We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality that is Absolutely Second to None”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cloghane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Brandon Hostel
Reviewed 13 April 2015

As hostels go, this is one of the very best in a small village right next to a charming thatched pub that does food and serves delicious craft ale from Kerry. Sited on the shore of a tidal creek opening into Brandon Bay and offering fine sea and mountain views, it’s quiet, reasonably priced, well furnished, warm and clean. The receptionist was welcoming and helpful, the beds, which were very comfortable, were already made up on our arrival and the shower was both hot and powerful. The kitchen is incredibly well stocked, both with utensils and free condiments, but what makes this hostel stand head and shoulders above the rest is Mary, the proprietor. A warm and very welcoming lady who takes a real interest in her guests, greeting each one individually, she allowed us to leave our car parked in the hostel car park for 3 days while we went wild camping in the Brandon Mountains and on our return, offered us a shower and insisted we had a cup of coffee before we went on our way. These small acts of kindness were so very appreciated after roughing it in the mountains! Thank you, Mary, for such a pleasant and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KernowPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Mount Brandon Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2015

just back from a lovely visit to this hostel - it was really lovely - staff were so nice and helpful and they couldnt have done enough for us - in a lovely location and so well managed- great to have an ensuite room and sea view gorgeous

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Family (7 of us) weekend stay with Mary & Micheál - just wonderful. Wonderful location, hospitality, facilities. Cooking facilities excellent, hot showers (which is a bit of a novelty in a hostel), clean and friendly. And as I said, the location - sitting out the back and looking at the Atlantic, having a glass of wine and bite to eat.
We'll be back.

Gerard & Jacqui

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 762gerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

A wonderful hostel at the beach. The hostel manager is taking care of his fellows in a very charming and helping way. His "meditation and energy"-sessions are a must, if someone is interested in.
Nice rooms, ideal for a group of friends, families, student classes or any group of people.
Perfect neighborhood with two Irish pubs. Good meals and great beers.
You can explore Kerry and Dingle county from this place or take a walk up to famous Mount Brandon, if the weather lets you do that.
Lots to do, even you experience the "nice" Irish weather.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

I think this is the best hostel I've stayed in in Ireland and there are some great ones here. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in in a hostel (and some homes), the views from the hostel were stunning with the sea and mountains, the breakfast was tasty and filling, Mary and Carsten were incredibly helpful and a delight to chat to and look out for George, the neighbours cat who loves getting attention from the guests when they go outside. The hostel was warm and hospitable, the kitchen was really well stocked and there is a pub both next door and a couple of doors down.

Overall it's a great place to stay. I'm already planning my next trip

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DublinBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

We wanted to get away from it all after Christmas and we couldn't have chosen better - as soon as we arrived the smell of turf fires and the call of the curlews as we got out of the car boded well. The hosts were welcoming, genuinely warm and helpful. The hostel itself is very well equipped and in a beautiful setting. We travelled with our 3 children - our first time staying in a hostel with them and we all loved it. We spent several enjoyable evenings in front of the fire in the great pub next door after walking every day on nearby beaches and woods surrounded by mountains - brilliant

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmel12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

We stayed at the Mount Brandon Hostel on September 17. This is the first time I have stayed in a hostel in about 28 years. We were six travelers hiking the Dingle Way and we booked two doubles and a twin. Although each room could have slept five or six, we had private rooms. The price per person was 22 Euros. We needed to make our own breakfast and clean our dishes, but breakfast items were provided and quite good. The shower was the best I had in Ireland - great pressure and hot. Make sure if you need towels that you let them know. I figured if sheets were provided that towels would be provided. That was not the case. We had to ask for towels. We loved the value and close proximity to the pub. All in all, we had a lovely stay at the Mount Brandon Hostel.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghane
11.2 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
779 reviews
11.9 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.8 km away
O'Connor's Guesthouse
O'Connor's Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Cloghane
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Dingle Gate Hostel
Dingle Gate Hostel
#7 of 23 in Dingle
55 reviews
6.5 km away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 7 in Castlegregory
421 reviews
6.7 km away
Beenoskee
Beenoskee
#3 of 7 in Castlegregory
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Brandon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Brandon Hostel

Address: Cloghane, Cloghane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Cloghane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cloghane
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing