We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We were quite pleased with our 2-night stay. We had a suite and appreciated the extra space. Front desk staff were all helpful and polite and housekeeping was fine. We did not partake in the continental breakfast but saw many guests doing so and it seemed to have a good selection.

All in all the Hampton was a good value. If you need to be in downtown Chattanooga you can't go wrong with the Hampton Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dewmkw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,250 - 1,256 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights and had a very good experience. The heated pool was wonderful fun for the kids, even when the outside temp was mid-60s. Fire pits on the pool patio were comfortable when you dried off. The exercise room was well stocked and modern with individual tvs on each bike/climber/treadmill. Breakfast was good with a large variety, hot oatmeal with berries, nuts and brown sugar available; different egg varienty every morning; waffles; fruit; bagels or toast. Hot coffee and tea are available 24/7 in the lobby.
The room (611) was spacious with 2 queens and a pull out sofa. plenty of outlets for all of our electronic devices. The deck area was large and a nice place to sit. The only inconvenience was the lack of privacy. The room was large enough a wall instead of the open furniture divider would have been nice.
Location was amazing:free trolley around the corner, plenty of family eataries within a block, children's museum across the street, aquarium a few blocks away.

Room Tip: corner studio special was largest room and very sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank largefamilymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel itself is lovely - the pool and firepit area LOOKS nice, however it is "closed for maintainence" for the next few days. Unbelievable. Spring break, the city is swarming with kids, including my own. No area attractions open after 5 pm - no Nickelodeon or Disney channels - and now, no pool. And no decent apology or anything from the front desk. Not sure I would come back - have stayed other places in Chatt for spring break, and so far, this place is not worth the extra $$$.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chendrix23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We loved our stay at the HI Chattanooga. We visited over the 4th of July and the views of the fireworks from our room were amazing! We were able to park our car and leave it for 2 days while we walked all over downtown chattanooga. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful!

One glitch - when we received our car back from the parking attendant it had a dent in it. The manager took care of the repair and handled the whole incident in a fair way. Problem resolved!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is a different sort of Hampton Inn. Its decor is retro 1950's, which I did not care for, but overall it was a good place to stay--clean, which is the most important to me. There were some very good things about its difference. There is both an indoor and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool has two wood burning fire pits, which is nice on chilly evenings. The outside sitting area is nice, having a garden effect.
The rooms are large and the beds comfortable. the bathroom was clean and well stocked. Surprisingly there is not comfortable chair to sit in to read or relax in the room. There is a desk chair and another straight-back utilitarian chair. There were a few minor annoyances, but nothing important; for example, I was in the lobby and did not have my key folder so I asked the front desk for the internet password. The one she gave me did not work and when I asked her about it, she said that was the only one she had. When I got the key envelope, there was one on it which worked. The tissue box was just about empty when we arrived.

Zach on the night desk was good. There was a glitch in the room safe, which he promptly repaired. Also, he made a great recommendation for dinner--Big River on Market. There were few recommendations for other dining options, even though we discovered on our own a very good restaurant (212 Market) on Market Street, just a few blocks away. We reserved a king and got two queens. In spite of these minor problems, I would stay there again. The week-end rate was quite good and the overnight parking was reasonable.
The location was very good--near restaurants, the acquarium, a theatre, the ball parks, UTC, and downtown shopping. The directions on the website are very poor coming in on I-24 from Nashville. Rely on your GPS instead.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bedrock1831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Let me start by saying that we have young children 5 and 8. So some of this will come from the mindset of staying with our kids.

Pros:
Location - Situated right off the highway and very easy to get to once off the exit. It's diagonally across the street from the Chattanooga Childrens museum. It's only a few blocks to the Aquarium, Movie theater and the many downtown restaurants.
Heated Pool - The pool is a very popular with the kids. There's a small part of the pool that's inside, but it's connected to the outer pool, but it's all heated. There were lots of kids swimming (even in February in 50 degree weather). Our kids kept asking to go the pool (and we didn't bring swimsuits, who would've thought to do that in February, our mistake).
Weight Room - A very nice weight room with several machines and a full rack of dumbbells.
The Suite Room - The suites are very large rooms with a faux entertainment center divider with a large TV in the center which can rotate to the beds or the couch on the other side. The couch is a sleeper sofa if you need more room. We loved having the extra area for the kids to play. The beds were comfortable and linens felt good (contribution from my wife).
The staff - Very friendly and courteous.
Clean - A very clean hotel, nicely kept, even the breakfast area with so many families constantly coming and going.
Kid Friendly - I was surprised how many families were actually staying in the hotel. I'm not sure I would want to stay in this hotel if I were traveling on business. This hotel seemed to have lots of kids staying in the hotel, and many of them taking full advantage of the heated pool.
Breakfast - Nice continental breakfast with eggs and sausage thrown in as well. All of us really enjoyed the breakfast.
Cons:
No one delivers - while there are tons of restaurants around you, there is no delivery unless you do it yourself. We were with another family and such a large party would take forever to get a table (not recommended with small children, especially when hungry). So I had to walk to a restaurant, order it and take it back to the room. Would've been nice to have some pizza just dropped off instead.
No grocery store or convenience store nearby - While there is a small shop in the hotel lobby with a few odds and ends, there was no place to get items you may want quickly. (i.e. beer to go with the pizza I just brought back).
You pay for parking - There is a an added $8 charge (plus tax) for parking. They should just add it to the original room fee. I don't mind paying to park (it is downtown), but when I start getting above and beyond fees, then you start to question the value of your stay. There are also limited spaces in their garage, I'm not sure how they fit all the guests into their parking area.
Thin walls - we could hear the people above us walking around and next to us from time to time, even with the very high ceilings. It wasn't constant, but something to be aware of when staying there.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Great location and a very clean place. Staff was very nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the queen double bed suite and it was perfect for our family. Some rooms have balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trent_Futrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This Hotel was clean, fresh smelling. There sheets and bedding were very clean, a concern my wife always has.

There staff were very nice and helpful.

Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
1.2 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,359 reviews
7.2 km away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
14.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Address: 400 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $194 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga! Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find the Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, IMAX, and over 30-restaurants! Whether visiting Chattanooga for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at a Hampton Inn and Suites a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton family of hotels, you can earn Hilton HHonors® hotel points and airline miles for your stay. Hampton Inn and Suites guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House® hot breakfast with delicious offerings, On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Monday-Friday), high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and free amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn And Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing