We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value ~ Gracious Host!”
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value ~ Gracious Host!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Ditto to what most reviewers have already said...Extremely clean, comfortable beds, linens, and room. The Sunshine Inn has everything a traveler needs for the night and, if not, all you have to do is ask! The rooms have plenty of space and they even offer free roll-aways. The WiFi worked better than at any of the chain hotels we stayed in during our 2 wk. trip! John was the most gracious host, even offerring to put the coffee on a little early, knowing we were hitting the road before sunrise. One tip: If you're trying to bed down early like we were to get an early a.m. start on the road, request an upstairs room so you don't hear the folks above you walking around :-) Great value - comfortable room - wonderful oasis for wearly travelers!

Room Tip: If you're trying to bed down early like we were to get an early a.m. start on the road, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasmama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for the kind remarks. I appreciate that you made a note of simply asking me for something you might need to make your evening as accommodating and comfortable as possible. Your comments reinforce our commitment to value and comfort, and we intend to maintain the same level of service that you experienced. Hope to see you again. John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    123
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
133
179
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Sunshine Inn early October 2011. We decided to stay here after reading all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. And they are all true! What a great place to stay, all thanks to the owner John and of course its location near Badlands NP, Wall Drug, the Wounded Knee museum (go there!) and many more.
OK, it's not a Hilton, but its cleanliness can compete with any major 5-star hotel. Their free wifi-service is excellent, the best we've had on our 4-week trip. And John goes the extra mile to make his customers happy. When my cell phone broke down and I needed to call my family on an important day, he helped me out.
Besides, we were very impressed by his extensive knowledge of our country, The Netherlands. When we'll be in Amsterdam we will look for the Wall Drug sign near the railway station.
We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to South Dakota.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik-Elsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
It was my pleasure hosting you nice folks from The Netherlands, a country I've visited several times and can not get enough of. Thank you for your kind remarks--we make personal service, going beyond the basics, an important part of our business. I especially appreciate your calling attention to our powerful wi-fi signal, which is boosted by two routers and a repeater strategically placed throughout the building to give every room a "very good to excellent signal." Certainly hope to see you again sometime. Who knows, we may meet up in Amsterdam some day! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Nothing fancy but clean, comfortable and reasonable prices. You can walk to Wall Drug. The owner of Sunshine Inn is a real gem. He was most helpful on the local area and routes to take to get to and from Wall to other points of interest. I would definitely stay at Sunshine Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdhornsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for the kind remarks. "Clean, comfortable and reasonable" certainly sums up our offerings--and of course I'm always ready to help out when it comes to plotting an itinerary for our guests. We couldn't be more delighted to learn of your positive experience at the Sunshine Inn and appreciate that you'd be staying again when in the area. Hoping to greet you again next time you're in Wall! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I were traveling across South Dakota and decided to try the Sunshine Inn located in Wall due to the very good reviews it had received from trip advisor. Not only was it as good as the reviews, we enjoyed talking to John, the manager. He was one of the original Southern Cal surffers. He even named a beach in Encinitas. He also sent us to the delicious Red Rock restaurant. Stay with Suffer John if you are taveling across South Dakota.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangerbwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
My thanks for the kind remarks, both about the Sunshine Inn and me. Flattering on both scores, and gratifying as well. As most regular TripAdvisor readers know by now, I thoroughly enjoy getting to know my customers, all of whom have something special about their backgrounds to share. In turn I get to expose something about myself. I hope my customers get as much out of these moments of connection as I do. When they're as pleased about their lodging experience as you are--which, happily, is quite often, going by reviews here--it gives me and the staff a special sense of appreciation. Certainly hope our paths will cross again sometime. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I would stay again, very comforable beds... better than named hotel we stayed at later. Very nice owners & wi-fi was great. Very comfy casual place to stay. Only complaint, not owners fault, was my car was keyed while I slept.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thanks for mentioning our beds, which are replaced on a regular rotation to insure that they give our customers the most comfortable night's sleep possible. Friendliness and a casual environment probably best define our operating "style," although as you note regarding our reliable and powerful free wi-fi service, the furnishings, fixtures, and amenities we provide are in tip-top condition, which is one thing we are definitely not casual about sustaining. We certainly do hope you choose to stay again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Conveniently located close to Wall Drug and other businesses. A comfortable room at a good price. An accommodating, gratious and friendly host/innkeeper.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Many thanks for the kind words and for calling attention to one of our principal attributes: our location. Customers at the Sunshine Inn can leave their cars in our parking lot and walk one block to Wall Drug Store along with all of downtown Wall's attractions, restaurants, shops and lounges. We're far from the noise and hustle and bustle of the town's Interstate exits, so customers can stroll comfortably and safely in the much slower-paced environment that makes downtown Wall the special place that it is. As you also noted in a nutshell, the Sunshine Inn is "value priced-clean-comfortable." Thank you for sharing your experience here. Certainly hope we get a chance to see you again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordele, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here for two non-consecutive nights in September as we traveled to and from Yellowstone. We were well satisfied with our room and bathroom, which were wonderfully clean on both occasions. Excellent wi-fi connection as well. The owners are very generous with ice and also have chosen great soaps. We would certainly choose to stay here again, especially since other motels in Wall cost more but deliver much less.

Room Tip: The room directly over the office provides the strongest wi-fi signal, but other rooms are good, too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for a most gratifying review. That we stress cleanliness, functionality and good value is an important part of the Sunshine Inn "experience." That we're unpretentious about it and ourselves is probably what we're all about. We really couldn't be pretentious if we tried. Thanks for mentioning our "all you want" policy regarding ice--it's our pleasure to keep customer room buckets and ice chests full to the brim, both while here and upon check out. As to our wi-fi service, it's free and it's powerful. We have two routers and a repeater/booster that create good to excellent signals in every room. And speaking of "repeaters," thank you so much for the repeat visit on your way home from Yellowstone. We get many returning visitors, which of course is a key indicator of customer satisfaction, one that we find most gratifying. Adding a favorable review here lends an extra measure of appreciation for your business and your kind remarks. Hope we see you again sometime. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 km away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.3 km away
America's Best Value Inn
0.4 km away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
162 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
113 reviews
36.0 km away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Property: Sunshine Inn
Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing