We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A monument to a former economy...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lord Bagenal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lord Bagenal Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leighlinbridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A monument to a former economy...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Celtic Tiger has long since up and left, and in its wake a trail of places like the Lord Bagenal remain. These days geared to family events, the public spaces are over large, and imply a far greater sense of use than there appears to be on a regular basis. Apart from the cosy restaurant, where the food is very good, especially the puddings, and the atmosphere friendly, the rest of the place suffers from the kind of vulgar gigantism that dates it to the Noughties. This is not to say the experience is unpleasant: it isn't. The rooms are large, lots of velvet upholstered furniture, big beds and substantive pillows. Free internet and a good quality breakfast comes with it (but the coffee in Ireland, oh dear). But the tacky decor, and an overuse of glass and marble, gives it the feel of a mausoleum now the businessmen have all packed up and gone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank groggery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    62
    28
    15
    12
See reviews for
87
75
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

great view from room over river.room was spotless.enjoyed ourselves in your hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redladIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I have been eating in the Lord Bagenal Restaurant for many years,but,this was my first time to stay in the hotel. The occasion was for a family wedding.From start to finish,the experience was good.Firstly, the wedding reception was everything you could wish for. There was great attention to detail and food was delicious and served by the friendliest and most efficient staff that you could meet.Our room had an opulent air,well furnished and comfortable. The Bathroom was a dream, very roomy and with the luxury of a beautiful claw-foot bath.These luxuries, together with cleanlines throughout,made for a very enjoyable stay.Our room overlooked the beautiful Barrow River where it is possible to take some very peaceful walks.Unfortunately,we did not have time for this, but, we now realise that we could have a great "away from it all" experience without travelling too far.Yes, we want to return and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jima_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I rang this hotel to book a 3 night mid week break. I rang on a afternoon to book the phone rang at least 20 times no answer i gave them the benefit of doubt and tried again later but yet again no reply. I found this really annoying should the phone not be answered after 3 rings as a rule in hotels. neithless to say i did not book this hotel I have booked another hotel in carlow. extremly disapointed as i liked the quite location of this hotel. How are you meant to keep a hotel in business when the phone is not even answered.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkehoe, Front Office Manager at The Lord Bagenal Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Louf12

Thank you for your comment. We really appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor. All of our calls are very important to us here at the Lord Bagenal Inn. Would it be possible for you to ring the hotel to discuss this matter further with our Manager on duty on 0599774000 or e.mail us to Info@lordbagenal.com with your contact number and I will call at your convenience to discuss this further? We would also like to confirm the contact number you were trying to ring us on.

Looking forward to hearing back from you

Regards

Mairead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I recently had my wedding at this hotel and to be honest I cannot say enough good things about it the service, the rooms, the environment and food they were all TOP CLASS! All of our guests were raving about their experience in this hotel and we would definitely recommend it to anyone for a great wedding venue with professional staff and fab food. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathrinabehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I was on a return journey from Dublin and stopped here for a meal, we are both in the Hospitality Industry. I was very impressed by the entrance and lobby area. A very pleasant and friendly receptionist pointed us to Kehoes Bar where food was being served. We were met by a very efficient waitress who offered a menu to us, the seafood chowder was very flavorsome with lots of fresh and shell fish and the smoked chicken Caesar salad was second to none. My colleague had the homemade burger; homemade is the key..........excellent

As we left in the dark of night we notice a flock of wild ducks in the car park ............what a sight will be back again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CloneaRep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enniscorthy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We were celebrating 20 years of marriage and made a great choice staying here. Hotel is very good mix of modern and old. staff very friendly. rooms large and comfortable. setting on the river barrow with it's own marina and large decking area beautiful. Restaurant is exceptionally good and great value. bar area is part of the old building and has a great atmosphere. breakfast bery good. real feel of team spirit with the staff. we'll back, great value short breaks, would have loved another night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank byrnejoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leighlinbridge
8.8 km away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
12.0 km away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
15.4 km away
Step House Hotel
Step House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Borris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
17.7 km away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
18.5 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Bagenal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Bagenal Inn

Property: The Lord Bagenal Inn
Address: Main Street, Leighlinbridge, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Leighlinbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leighlinbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lord Bagenal Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lord Bagenal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing