We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual hotel with an exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
St. Louis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Unusual hotel with an exceptional staff”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It looks as though most of the previous reviewers have expressed the main points about this hotel. I have to say that I was quite concerned when we drove in and saw the outside of the property. The first two floors look like an old motor lodge with exterior entrances while the third floor appears to have just been plopped on top with its interior hallway. Having to use a keycard to use the elevator was definitely unusual as was the checking in through a window, but the hotel was clean and updated. The room was comfortable but the bathroom was tiny. (My son expressed that it reminded him of an airplane bathroom just without the metal toilet seat and with a bathtub added). There wasn't any counterspace in the bathroom either. The room was quiet and the beds were very comfy, though. Jennifer, the breakfast room attendant, was the friendliest breakfast room attendant I've ever encountered. She genuinely seemed happy to have you there and kept everything well stocked. She cleaned the tables off the moment they were vacated.

Room Tip: If you prefer an interior corridor, request the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StLouisMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    382
    238
    83
    50
See reviews for
361
319
96
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. Everything was clean and the breakfast was well stocked.

Our 2 double bed room was away from the interstate so no highway noise (might want to request that) but the bathroom had zero counter space. The breakfast area also felt cramped.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I debated for a while to rate this place a 3 or 4. As stated in the previous reviews this is a really old Fairfield Inn but management has made the most of it. The rooms and especially the bathroom are small but they are clean, updated and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable and overall it was a very good value. One comment about the breakfast area, admittedly we were there when it was quite busy but there has to be some way to arrange things so it is less congested. It was almost impossible to navigate. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaxby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel is nice and clean. The rooms all enter from the outside of the building - I know this can freak some people out so it's good to share.

There is NO privacy in the bathroom - no fan or anything. Also, the rooms are small so fitting a pack n play in there is tough.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marglenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFIChatt, General Manager at Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I wanted to mention that we do have one floor of interior entrance rooms that are available upon request for guest who prefer interior hallways instead of our drive-up rooms/exterior floors. Though these rooms are the same size as our rooms on our exterior floors many guest feel the rooms are larger due to a different layout of the bathroom. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Sarah Stokes, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

As others have noted, this is an original style Fairfield. This means the rooms are smaller and there are outside entrances on the first and second floors. The second floor is also secure - not just the third - as you must use a room card to get on the elevator.

Given that, the management understands this and has priced the rooms appropriately. This makes it a good value if you're not planning to hang out in the room very much. The beds are great and the room was very clean - and I'm fussy. Absolutely up to my standards. The room and the lobby have been updated and I thought they did a nice job on the last update. New LCD TV, chair, desk, etc.

We found the staff to be extra friendly and helpful - I couldn't ask for more. The breakfast had a nice selection and was stocked well, even though there were several teams staying at the hotel.

The area has a lot of dining options very close by and is right off the highway.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor are inside entrances. Second floor are outside entrances, but secure as a card is requir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Protraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel is just a place to rest your head. Clean and comfortable but nothing extravagant!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookskbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, AL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Definitely an older property. No issues with cleanliness or problems with our room, but.... The first two levels of this hotel have outside-entrance rooms, so be sure to specify that you want a third-floor/ interior room if it matters to you. We stayed here on points for one night as a stop-off point for a trip to a B&B in Kingsport. The room we had was tiny; and the bathroom almost too small to turn around in. It had no vanity space and a very narrow shelf with no space for toiletries. The breakfast was about as basic as you can get; waffles and cereal; no fruit (perhaps it was already gone, but none to be found).The elevator is situated in a strange place just inside the first set of doors from the outside. I've stayed in MANY Fairfield Inns and have not seen one situated like this one. It is very convenient to shopping and restaurants, but the location is about all it has going for it. The staff was very pleasant but not enough so to make me want to return. We have stayed at another of the Fairfields in Chattanooga with a much better experience and would definitely choose a different property for a return stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
2.4 km away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#20 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.6 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga
#10 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
21.2 km away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Best Western Plus Arbour Inn & Suites
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga at Hamilton Place Mall
0.7 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#28 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place

Property: Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Address: 2350 Shallowford Village Dr, Chattanooga, TN 37421-6768 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Chattanooga)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chattanooga
#28 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Interstate 75 and only 4 miles from the Chattanooga International Airport, our Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place hotel is your place for a sunny stay in the Chattanooga area. A seasonal outdoor pool, ample parking for large vehicles, dry-cleaning service and a business center make your visit fun, convenient and productive. Get a great start to each day with a free daily newspaper and free Daybreak continental breakfast, and access our free Wi-Fi Internet any time throughout our hotel. For your comfort, rooms feature plush bedding and an ergonomic work station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Chattanooga Hotel Chattanooga
Fairfield Chattanooga
Chattanooga Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing