We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Waterfall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby Falls

Ruby Falls
Ranked #7 of 146 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this thundering 145-foot underground waterfall, a natural wonder located on the scenic Lookout Mountain.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Waterfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very cool waterfall and quite colorful....a bit pricey but we enjoyed the walk to the falls in the cave and had fun taking pictures of it. No need to wear sweatshirts as its warm down there.I am claustrophobic but I did fine with this one as we moved along quickly and it didn't get too narrow.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank numbrdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,090
    1,392
    638
    182
    130
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithsburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

No Doubt Another "touristy" thing to do in Chattanooga but a very unique experience. Great Tour Guide. We all liked it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank HubertDrWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth Watching Once”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is one of the nearby attractions for people living in Atlanta. Falls is located in Chattanooga, TN on the border of Tennessee & Georgia. It’s basically guided tour for group of people. We need to walk through the cave for 1 mile to view the 140 foot water fall, which will be shown with illuminated lights for less than 5 min.
On my personal note, if you have not visited this falls you can do so for one time; it’s really not as attractive as Rock City (which is 5 miles above Ruby Falls)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Durai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Waterfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Its a tight squeeze and long walk to get to the Waterfall,a lot of people down there on busy days,but the Waterfall is amazing with all the different Lights.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“3rd visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I used to go to Tennessee quite a bit as a child (we are from Indiana), and twice my parents took the family to see Ruby Falls, as well as other attractions in the Chattanooga area. My children are getting a little older now (all school age now), so I decided to take them on a spring break vacation to beautiful Tennessee where we could eaily visit some of the sites I remember LOVING as a child.

Ruby Falls is still absolutely magnificent. Of course, now that I'm older, I enjoy hearing the history of it all and checking out of the cool formations in the cave. As a child I just loved seeing the spectacular waterfall and all of the beautful colors.

We were lucky enough on this trip to be the tour guides only patrons (we got there in time for their first tour), and he was wonderful. He added some humor and let us a take a little extra time walking through the cave. The kids loved it! Even after all of the other sites we visited, they wanted to go back to Ruby Falls :) I was glad I could share something I remember being special when I was a child with my children.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby Falls also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing