to pay for wifi for 2 people for 2 nites rediculas Then when we came back for the nite one bed was made and on wasn't.and no clean towels .Seems like it was run by infants.
Rapid city SD.Latrobe av Room 103

Tom Stalpes

Room Tip: find one without bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tjstapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Never have a been to a more run downed hotel in my life. Got into our room after driving all day to find bugs all over our room. Went to the front desk and there were cockroaches everywhere. Was talking to another couple and they said the same exact thing. Couldn't even stay in the hotel had to get our money back and move to another. I've stayed in a motel 6 before but this one is the worst I've ever seen.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tiff_boul32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Please know the issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

I decided a motel would be a great idea for my trip through South Dakota, my mistake was choosing motel 6. My first room was filthy, there were flies buzzing around and the air conditioner was so loud I asked to be moved.

The lady on reception looked at me as if it was my fault the room was a disgrace but moved me anyway, to a room which still had flies, dirty bed and towels, but at least had a quieter fan, which was important as I needed a rest after a long day.

Also, don't expect any leeway when checking in, it's post 3PM or nothing.

All an all, I didn't expect much and had low expectations, but even so, I was still disappointed.

Which is a shame because I stayed in a motel 6 in Texas once and I seem to remember it being fine.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WolfyManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Wolfy Man, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your stay to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Didn't even make it into the room. Rude staff, door looked like it was kicked in and replaced. Dingy, nasty place and overpriced. Also they give all occupants names to the police, very classy. Wouldn't stay if it was free.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Eric, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the safety concern you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you experienced. Please accept our apologies that your stay was less than satisfactory. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

The room for one person was over a hundred-twenty dollars and still had to pay an extra 2.99 for WiFi. And you can only have one device at a time connected. No microwave, no refrigerator, no breakfast basically nothing but a bed. If on the second floor, be prepared to carry your bags a long distance. Only one stairway in the center.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kuyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Kuyals, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Place was packed with people July 1-3, but that is not the "fault" of any registered guest. Irritating as all get-out that even though there were two adjacent ice machines, only one worked at all, and that one was often "out" for an hour or more. Nice to learn this after a long walk from a second story room, and in the night heat. Front desk people had little to say about it, especially not that they were regretful.

There is a Wal-Mart, and Golden Corral, close by which helped. Morning coffee--the only amenity Motel 6 provides-- was adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Quaker0ats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 km away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#41 of 49 in Rapid City
74 reviews
0.3 km away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 49 in Rapid City
320 reviews
4.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 49 in Rapid City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 49 in Rapid City
96 reviews
0.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 49 in Rapid City
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rapid City

Address: 620 Latrobe Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-6946
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $58 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Motel Six
Rapid City Motel 6
Motel Six Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing