We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Finn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mature Woodland Gardens Front of Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Mature Woodland Gardens
Front of Cottage
Bedroom 1
The River Finn,
Kitchen / Dining area
Kitchen
Mature Garden
Living Room
BBQ area
Modern Bathroom.
Bedroom 3, Triple Bunk.
Kids play area
Gortletteragh Waterfall
Ballybofey
Drumboe Woods,
Donegal Town
Donegal Water Bus in Donegal Town
Ballybofey and Stranorlar Golf Course
The Balor Theater, Ballybofey
Killybegs Harbour.
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ballybofey, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Catherine...
1 review
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I have now had my second stay in River Finn Cottage. The first was 2 years ago.
It is a great holiday home in a beautiful setting.Marion and Sean are really friendly
and live close by if you require anything.The location is great for travelling around
Donegal, Tyrone and Londonderry. I have really enjoyed both visits to River Finn
Cottage and maybe, in the not to distant future, I might get to go back for a 3rd visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you Catherine for both the lovely review and for bringing your Family to stay for a second time, it's always such a pleasure seeing familiar faces return, I hope to see you again in the future, please keep in touch.
Kindest regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipC26...
1 review
“Terrific location and very peaceful.”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed for 3 nights over the Easter holiday weekend. Wow!! Perfectly located for touring the local sights and a dream to come back to in the evenings and relax in such peaceful surroundings. House was fresh, clean and so cosy on arrival and after we all settled in Marion dropped over to check everything was fine etc. Complete home from home, Sky T.V, Netflix , Wi-Fi etc. kept both of our kids very happy. Kitchen fully equipped and ample towels and toiletries even supplied. Marion was a great host and made us very welcome dear would highly recommend for your base if touring Donegal. Thanks Marion.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank you so much for the kind review, I'm so happy you enjoyed the Cottage and found it peaceful and relaxing, it's hard to beat the morning and evening bird song, I look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geumtrifl...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Cottage in a Quiet Location”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We loved staying in this cottage for a week in March. The cottage is warm, well furnished and very comfortable. The kitchen is a dream to cook in, as it has everything we need and more, this is one of the best equipped kitchens we have ever had in a vacation rental. The cottage has a well thought out floor plan and every modern convenience is provided. The bed was extremely comfortable and thus, we slept very well. The WiFi was very fast and very reliable, which is something that is important to us when we travel. The location is wonderful, as it is quiet, surrounded by trees and provides easy access to the roads to travel in Co. Donegal. Marion is a joy to deal with, as she is very communicative and has a relaxed approach. We cannot praise Co. Donegal enough, it is a stunning landscape and the people are absolute gems, they are so friendly and the service provided is unsurpassed. Be sure to drop into the Hatter Tea Room in nearby Stranorlar, where the service is great and the cappuccino is one of the best, and we drank plenty over our five weeks of travel in Ireland. We highly recommend a stay at River Finn Cottage, do not hesitate to book, as this cottage is outstanding.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, I'm delighted that you had such a great experience. We work hard to ensure our Guests have everything they need for an enjoyable stay and it makes it so worthwhile when we get such a great review, thank you again for staying with us and I hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Marion Noonan (River Finn Cottage).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Companion...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a lovely stay at River Finn cottage. Everything we could possibly have needed was provided. Marion and husband Sean were incredibly helpful and very welcoming. We will definitely visit again. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review and we very much look forward to your next visit.
Best regards
Marion & Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheekychu...
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for 5 days during the summer.. Marion the owner was friendly and called over midweek to check if we needed anything , the holiday home was down a private Lane and next-door Marion's own home . The house was fresh and clean with everything we needed . We travelled to donegal and letterkenny for sightseeing and shopping, there isn't much to see or do in the village but the house provides a great Base, the main attractions are not too far away in either direction .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thank you for the kind review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timmii81
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

When we arrived we got a worm welcome. Worm is a good word because the house was heated when we got there. Perfect location, just off the main street in the quiet area. Kids loved the bunk beds and we loved whole house. Marion, the owner of the property, is lovely lady and very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, I like to make sure the Cottage is warm and cosy on Guest arrival, nothing worse than waiting for a house to heat up. So glad you and the Children enjoyed your stay, I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Marion,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Such a spacious, clean and very inviting cottage to stay at. Beautifully decorated with ample space to sleep up to 7 people. Will most definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious it was
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you for the lovely review and I look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing