We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay.”
Review of Atlantic Wave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantic Wave
Ranked #1 of 5 Carna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was on a working holiday in Ireland. We did not book anything in advance as this time we preferred to drive and see where we would like to stay. Mweenish Island looked gorgeous so we decided to discover it and found Atlantic Wave advertised on a sign on the side of the road so we followed its signs. As we drove through the hotel gates, it was very pretty with different plants, palm trees and seemed well looked after. Caitlin the owner was very welcoming, warm and friendly made us feel at home from the very start. On arrival we were offered coffee / tea and biscuits. The place had Wify internet that really made it easy for me to check on my work regularly every day. We were very lucky as we got a sea view room with nice views to the sea and sunset. I must say the room and the house were very clean and very well looked after. The bed was comfortable the room and bathroom had a good size and it had everything in there one should need, even a hairdryer. The breakfast was outstanding, it had everything an Irish breakfast should have, but from good quality ingredients. I am very picky about cleanliness everywhere, room, bathroom and kitchen (plates cutlery etc..) and I found all was immaculate. Caitlin really made our stay fantastic; she was like a friend rather than a hotel owner. We would like to thank her outstanding hospitality. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone and if I had the opportunity I would definitely return here again.

Room Tip: I think we stayed at the Island view (view to the sea and an island on it) This room very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katalin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

We spent a lovely night here recently in a very comfortable family room followed by a super Full Irish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We'd headed to the West side of Ireland to do a spot of drive-by B&B-ing. The area looked gobsmacking and the sign saying "Mweenish Island" looked too good to pass up. Having first tried another B&B which was full, the owners rang Atlantic View and we were told they had space. We were welcomed with a cup of tea, biscuits and a friendly chat. Our room had an beautiful ocean view on two sides and a very comfortable double bed (with a single in the same room we used as a giant clothes spreader-outerer. The shower power was strong and altogether I was happy with the room. Breakfast was excellent, at 9.30am I had cornflakes to start then a full Irish breakfast and then toast and marmalade - I did not feel hungry until about 2.30pm. The island surrounds are amazing, beautiful idylic beaches, rocky shores to clamber over. There's the most amazing array of wild flora and fauna and the sea's flora and fauna is just as varied and colourful. I could spend all day watching the swallows acrobatically swooping around. We were just going to stay a night but have already booked another, I can't see us leaving for a few more days though as there are more shores to explore, local mountains to climbs, and yummy breakfasts to be had.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaggydabbydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

A home from home, the accommodation was perfect, beautiful and clean. Caitlin was a fantastic host, she made me feel so welcome. The house has breathtaking views of the ocean and adjoining islands. Breakfast was delicious and set me up for the day of travelling I had ahead. I will surely return as soon as possible for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Galwaygirl1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Atlantic Wave has amazing views of the sea and is in the most wonderful unspoilt environment of Mweenish Island. Despite being very handy from Carna Mweenish Island feels remote and the B&B overlooks the wild Atlantic. On a sunny day it is like paradise. I hadthe
beach to myself the whole day. Caitlin is a lovely person too and will give you a warm Irish welcome and a good breakfast. My favourite place in the whole of Ireland. Lovely for peaceful walks and cycle rides by the sea with views of the mountains of Galway. I'd happily stay a fortnight just in that one place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DebTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed in a very spacious, well appointed bedroom with two double beds an En-suite bathroom. We were warmly welcomed on arrival with tea/coffee and homemade cake and had a great breakfast each morning which included homemade brown bread and scones and real coffee! The scrambled eggs are to be recommended and the Full Irish would feed you for the day. The house is in a secluded setting in a glorious windswept terrain with spectacular sea views. But what was most wonderful was the welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and we were introduced to extended family and friends whenever we met up in the local village, Carna. Excellent value for money.
We visited for Féile Joe Éiniú, the Joe Heaney Festival of traditional Sean Nós singing in Carna in May. It showcased the very best of Irish traditional music, song and dance. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ask the landlady for advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cabrinidebarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast is delicious. Mynish is located next to the ocean and the rooms provide a beautiful view. Michael and Caitlin are so pleasant and accomodating. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redlobstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Atlantic Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Wave

Address: Mweenish, Carna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carna
Price Range: $110 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DescriptionAtlantic Wave is a beautiful, comfortable house filled with paintings made by the owner. The B&B offers to its guests 4 comfortable rooms with sea view (2 on first floor and 2 on ground floor) and a private lounge with TV-DVD on the ground floor. Each bedroom has its own bathroom facilities. Breakfast is served in the spacious dining room and includes a large variety of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt and of course the traditional Irish breakfast. You can order other combinations.The most charming about Atlantic Wave is the fact that it is only 5 minutes walking distance from the beach and it is also not too far from Twelve Bens, in southern direction. In the surroundings, the city of Clifden, with its 2000 habitants, is considered the capital of Connemara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing