We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Taigh Solas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Taigh Solas
Aerial shot of Taigh Solas, Hacklete, Great Bernera Aerial shot of Taigh Solas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Taigh Solas
Aerial shot of Taigh Solas, Hacklete, Great Bernera
Aerial shot of Taigh Solas
Comfortable louge with two three seater leather settees, television, book case with books, DVD etc.
Bedroom 2 with two single beds and ample cupboard and drawer space.
Fully equipped kitchen,  toaster, kettle, cooker, hob, fridge, microwave etc.
Fully equipped kitchen,  toaster, kettle, cooker, hob, fridge, microwave etc.
An example of our complimentary welcome basket which is left for all guests. (Contents may vary)
A winter day, views over to the snowy Uig Hills
Just one of the shots we took of wildlife on our way to Uig
The amazing Northern lights (Aurora Borealis) over Taigh Solas, taken on our mobile phone!!
The amazing Northern lights (Aurora Borealis) over Taigh Solas, taken on our mobile phone!!
The amazing Northern lights (Aurora Borealis) over Taigh Solas, taken on our mobile phone!!
The amazing Northern lights (Aurora Borealis) over Taigh Solas, taken on our mobile phone!!
The amazing Northern lights (Aurora Borealis) over Taigh Solas, taken on our mobile phone!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
taizokai
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017

This is the most comfortable, warm and inviting little cottage in the midst of an outstandingly private and beautiful setting. On the edge of an island off the edge of another island off the northwest coast, the seclusion and peace are complete. The couple who own and run it are delightfully friendly but allow you your privacy too. There was a delicious little food parcel when we got there too! On that score the local shop is tiny but helpful and there's a Tesco 45 minutes away. .

As to the place itself, I don't think I've been to anywhere as sparsely, gloriously beautiful. We had every weather from days too warm to have the doors closed to a day when we had horizontal hail for half an hour.

Any amount of fantastic scenery is a wall or a a drive round a corner away, so much to see and if you go in the proper season, lots of history and culture to be had. Wonderful place run by lovely people!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Royal Wootton Bassett
1 review
“Restful and snug.”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A wonderfully cozy and well-equipped self-catering cottage with beautiful views across the loch. The owners go out of their way to make sure you have all you need in the way of linen, kitchen equipment and eggs from their own hens. We spent a very restful week doing a lot of reading and looking at the view. Highly recommended and we'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
1 review
“Fabulous coastal setting with all home comforts attached.”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Taigh Solas is ideal for anyone wanting to find peace and quiet with views. Daytime outings with the dog gave way to night-time comforts, including TV and wi-fi. Great storage for wet-weather gear and boots and we very much appreciated the invitation to use the washing machine and tumble dryer in situ. Even towels for the dog were provided - what attention to detail!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed for a week at Easter - the owners went to great lengths to ensure we had the best stay, from finding an extra bed for another child, taking all the children on their daily egg hunt, providing the very welcome and perfect gift pack - which was especially welcome as realising you're an hour from the supermarket and have forgotten the coffee was a potential issue!

This was undoubtably the cleanest holiday let we have stayed in and had absolutely everything we could have needed. Lots of lovely homely touches made us feel like we were staying with friends, which I think is the biggest compliment we can pay. It genuinely was a case that nothing was too much trouble, Janice and Michelle were excellent hosts without being intrusive.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J
1 review
“Beautiful welcoming cottage with fantastic views.”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We loved the wonderful beaches and scenery all so accessible from the cottage. Cottage was well equipped, fresh and comfortable and evenings watching wildlife and the wonderful views from the sitting room made this an unforgettable break. Our dog had a great time too, enjoying the enclosed garden and his treats in the lovely welcome pack.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotham68
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home from home ”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying here for a week, where do I start, the welcome hamper was a fantastic touch, especially the Easter Eggs, nicely done and added bonus of freshly laid eggs from the owners ( Janice and Michelle's) own hens. The accommodation is spotless and well stocked with items you would need for a self catering cottage.
It's a home from home, instantly felt like I'd stayed here for years, that's how comfortable this place is.
The views are fantastic and you could quite easily sit outside and lose your self in the scenery. The cottage is a good base for exploring this wonderful island and getting away from it all.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten J
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning holiday cottage- don't miss this! ”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We visited The Isle of Lewis (Great Bernera to be precise) and stayed for 6 nights in 'Taigh Solas' holiday cottage. This was part of the celebrations for my 40th Birthday, and honestly, it was the most amazing holiday of my life, just magical in every way! The cottage is a complete gem...so well equipped and comfortable, to say nothing of the awesome views all around....instantly we felt welcome and comfortable. Michelle had left us a beautiful welcome basket which contained lots of goodies including wine, and freshly laid eggs - the best we have ever tasted! There were fresh flowers, and the cottage smelled amazing. I went straight through to the sitting room and immediately opened the glass door, stepped outside and was just in total awe of the view from the steps! This beautiful cottage is an absolute bargain---fabulous base for exploring the islands, stunning beaches on your doorstep, History all around & the most spectacular wildlife! If you haven't visited the Island yet....you are really missing out! Fabulous host-- We are already planning our next visit. Fabulous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing