We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL! Will never stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had a funeral to attend in Johnson City, so we decided to get a room instead of driving back to my parents' home. It was late when we checked in and the hotel looked nice enough from the outside. The inside was another story. It was run down and dirty. There was a dirty washcloth outside the elevator that stayed there the entire time we were there. There was trash in the hall. (If we had not had 2 very tired children with us, we would have left before entering our room!) There were hairs clinging to the complimentary cups in our room. It smelled and my daughter sneezed all night due to something in the room (she didn't sneeze before or after we were there). We got up to have the breakfast included in the price of our room. The waffle maker was not in working order which is of course what the kids wanted to eat. We decided to check out and go to McDonald's for breakfast. When my husband explained everything during check out the response he got was we could get 50% off our next stay. There will NOT be a next stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momof2_2011_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hotel is not what it use to be but they are working on turning it around. The 2 rooms we had had been re-done and were clean. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were good, wish the tub and surround had been cleaner. The pool was opened but we didn't use it. There is construction still going on and they have torn down one of the building there but it should be better soon. We had an issue with room rate at check in but the GM was able to fix though we didn't get handicapped room booked. We choose this hotel because of room rate and location, Best Western needs to update pictures on website. The Chinese restaurant and bar attached to hotel was good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrrobw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This hotel has an impressive desk staff! They were so kind and helpful when I needed a lot of help with driving directions to Atlanta and other assistance. The rooms in the tower are fairly new, large, and quiet. They have an Asian restaurant adjoining the hotel and a lounge in the hotel also. I stayed at this hotel for six nights and will definitely stay here again in spite of the slow internet and 20 minute limit. If you are tall, please be aware that the bathroom counters are quite low. This must be a new trend. I also dislike sealed windows, but that seems to be the rule now, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanciFresno_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

we have a dog so we were put in the rooms that were not attached to the updated part of the hotel...DO NOT ACCEPT THESE ROOMS. when we arrived, we were told that there was no phone service in the room because of rennovations. the room was basically an old howard johnsons' variety with a new coat of paint...supposed to be non smoking, but someone who stayed in the room didn't read the signs.
we learned not to close the bathroom door all the way because it got stuck closed...the remote for the tv didn't work...there was only one set of towels...the nearest ice maker was on the second floor in the rennovated part...it didn't work.
i reported most of these problems, but nothing was corrected. i actually had to go back to the desk to get the extra set of towels.
to top it all off, we stayed an extra day because we got finished too late to get on the road for home. when i tried to put the room on my credit card (the previous nights were paid by my husband's employer), i was told it was $91....yes, $91...for a room with no phone, no remote and a do-it-yourself attitude toward it's guests. it is $15 a night more for a pet, even though the room was left a good deal cleaner i'm sure than they are used to.
if you've ever stayed at a drury inn, you know what service is. this place is a disaster.
maybe people who stayed in the main part had a better experience. i feel sorry for the restaurant that's attached. it was outstanding and i'm afraid it's going to suffer because of the poor attitude and service of the motel desk staff.

Room Tip: be sure you get a room in the main bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debbieam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I was a little hesitant to roll the dice on this hotel while in Johnson City with my 8 year old daughter after reading the mixed reviews here on Tripadvisor . We arrived about 10pm with no reservations booked in advance due to uncertain scheduling during our day. The lady working the front desk was first-rate in listening to my concerns about the reviews and assuring me that the facility has been under new ownership since this past August and the remodeling was taking a little time to complete due to the extensive work being done but that we would be pleased with our stay. At any rate, we were assigned an interior access room--appeared to be freshly remodeled--and had NO issues to speak of with our visit.

The lobby was clean and cared for and the staff was first-rate in making us feel welcome and appreciated.

The hall to the room was a little warm and 'aged' feeling but not unlike most hotel hallways.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The beds were "OK"--pillows very good--sheets clean--bathroom was above average cleanliness for a hotel (not 100% to my standards but I am OCD about my bathroom @ home anyway)--TV, hair dryer, fridge, etc. all worked fine. Things were quiet and we had a good night of sleep!

Breakfast the next morning was better than average for a complimentary breakfast. There was a nice selection of hot foods, cereals, fruit, etc. and again the staff working the food line was very nice.

The only 'surprise' was that the pool was out of commission either due to the renovations and/or our visit being in late May. Not a big deal to me but my daughter was a little disappointed.

Checkout was quick and easy. I had no regrets with our decision to stay @ the Best Western in Johnson City.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Me_in_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Stayed for 1 night for business. The check in was great, fast and friendly. Room was toward the back of the hotel with a good entrance near the elevators. Rooms were clean but needed some updating. This hotel has been there for a long time, I stayed there when it was under a different name in the early 90's.Was not dissappointed and will stay again. First ever stay at a Best Western

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlr8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Hotel & Conference Center on a recent family vacation through Tennessee. It was close to our whitewater rafting site, so it seemed a good choice. The room we had was very large, but had cobwebs in some of the corners. The seal on the bottom of the outside door was torn, so bugs could just wander on in! The bathroom was one notch shy of disgusting! The floor and tub were rusty and stained. The toilet rocked on it's floor seal. The bathroom vent went straight through to another room, that we could hear/see the television through. The only saving grace of the hotel was the breakfast buffet. There was enough variety and things were pretty tasty.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the5leidys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summithotel, General Manager at Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Confernece Center. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I'd like to take this opportunity to discuss the changes we have taking place at our property. We are currently under a complete renovation and I am confident that we will not only meet your expectations on any future visits to our property but will exceed them as well. We are excited about the updates that are being made in order to get us ready to be a Best Western Plus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
2.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
168 reviews
0.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#9 of 19 in Johnson City
303 reviews
4.9 km away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
253 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Johnson City
Holiday Inn Johnson City
#11 of 19 in Johnson City
204 reviews
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2406 North Roan Street, Johnson City, TN 37601-1704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Johnson City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#7 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range: $98 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center offers a host of amenities and is conveniently located near the Bristol Motor Speedway, Eastern Tennessee State University and the Freedom Hall Civic Center. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of activities including hiking, sailing, rafting and golf. The hotel offers Junior suites, Whirlpool suites and Business King suites and all well-appointed guest rooms feature wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Johnson City
Johnson City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing