We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel, ok area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Johnson City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Johnson City
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
345 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, ok area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Very nice interiors and clean. Room spacious and with refrigerator. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank efm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    53
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
23
15
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albion, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

What makes this hotel special is the front desk staff. I had made reservations through the Marriott Website using my points. After a 12 hour drive with my family I arrived to find my reservation not in the system. I believe most hotel staffs would have made me pay or move on, but the front desk staff (especially Victoria) relentlessly pursued getting us in on points. Even when the corporate office said no, Vicki called the Hotels GM and he worked it out. I cannot express my gratitude enough for this teams exceptional service. Expect the typical comfort you will always find at most Courtyards which is very good, but what makes this hotel really sing is the staff. They are great!

Room Tip: Higher is always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 282Mikado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

Great stay at a new and very up to date property. Work out room, was nice and well apportioned. Complimentary headphones were a nice touch. Excellent view from the pool deck that overlooked a field with cows, and a little country creek.

Only item I would liked to have modified is the in room coffee. Although, I could just spring for the Starbucks offered in the lobby!? Oh well.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel is very new. Everything is clean and well kept. There is a mini restaurant in the hotel lobby area that has food all day long. The prices are a bit high but sometimes you must pay for what is easy to obtain. They have a free coffee area from early morning till 10am which is nice too.
Our King room was plenty spacious and had a pull out sofa bed. There was a mini refrig, and coffee pot. No microwave.
Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwjdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

GREAT Hotel! I stay at many courtyards and this one stands out. Staff is A rate and rooms and overall hotel is excellent. It's one of the nicer courtyard's I've stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georiga
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My reviews are based on a road warrior experience that lives in hotels 35-45 week(s) out of a year I look for a little more in a hotel - comfort, soft clean beds/pillows, extremely clean room/hotel, fridge/microware and a staff with good customer service. The hotel is located within 1 mile of the highway and is within walking distances of major shopping areas, tons of franchise restaurants. (small town feel) The hotel is hard to find on your gps, it’s in the back of a newly built strip mall. Google first! The hotel appears to be new and is very appealing, clean and nicely decorated. We had a problem with the front desk person. Call for pricing given one price on the phone, agreed because within company guidelines. Given one price on the phone, upon arriving for check-in was given a totally different price and then told it would change by the day. WOW! The lady at the front desk wanted to converse about this, however another lady stepped in and said go ahead and give him that price. OKAY! This is where it gets strange. Upon approval of the room at that price, the girl crossed out the original room on the 2nd floor and gave us a room on the first floor. That was okay at first sight. During the night and morning there was a noise, thought it was the person above, it wasn't. I will talk about that more later. Woke up to slamming doors, because they put a customer paying for 4-5 days next’s to garbage dumpster, next to the where the employees stand and smoke, next to where they come in and out, next to where they park, next to maintenance person office door that slams slams slams. Even if a do-not disturb sign on the door next to it. Got sick of this to say the least, call the front desk to see if there were other rooms. Walked out to the front desk hoping to resolve this problem. Approached front desk clerk and explained my situation. This desk clerk handled my complaint with a “smile” and said she would move the room and fix the problem. I told her I was going to nap because I had been up all night and most of the morning due to the noise. I awoke to an envelope under my door with a new upgraded room and a handwritten note, Wow good customer service. To rate this room on the first floor, I think 100 or 101 or something, it was noisy. The other noise I spoke on earlier was a heat pump/pipe that runs down the wall and it makes noise all day and night! Nevertheless, the room was extremely clean and nice. The bed and pillows were "not" soft, need work. The room only had a fridge and "no" microwave. The noise from the maids, not sure of. You can hear people in the room next to you and in the halls. There was so much noise not sure what was what. There is no breakfast, I can’t rate that. They have a small restaurant in the lobby, didn't eat there, and can’t rate that. Okay, now to the upgraded room. The room was located on the top floor, (left side/backside facing hotel) a corner room on the backside of the hotel facing the cow beautiful pastures. The room was a suite and later found out it was one of their better rooms. The room was extremely clean and nice. The bed and pillows were not the greatest, not soft at all. There was a fridge and microwave in this room. Due to staying in the back room I can't speak on the noise level. The train tracks are within eye sight and you can hear the train every 4-5 hours which isn’t that loud. Overall the room we were given on the 2nd round was great with the exception of the train and bed. The second desk clerk extremely nice, professional and understood guest services and Marriott-Courtyard standards. Not sure but I don’t think the first desk clerk understood the level of standards or didn’t care if we took of business to another hotel. In my mind, when someone checks in on business and books almost a week you should accommodate them. Surely they will return or refer fellow employees to that franchise or hotel. Nevertheless, based on the "second" desk clerk we returned the next week for 5 days.

Room Tip: First - the location, Google it first, some gps won't pick up the location or will take you to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghawell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my two year old son and my mother. My sister lives in Gray, TN so this hotel was close enough to drive each day. The hotel is located in a shopping center off of North State of Franklin Road which is close to shopping and malls in Johnson City. The address to use for your GPS to find it is 1100 North State of Franklin Road since the hotel address does not exist yet. There is no defined "road" to the hotel yet, there is a gravel drive that is marked off with wire to lead you to the hotel. You have to turn on to Med-Tech Parkway across from Franklin Woods Hospital to get to the shopping center where the hotel is located since there is not direct access from the main road. The hotel is new, clean, and the staff were friendly. The wireless internet is free but the breakfast is not and is way over priced. The soft drink machine lists $2.50 for a bottled 20 ounce Pepsi, I thought my mom was going to faint when she saw that. The rooms have refrigerators so you can buy drinks somewhere cheaper and keep them in the room. The bed was hard as a rock and the pillows might as well have been made from concrete but I am used to sleeping on a memory foam mattress and pillows so that is probably why I was so miserable. Overall it was a good stay, it was hard to find someone at the front desk most of the time but the people that worked there were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are quieter as they are further away from the construction. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plail30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
4.7 km away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#3 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.9 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 20 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Johnson City

Property: Courtyard Johnson City
Address: 4025 Hamilton Pl, Johnson City, TN 37604-7927
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for Johnson City hotels, then you'll love our Courtyard Johnson City. Our hotel in Johnson City, Tennessee is just off I-81 and I-26, near East Tennessee State University (ETSU) and Quillen College of Medicine. We're also close to Johnson City Medical Center, as well as the Hands On Museum and Bristol Motor Speedway - home to NASCAR and NHRA races. Stay around town for the National Storytelling Festival, held each year in October. Our stylish Johnson City, TN hotel features an open, contemporary lobby with media pod booths, a business library, and 52" GoBoard touch-screen TV. The Bistro offers delicious breakfast and dinner options with beverages from Starbucks and our full bar. Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy patio seating around our fire pit, cook out in our BBQ area, relax in our pool, or work out in our fitness room. Planning an event? Let us know - our largest space hosts up to 50. Few Johnson City hotels can top our service and attention to detail, so make your reservation today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Johnson City Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing