We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, well-equipped cottage in supurb location”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage on the Croft in rural village - stunning views. Central heating  No oil or electric charg
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage on the Croft in rural village - stunning views. Central heating  No oil or electric charg
Living room with wood burner, leather sofas and loads of island based books. Bedroom with king size four poster bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Cottage on the Croft in rural village - stunning views. Central heating  No oil or electric charg
Living room with wood burner, leather sofas and loads of island based books.
Bedroom with king size four poster bed.
One of the two bedrooms with 2 single beds, all bedding and towels provided. Country cottage feel
Kitchen, dishwasher,home laundry, microwave, fridgefreezer - with your welcome pack on the table .
We have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor
We send you our tourist/vistor map and info pack to help you organise your holiday before you come
Sun set at Bosta Beach - golden sands - pure delight you will go far to find a more romantic spot.
Bosta daytime - site of Neolithic round houses 'Beaker Period' settlement
Iron age reconstructed earth house built on site of real iron age village site - still visible
The Bosta tidal bell - rings as tide come in and out very spooky esp at night.
Bosta beach bell close up
Two local cows think about going in for a dip!
This is the sea shore at the bottom of the croft great rock fishing. There is a rod in cottage.
The Bridge at Valasay walk over the Toab Loch an ideal location for seeing seals. Great rock fishing
The bridge to Bernera with its standing stones - There is also a Viking Mill and Fort on Bernera
Standing Stones of Bernera reflect the major stone circle  site at  Callanish ( 30 min drive)
Edge of the village looking back to Lewis
This is the view over to Little Bernera with its  deserted beach and old church yard. Boat trip.
Yet another Bernera fresh water loch. Fishing for trout on Bernera is great fun.
Bosta beach view over to Old Hill - golden sands ideal picnic spot. Iron age house opned in summer.
The Lewis Chessmen - Uig Beach - this is where the carved Viking chess set was discovered.
Cheer Up -Cheeky chops !!!!! this is the king - other wood carvings seen  at ferry and airport
Traffic congestion - Lewis style - no need to be in a hurry.
Statue to the herring girls of Stornoway who made Stornoway famous.
Lewis Castle  refurbishment in process -  hope to open next year.
Sunrise at cottage Feb 2015
Looking back to Lewis
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Victoria...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Cosy, well-equipped cottage in supurb location”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here over the new year for a few days, and despite the wild and windy weather, found the cottage to be extremely cosy and comfortable, with everything that we needed. The location is great for being close to some of the interesting sites such as the iron age house, standing stones, blackhouses etc.
We really appreciated the welcome gifts, as well as our 'first foot' from the neighbour on New Year's Day, bearing not only a lucky lump of coal, but also some fresh duck eggs. Calum, the owner, is extremely thoughtful, and was very flexible about our departure date, as the storm set in and threatened to cancel our ferry off the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish5555
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week here and were so sad to leave. The cottage was beautifully furnished and well equipped, and in a great location for travelling round Uist, Harris and Lewis. The scenery and tranquility were stunning.
Thanks to Calum for his warm hospitality and local information. Thanks particularly for the welcome basket. Delicious! We also had the luxury of some duck eggs from a friendly neighbour - and fantastic weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ron g
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming in every sense.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A frequently returning customer, I’m always impressed with the immaculate presentation of the cottage. Equipped to satisfy all needs, the cottage feels like a home as soon as one crosses the threshold but one is naturally drawn to sit outside and enjoy stunning views over Great Bernera and to relish the magical silence and the wide Hebridean skies. After a day exploring the islands, the cottage is the perfect place to return to. Outstanding value and outstanding experiences await.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very nice place to stay very homely and a nice surprise whith the goodies that where lft for use to enjoy after a long journey ie bread biscuits and cakes views outstanding and neighbours very nice and even Brought around some duck eggs which was most appreciated

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona...
1 review
“Beautiful scenery and fantastically cosy wee cottage”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful time here at Harsgeir view cottage. It was fully equipped with nice little extras like a welcome basket of goodies which were very tasty! The cottage was clean and extremely cosy although we had very warm weather and didn't need any extra heating.
The surrounding scenery is breathtaking with some very friendly sheep! The neighbours are very welcoming and the duck eggs were delicious!
There are so many beautiful beaches not too far from the cottage with Bosta and Reef being our favourites.
Calllanish stones and Dun Carloway broch are must sees with the black houses a must too.
The local community centre is only a mile or so away from cottage and serves a tasty lunch.
We are missing the cottage already but hope to be back next year.
Thank you for everything, Calum.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bloomin Ansome”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

It was a very welcoming place, great views, friendly neighbours. Luckily we had good weather which always helps. Welcome pack was delicious. Comfy beds and fully equiped kitchen. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely island, lovely people, lovely cottage!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We and our mad spaniels loved our week here. There was loads to do on the island. Lots of lovely walks on beaches & inland, lots of ancient 'monuments' to visit and discover. The local community hall make a lovely lunch (& even provide good banter to entertain us tourists)

The cottage was warm, comfortable and had everything we needed. Our only issue was we had a struggle to work out the hot water system, but got it in the end!

Calum was very friendly and took time to recommend and explain places to visit & walks locally. The welcome pack of toddies was very welcome, as were the lovely flowers!
We really enjoyed our stay here, and hope to return next year :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing