We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterpark makes up for the rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The rooms were old! The door only closed when it was slammed. The floors were dirty, the tub didn't drain. The AC didn't cool. The room itself was terrible. You heard every noise through the door. The only thing that saved the room itself was the TV. The waterpark, which was included in the price, was nice. Too bad it was salt water, but otherwise, it was amazing. We had so much fun bonding and having a good time. I wish the rooms were just as nice! When we were checking out, the cleaning crew was cleaning the rooms with doors wide open. They were disrespecting fellow co-workers and guests. It was just rude!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aboucher85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you so much for your comments; everyone help us learn and be better. For the negative comments, I assure you they will be addressed and not who we are. As for the rooms, the TV's you mention are brand new, as are the fridges, and microwaves on the way. The restaurant, lounge and lobby are newly done. Improvements will continue. AND the salt water is going away....in the process.
Thank you for making memories at the Best Western PLUS Ramkota Hotel, we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

What a great hotel to stay for the weekend.they have a big pool inside mainly for kids with a water slide and another pool outside with a courtyard.excellent service and a great bar to hang out in.I would stay here each time i need to over night in Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you so much for the nice comments; we apprecaite them so much. I am so glad you and your family had a great time. Please come see us again!

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The hotel was in the process of being renovated. We are quite sure our room had not been renovated, because it looked nothing like the photographs on the hotel web site. On check in, we told the desk clerk we wanted a room that was centrally-located. Her first selection would have been at a good location, but she then said it had an exterior corridor, so we opted for another room with an interior corridor, only to be located at the extreme end of the hotel, very far away from the central location we had requested. As it turned out, we don't believe the first room actually had an exterior corridor after all. She also advised us to park our car in a remote location instead of simply entering through the lobby, which would have been more convenient. The bottom line was that the desk clerk did not seem to know much about the layout of this sprawling hotel.

We felt the "plus" rating was solely due to the water park and possibly some renovated rooms. We were also disappointed to find out no breakfast was provided. They did say there would be coffee and fresh fruit available in the morning, but at 7:00 AM we had a choice of one orange and three apples, and there was no hot water for tea. We ordered breakfast in the restaurant, which was plentiful and reasonably priced.

If you have children, this place is for you. Otherwise, you aren't getting your money's worth.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room close to an elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you very much for your response; hearing directly from our guests is the best way to measure our success.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, and that you were not aware we were a full service hotel. We've tried to keep our pricing very reasonable and children eat for .99. And has you mention have the complimentary whole fresh fruit and coffee/tea in the morning.

We will continue to re-invest in the hotel and hope that you will try us again.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

First time to stay here. The kids loved the pool. Rooms are a bit dated, but comfortable. At this price point a flat screen TV is a must have. Made service ignored do-not-disturb and barged in at 8am. Would stay again when traveling with kids, but for a couple or business travel I'd probably consider other places first.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTfromSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Thank you so much for your comments; we are so glad that your family enjoyed the water features. At the end of May our lovely outdoor pool opens as well.

I am thrilled to tell you flat screen TV's ship for all our rooms April 30! Please come and visit us again!

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

When we checked in, the place was packed full of kids...the pool was wall to wall to the point of making safety an issue. When we got to our room, all we could hear was kids running and screaming down the halls. It was not a pleasant place to stat as newlyweds. Needless to say, we checked out and moves to the Sheraton,,l where we were given the service we deserved.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganandderrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate hearing from our guests. Waterpark Hotels do tend to be busy on a weekend. We are very sorry we could not meet expectations; and glad your found an alternative option for your special evening. I do hope you will visit us again under better circumstances.

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I wish I could write a more positive review. I had hoped to find a hotel up to the usual good standard of Best Western. But this facility was dark, musty and generally offered a dreary atmosphere. If one was traveling with kids, I will say that the pool would be delightful as it is a mini-indoor water park. That would likely be the only reason I'd choose this property. The restaurant was generally empty while there and one evening I thought it was closed because the waitress was mopping the floor. Not too appealing. The food was probably adequate, but one could do better outside. The business center had one computer and a very slow internet connection. It was good to have free wi-fi and I did enjoy that as well as the location was convenient. Housekeeping had carts all over the floor including bags of trash and I saw continuous vacuuming. Again, there are other properties to choose from in Sioux Falls. This could be better if they try.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you for your comments; I do apologize for not meeting your needs. The comments made will be addressed and only help us grow. Our internet bandwith is being upgraded ths May and there is a brand new computer and printer right in the lobby as well for guest use.

I do hope we have another opportunity to turn you into a loyal fan!

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed here late Jan/12 on business. This hotel has large meeting/gathering facilities, with a restaurant and bar. Apparently this place has done a remodel, but if that's the case, I'd hate to see the before. TV's are dated, the rooms have furniture that should upgraded, the bathrooms are laid out in a very inconvenient way, the in room coffee and signle cup brewer produce, at best, a sight and taste of 30 second steeped tea.
If you're attending a meeting or conference at the location, I guess the convenience is a plus. The beds are comfortable, which made the stay passable.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrKrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan G, Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Thank you for your comments; hearing directly from our guests is the best way to measure our success. We are very excited about our changes and there are more to come, and new TV's in June! I do hope we will see you again.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
2.3 km away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel & Suites
0.4 km away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#37 of 53 in Sioux Falls
43 reviews
6.5 km away
Best Western Empire Towers
Best Western Empire Towers
#9 of 53 in Sioux Falls
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
2.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport
4.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel

Address: 3200 W Maple St, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#17 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range: $124 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the Splash-Tacular Water Park. A great place to make memories. Family-friendly atmosphere featuring our indoor water park, outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge. Kids can join the Ramkota Rascals Kids Club. Refrigerators and microwaves in all poolside rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ramkota
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing