We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel is in a great location. Easy walk to attractions and all sorts of dining options. The staff was efficient and the room was clean and nice. We stayed in a regular king room on the 2nd floor along Broad Street. There was some road noise, but that is to be expected in a busy downtown area. It wasn't loud enough to keep us awake.

The free breakfast was pentiful and the dining area is nice a spacious. The pool area is surprisingly large for a downtown hotel and the fire pit areas are a nice addition.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwright2089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

Location was great -- easy walking to all downtown activities i.e. Aquarium, dining options and easy access to highway. The hotel staff was extremely efficient and friendly. Would recommend a corner balconly room -- the additional space was very handy traveling with kids. Hotel was clean, well decorated and "Hampton" quality. The morning breakfast was a step above the norm with many selections -- including non-meat options. The pool was a hit with the kids as it was indoor/outdoor with fountains -- small, but fun! Would recommend this hotel and definately stay again!

Room Tip: Corner Balcony was a treat
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calhounr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I decided to stay overnight at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Downtown Chattanooga on our way to Nashville. When first arriving, we were happy with our lodging choice. The King Bedroom was very spacious and modern with all the things we needed in a hotel room (clean room, spotless bathroom, ample power outlets, fridge, and microwave). My wife thought the sheets were a little rough, but all in all very comfortable. The issues came after we checked out of the hotel on Sunday. An item was forgotten in the room so I called the front desk to let them know of the situation. I was told that I had to wait until the housekeeper cleaned the room after they took down my contact information. This first call was within an hour of us checking out. Later that afternoon, I called back since no one had responded to my inquiry. My second call was met with a transfer to the housekeeping department, but I only got the answer machine. I called for a 3rd time and was told to check back before 5 pm the next day for an answer. The next day I was told that executive housekeeper was off for the next two days. Why neither the front desk or management staff had access to the lost and found, I may never know. 3 Days later, I was able to stop by the hotel on my way home and find out the status of my lost item with help from the Executive Housekeeper. Up into that point, I received no calls from the hotel concerning a status updates of my item. Hopefully in the future, hotel staff will have quicker response time for other hotel patrons.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JNev1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Beautiful hotel with large suites. Some suites have balconies! Ours had 2 queen beds and a pullout couch. Kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool (they swam in March--it is heated!). We loved the serene patio around the pool--wicker furniture, fireplace, gas fire bowl--a great way to wrap up a long day sightseeing! Hotel is in a great location. Even the smallest of tikes can make the 2 block walk to the Aquarium, Imax, and other downtown features. The room was very nice. Separating the bed area from living area was a two sided desk with plenty of space for parents and kids to surf the net at the same time. Not much privacy in this suite as the room was completely open. Only the room with shower and toilet had a door. We only stayed one night, so it was manageable. Staff was awesome--we had to ask for more towels twice and they were happy to accommodate. Breakfast was usual Hampton Inn fare--oatmeal, cereal, some hot items, fruit, breads. Breakfast area was clean and nice. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice place downtown.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnat695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We were quite pleased with our 2-night stay. We had a suite and appreciated the extra space. Front desk staff were all helpful and polite and housekeeping was fine. We did not partake in the continental breakfast but saw many guests doing so and it seemed to have a good selection.

All in all the Hampton was a good value. If you need to be in downtown Chattanooga you can't go wrong with the Hampton Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dewmkw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights and had a very good experience. The heated pool was wonderful fun for the kids, even when the outside temp was mid-60s. Fire pits on the pool patio were comfortable when you dried off. The exercise room was well stocked and modern with individual tvs on each bike/climber/treadmill. Breakfast was good with a large variety, hot oatmeal with berries, nuts and brown sugar available; different egg varienty every morning; waffles; fruit; bagels or toast. Hot coffee and tea are available 24/7 in the lobby.
The room (611) was spacious with 2 queens and a pull out sofa. plenty of outlets for all of our electronic devices. The deck area was large and a nice place to sit. The only inconvenience was the lack of privacy. The room was large enough a wall instead of the open furniture divider would have been nice.
Location was amazing:free trolley around the corner, plenty of family eataries within a block, children's museum across the street, aquarium a few blocks away.

Room Tip: corner studio special was largest room and very sunny
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank largefamilymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel itself is lovely - the pool and firepit area LOOKS nice, however it is "closed for maintainence" for the next few days. Unbelievable. Spring break, the city is swarming with kids, including my own. No area attractions open after 5 pm - no Nickelodeon or Disney channels - and now, no pool. And no decent apology or anything from the front desk. Not sure I would come back - have stayed other places in Chatt for spring break, and so far, this place is not worth the extra $$$.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chendrix23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.2 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,340 reviews
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
7.2 km away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
14.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Address: 400 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $191 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga! Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find the Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, IMAX, and over 30-restaurants! Whether visiting Chattanooga for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at a Hampton Inn and Suites a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton family of hotels, you can earn Hilton HHonors® hotel points and airline miles for your stay. Hampton Inn and Suites guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House® hot breakfast with delicious offerings, On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Monday-Friday), high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and free amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn And Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing