We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family atmosphere, friendly,”
Review of Tuar Beag

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spiddal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuar Beag
Ranked #6 of 14 Spiddal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed recently to attend a funeral, and Tuar Beag were great at accommodating our crew. My daughter enjoyed her french toast at breakfast, and the menu choice that was offered by ticking the box and leaving it on the front desk was great - definite come back to place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caprinescene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

Tuar Beag could hardly be outdone by the upscale entities that comprise Ireland's Blue Book: between the 150-year historic premises; its direct outlook on Galway Bay; tastefully appointed suits with couches and coffee-making facilities; and breakfasts featuring everything gourmet, be it poached eggs, organic yogurt, or smoked salmon.
And yet, not only is a stay in Tuar Beag a fraction of the cost of one in a Blue Book listed stately home or five star hotel, it is a family experience. Staying with Siobhan, Eamonn and their children, and meeting the extended family, allows you to truly engage with Ireland, not merely be a tourist.

Room Tip: It's worth taking a suite if you can, but having stayed here more than once, I can say that all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We visited Tuar Beag a decade ago and returned on our recent trip to Ireland. Siobhan is an excellent hostess with great knowledge of the area and a willingness to help guide her guests. She runs a well organized B&B with great breakfasts in a great location. The rooms are clean and we loved the spaciousness of our Aran Penthouse with the skylight that let the moon come into our room. She was kind enough to do a load of laundry for us which thrilled us at that stage of our holiday. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed in the Aran suite in July. The room, breakfast and view was lovely, and it was in close proximity to An Spidéal and to 2 nice beaches. The family were very welcoming, the kind daughter helped my friend out who had a problem with his bike, which we were very grateful for. I would recommend an Tuar Beag, and hopefully I will visit it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, nice views of the Aran islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tuar Beag in Spiddal! Warm, hospitable welcome...home-made buns and the lift to the pub was a nice touch!! Calming, natural surroundings overlooking Galway bay across to the Burren coastline. Clean, comfortable,cosy... what more d'ya want as we Irish say?!!! Thanks a million, Siobhan & Eammon :-)

Room Tip: The Penthouse is fab!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I had a previous wonderful experience in a b&b in Spiddal, when recoevring from a heart problem, but could i find it this time??!! Anyways, I thoght this was it !! and recommended Tuar Beag to my nephew's very capable wife Sarah...and it was wow! with everything right from our arrival. We were a family group of 7 from Ireland and Canada going down the west coast from Omagh into Kinsale. Cork and back up to Dublin.

The hosts were super though we saw relatively little of Eamonn, because we suspect that Siobann's super service at breakfast was in part due to her hubbie's activities in the kitchen!! And what a breakfast! The range of choice, the quality of ingredients, the cooking and presentation of the breakfast, the surroundings and ambience of the breakfast room, the true Irish hospitality, the comfort and disposition of the bedrooms and guests' sitting room, the unsung but beautiful view of Galway Bay from some of the windows, the proximity to Galway City, and the ferries to the Arran Islands, all have left indelible memories and satisfaction.

I lost my mobile phone though, but Eamonn,Siobhan and family diligently and repeatedly searched inside and outside the property, and finally it was found in the deepest recesses of a settee in the Guest Sitting Room, posted to me, and safely received. For this, I am extremely grateful and relieved, as you can imagine.

I will make particular mention of a suite of rooms that are an unusual feature in b&bs but very practical. Siobann suggested the wonderful arrangement whereby my brother and I could have separate rooms within the suite, and each could snore away to his heart's content.

I rate the experience 5*****+. Am I exaggerating ever so slightly? Try it yourself and see. :-)

Room Tip: Ask about the suite. Ask for the room with the best view of Galway Bay, though even Eamonn and Siobh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

From Eamonn’s friendly greeting, his doorstep history of Tuar Beag House, the Gaelic culture and the Roman influence on the road system and his warmest welcome to Siobhan’s great sense of humour, quick wit and expert skills at extracting the very last drop of coffee from a tired coffee machine, we loved it all. It was comfortable, charming and so welcoming.
Should we be so lucky as to be able to return to the Galway area, we would definitely want to return to Tuar Beag, our home away from home.
We had a truly delightful time there. It was easily one of the best and most accommodating B&BS we stayed at.
Thank you for your warm hospitality and delicious breakfasts and all of your kind services, particularly your impressive dive into our car to pull on the brakes so as to prevent it from rolling away. Yes, by far a more personalized service than any 5 star hotel could provide.
CdnBrauns

Room Tip: Best WiFi reception is downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spiddal hotels
1.1 km away
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spiddal
101 reviews
1 km away
Radharc Arainn B&B
Radharc Arainn B&B
#7 of 14 in Spiddal
28 reviews
0 km away
An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ard Eoinin Spiddal Bed and Breakfast
0 km away
No photo provided
4.3 km away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Spiddal
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuar Beag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuar Beag

Address: Eamonn and Siobhan Feeney, Spiddal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Spiddal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Spiddal
Price Range: $43 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing