We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Thought I'd reviewed this Hotel before, but I guess I didn't. I was there last June for a Camaro Rally in Sturgis. I spent 4 days here, had a great time. Staff was very friendly, a very clean Hotel. I walked to downtown Spearfish, little bit of a walk, but not bad. I had driven over 4000 miles in 8 days on this trip, was nice to have a relaxing place in the middle of the trip. My room had a door right to the parking lot so I could keep an eye on my Camaro.

Room Tip: My room opened up to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Bill M, thank you for staying at my hotel in Spearfish, and for writing a nice review. very proud of the staff there as they do an excellent job in all areas. From the bartenders in the lounge, to housekeepers, to breakfast attendants, front desk staff, and manager. They are a great team! Please come back and see us again when in the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

This is a great place to lay your head while you are in the hills. Nothing fancy but has clean comfortable rooms, is right off the interstate, and great staff that are always friendly & accommodating! We stay here often when we visit our daughter at BHSU and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kellybI3506TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

kellybI3506TK, Thank you for making us your home-base while visiting your daughter at the University. I'm glad to hear that you feel accommodated and comfortable during your stay! Hoping for a great school year for your daughter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I came in at 9p and left again by 8a, the staff was pleasant and helpful. Evening shift was very excited that I would be able to enjoy the remodeled rooms... I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past 9 years and did notice a nice remodel job...I felt the carpet could be cleaner but overall the room was clean. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank williamaU6245DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

williamaU6245DG,
Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our new rooms, though we will make note of the carpet and attend to that--thank you for letting us know. Thank you for continuing to stay with us over the years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times while traveling. Very clean and comfortable with friendly staff and it is a pet friendly hotel. I plan a leg of my trip heading west to stay at this hotel. Small place in a quiet area. I usually travel off season so reservations are not an issue which I make the day of intended stop.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank arthurmA9609RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

arthurmA9609RV,
Thank you for continuing to come back and stay with us during your travels, we appreciate your patronage! Safe travels to you this fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Since we are reward members, when we travel we prefer to stay in Best Western hotels. This on, although one of the smaller ones, was very comfortable and the few staff members we interacted with were very hospitable and professional. There was a full service restaurant just a few steps away which wa s a plus. The breakfast menu could be expanded as there wasn’t much of a selection.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank T864DHcaroleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

T864DHcaroleh,
First, thank you for being a Best Western Rewards member! It sounds like you are loyal to the Best Western Brand and we appreciate you staying with us because of that! I was glad to hear that the service you received met your expectations and you were able to take advantage of the family diner next door. We'd love to see you back if you're ever in the Black Hills area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Very nice rooms, Bar could use some more options, only served beer and wine. very nice experience. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. Very friendly staff and the room had a Jacuzzi tub!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 207chrisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

207chrisz,
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to hear that you found our newly remodeled rooms to be comfortable for your stay. The Lookout Lounge is only licensed for beer and wine and so we do try to stock with a good variety of local and popular brews. Thank you for telling your friends and family about us! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Beautiful city, nice friendly staff in a clean restful room. Breakfast was excellent , would recommend this hotel to anyone.Convenient location, near downtown businesses but quiet. Will stay here again if in area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank B1904WOmaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

B1094WOmaryp,
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Black Hills. It sounds like your stay exceeded your expectations, and we appreciate you sharing that with us! Please come back and see us again during your next Black Hills adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
328 reviews
3.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
149 reviews
3 km away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
152 reviews
0.9 km away
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
#12 of 14 in Spearfish
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Black Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Black Hills Lodge

Address: 540 E Jackson Blvd, Spearfish, SD 57783-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: $81 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Black Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Black Hills Lodge offers all the comforts for business or family travel. This Black Hills hotel with freshly renovated rooms (2017) includes a seasonal and privately located outdoor heated pool, free high-speed Internet access, is 100% non-smoking, and a winner of the Best of the Best in Customer Care. In addition to this award-winning property is the Lookout Lounge, offering guests a taste of local craft beer and fine wine, casual conversation, and TV sports all in a relaxing environment after a long day of traveling. A complimentary breakfast is provided each morning with additional options for dairy and gluten free diets. The Black Hills Lodge is conveniently located directly off Interstate 90, within walking distance of downtown Spearfish, and closely accesses local shopping/grocery stores. It is also just over a mile from beautiful Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway and only minutes from many hiking, biking, skiing, snowshoeing, and snowmobiling trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing