We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen View from the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen
View from the Kitchen
The Kitchen has 3 windows making it very sunny
The Twin Room Converts to Superking
Master Bedroom with Solid Oak King Size Bed
The Spacious Family Bathroom
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrLandie
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A lovely cottage in a fantastic location. Atlantic View Cottage had a cosy welcome for us after a long day travelling. The accommodation is great with two good sized bedrooms, the double being ensuite and the main bathroom being particularly spacious. Lounge is comfy with log burning stove, TV and DVD if you stay in long enough to watch it! Great location for exploring Lewis with the Callinish Standing Stones about 25 minutes away and Stornoway well under an hour away. There is a fantastic walk literally from the door step to the beautiful Bosta Beach.

We used it as a base for exploring both Harris and Lewis, and whilst good, it is just over an hour to Tarbet on Harris which does make for relatively long days if you then spend the day on travelling around Harris.

Having said that, the scenery on the drive is breath taking and you don't come this far without expecting to put the miles in.

The cottage is in a very quite location with no through traffic so only the odd car going to local houses.

Overall fully met our expectations and we would recommend Atlantic View Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality accommodation
Liked least: Distance to Harris
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_J_09201...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We can't speak highly enough of Atlantic View Cottage... We enjoyed a fabulous week here in late summer 2012. The cottage is in a spectacular location - with superb views in every direction, of lochs, hills and sea. It is easily reached from Stornoway and very conveniently located for excellent attractions such as Callanish Stone Circle, Bostadh Beach with reconstruction of Iron Age dwelling (a beautiful two hour round trip walk from the cottage, well worth doing), the amazing beach at Uig and the road north to the Butt of Lewis and Port Ness. It also feels like you are miles from anywhere - a really peaceful and secluded spot for a holiday.

The cottage itself has been refurbished to an excellent standard. The beds are amazingly confortable, bathrooms are clean and spacious and the kitchen is brilliantly equipped. Everything has been tastefully and beautifully put together, and makes for a perfect base to explore this stunning part of the world. We particularly enjoyed relaxing in the cosy and comfortable living room in front of the gorgeous wood burning fire.

Anne (the owner) was so friendly and welcoming, and ensured that we had everything we needed (right down to cake and a warm fire burning on arrival after a long journey on the ferry, perfect!) for a holiday we'll never forget. We would definitely recommend Atlantic View Cottage and would go back next week if we could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! It was perfect.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Reviewed July 18, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bainbridge Island WA
Reviewed July 17, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worcester
Reviewed April 27, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed April 16, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ban-alban...
Ramstein, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 30, 2012 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I originally called Anne with an enquiry about her other property and when we discovered that it din't quite meet our needs (only because we needed a walk in shower) Anne told me about the new property not yet completed. She sent me some pictures and I just fell in love with the place. When we arrived there was no dissapointment. The renovation has been made with so much care and attention to detail you just want to move in and stay! The kitchen is extremely well equipped, we made a game out of trying to find something tath had not been thought of and lost! I was travelling with my sister-in-law and we appreciateld the luxury of each having our own room and bathroom, but this property would handle a group of four very comfortably.. The location is perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday, but there is plenty to see and do on Lewis/Harris so no fear of being bored.
Anne and her family live a few hundred meters away and are ther if you need them but not at all intrussive.
The fresh flowers and cake on our arrival day were a lovely gesture.

All in all I would recommend this property wholeheartedly, but I'd rather go back myself!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing