We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wild Rose Cottage

Wild Rose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wild Rose Cottage
Slieve League Cliffs - among the highest sea cliffs in Europe - 609 meters Assaranca waterfall near Ardara
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Wild Rose Cottage
Slieve League Cliffs - among the highest sea cliffs in Europe - 609 meters
Assaranca waterfall near Ardara
The fishing port of Killybegs
Maghera Beach
Double bedroom
Port
Spring in Brentar Woods
Donegal Castle - Built by the O'Donnell Cheiftain in the 15th centuary
The open log fireplace
McSwynes Castle
St Johns Point Lighthouse
St John's Point
The Kitchen
Relaxing with a  glass on the Patio
In the Cottage garden
Winter in Dunkineely
St John's Point and Bruckless Bay
Going for a walk at Murvagh
The second double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunkineely, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Gregg A
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Cottage”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Travelers (background):

Since 2007 my wife and I have visited Ireland 7 times staying at numerous cottages during our trips. During our 5 week vacation this year we selected the Wild Rose Cottage the week of 11 – 17 April 2015. Our party consisted of 3 females and 1 male. Ages were 30, 60, 61 & 64. Party origin: 2 – Oceanside, CA; 1 - Grand Forks, ND; and 1 - Rochester, NY (USA).

Cottage (Summary):

Of all my visits to Ireland, this is the first time I felt compelled to submit a review and share just how outstanding this cottage was. Simply stated, the cottage is ideally located for discovering Co Donegal as well as other nearby Counties. If your goal is to explore northwest Ireland, this is definitely the place to stay. It exceeded all of our needs.

Cottage (positive points):

1. The cottage was clean.
2. All the appliances worked.
3. Bedrooms were spacious.
4. Beds were comfortable with clean linen.
5. The fire place was excellent (we used it every night).
6. Flatware and silverware were clean and ready to use (unlike 2 sites this year where I had to wash everything before using it).
7. There was plenty of car parking.
8. The cottage was close to Dunkineely to allow for walks into town and back (especially important so everyone could have a pint or two without anyone having to drive).
9. Wi-Fi was available (we used it at night to research potential sites to visit the next day).
10. The information-binder was current.
11. The road by the cottage was not high-traffic so one was not awaken to vehicles rushing back and forth in the morning or at night (we were out site-seeing during the day).
12. There were numerous electronic devices/amenities, i.e. TV, VCR, etc. which were available for use but our interests were in enjoying Ireland, not wasting time doing something we could do any day back home.

Cottage (negative point):

1. Overly sensitive smoke detector (taken care of by owners).

The Owners:

Willie & Jennifer Mackey gave us a full tour of the cottage when we arrived pointing out all the features and how everything worked. They made us feel truly welcome and were available 24 x7 for our questions or needs (whether it was the problem with the overly sensitive smoke detector or obtaining more Wi-Fi data download due to my daughter forgetting to turn off her auto-sync on her i-pad and i-phone (data-killer)). They provided that extra touch that I haven’t found very often at cottages I’ve rented in the past.

Conclusion:

I most definitely recommend this cottage to others to rent (as long as they don’t interfere with when I want to rent it again).

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for a very detailed review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Con...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and comfortable cottage in beautiful Donegal”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in this cute, cozy and clean cottage! Not to mention, very affordable and in a great location. Thanks Jennifer and Willie for your hospitality. The cottage is equipped with every thing you would want during your stay, but is also very authentic and Irish, giving you a true experience. Great for families as well, plenty of room for kids to run around and even a swingset in back garden! Beautiful views especially at sunset. We will probably be back on our next trip to Donegal!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenri...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable irish treasure”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the wild rose cottage last week for a relaxing family holiday with the kids (2yo and 3mth old) and we had the most amazing holiday! Willie and Jennifer run this letting perfectly with everything you could ever need for young and old. With walking access to dunkineely town where the locals are really friendly we recommend trying out the local bars and baskins cafe. Both donegal town and killybegs are within a 15 minute drive with plenty to offer. But most of all willie and Jennifer made our stay memorable by making sure the kids had plenty of things to do...never met a more thoughtful couple. Thanks guys!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionnuala...
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, they've really thought of everything!!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

lovely reception of a roaring turf fire, tea and biscuits at the ready and a personal tour of the house. Attention to detail and understanding every possible need of every possible tenant is what impressed me the most during our stay at the cottage. Great activities and toys for the kids, provisions for children at every possible stage (including a funky toilet seat for an almost toilet trained toddler), great to have the free wifi and DVD selection. We'll not only be back again but we'll be recommending this cottage to everyone we know. The hosts were a lovely couple and made the stay a very pleasant one indeed. Thank you for your hospitality, see you again soon!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and genuine hospitality
Liked least: It was a little cool even with the fire and heating on, but it's an old house and it was February so absolutely not the fault of the owners.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wee slice of heaven”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage....warm , comfortable, convenient. Willie and Jennifer have thought of absolutely everything. Not many rentals have milk in the fridge and a packet of biscuits on the table to welcome us. They also had the cottage decorated for Halloween which made our trip that bit more special for our three young children! Highly recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the wild rose cottage for 3 nights, it was well equipped, Jennifer and William have thought of everything. The house was very clean, had everything you need, even free WiFi, they are a really friendly couple. We all enjoyed are stay. I would highly recommend this house as it is well situated in Donegal. Jennifer and William really make you feel welcome.I hope to stay there again soon, FIRST CLASS to stay. Gary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy W
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this property is just quite brilliant,”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Jennifer & Willie Mackey the property owners have just thought about everything for guests, we stayed for 4 very cosy nights at Wild Rose Cottage and it was perfect.
Jennifer & Willie are very hospitable and we enjoyed a great nights craic with them on our invitation.
We would highly recommend a stay at this old style Donegal cottage.-----just great!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing