We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great selection and food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Cafe Diner

City Cafe Diner
Ranked #34 of 817 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great selection and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This place is like one of the traditional diners you would see on TV. A HUGE menu - breakfast food, waffles, sandwiches, Greek dishes, you name it. Everything I have ever tried here has been really good (Well okay, except for the grouper fish, but to be fair I've never been able to find decent grouper anywhere else either, in a landlocked state like Tennessee!)

The prices are just right, the service is good. I've never tried any of their desserts, mostly because I'm just not a big fan of huge slices of cake! But I would definitely go back and recommend it to anybody.

We tried it based on the recommendation of somebody from work, and it's like he said - the place may not look like much when you see it from the outside, especially considering it's attached to a Best Western! But it gets better once you step inside, don't let the looks on the outside fool you.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msintn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    98
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must try the cakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Forget your Waffle House and IHOP, City Cafe has it all. Around the clock diner food and a warmer atmosphere than most diners. Get yourself a big delicious slice of cake...it's big enough to share! We like to go there for dessert and coffee.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MCH11062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Go to this place and eat their food....just do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We ate here as we stayed at the attached Best Western (see separate review) and this marvel of a restaurant was a great added benefit to our stay. Just head in, pick anything on the extensive menu and enjoy it. We had both take-out after arrival and breakfast the next morning; both were exceptional in every respect. Service was very good, food quality was outstanding and value for money just cannot be beat. I forgot to tell them I was a guest a the hotel -and so receive a 10% discount- but I don't care. The food was well, well worth the actual price we paid. Go and eat your fill!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great place to flex your taste buds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

From eggplant to omelet, from moussaka to BLT's and desserts that will make the fat lady sing, City Cafe is a reasonably priced, full service restaurant with a delectable, diverse menu aimed at satisfying anyone's taste buds. Very courteous service, though maybe not the fastest in town. The atmosphere is true to name as it is a cafe setting. The City Cafe is open 24 hours a day. Draft beer selections are not available at this location.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevobooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So Much, So Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

This is a hidden jewel of a place! It's a diner not a fancy restaurant but you can't tell that by the food. There are so many choices on the menu including daily specials! We have had breakfast, lunch and dinners and everything was excellent! We recently had the seafood bisque and it could be served at any 4 star restaurant, it was sooooo good! The wait staff is excellent too. Now if you want a cup of coffee and a piece of cake, you will have a hard time choosing because there are so many and they are huge 4 layer cakes!
If there is a negative, it's the parking. Since it is at the The Best Western Heritage Inn, the parking can be hard to find But don't let that stop you, it is worth the effort. bon appetit

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grrrlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Cafe Diner also viewed

 

Been to City Cafe Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing