We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad value”

Kane's Pub and Accomodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kane's Pub and Accomodation
Ranked #7 of 10 Athy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Although I rarely review I have travelled for work extensively in Ireland during the past 20 years. Our room was clean, however, the proprietor and her son appeared tense and unhappy in their work. The breakfast was appalling and probably the worst I have ever experienced. It consisted of low grade food swimming in warm low quality oil. Basic breakfast, including tea, was dropped on the table with no choices offered. There was no brown bread or preserves. Our host seemed taken aback when my travelling companion politely asked for coffee rather than the tea provided. We have never been rude as we understand the pressures of running a service based business, however, we found the hosts to be rude at arrival and breakfast. It was also mentioned shortly after breakfast that it would be preferred if we vacated our rooms ASAP as the B&B was busy. For the price we paid I am aware from colleagues that there is much better value and more pleasant experiences to be had in other B&Bs in Athy and therefore unfortunately I cannot recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms to front have road noise. Windows are dangerous for children. Certain rooms share a bathroom...
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seabreeze2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Kane's Pub and Accomodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2015

My husband and I stayed here before Athy triathlon in May. Our hostess Margaret couldn't do enough for us. She found a very safe spot for my bike, told us how to get to registration, recommended a restaurant and booked it for us. She was so welcoming and nothing was any trouble. The rooms were large spacious and clean. You couldn't get a closer spot to the start line. Margaret exemplifies irish hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redheadsturnheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

A comfortable stay at the Bed and Breakfast in Athy after a day of canoeing down the river with some friends. Margaret was helpful and gave us a very tasty breakfast in the morning! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

It's hard to find a B&B in Athy. This one is above a pub and offlicence store.
The lady is very friendly and the room and breakfast was good for a reasonel price.
Next door is also a pub where you often can hear live music.
It's a little bit difficult to park your car in front, but it can also at the back.
Me and my friend enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We were once there and we slept at the back and that was quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

This was the second time I have stayed at Kanes and have been extremely well looked after on both occasions. Margaret went out of her way to help with travel advice etc and breakfast was very tasty! The bar is also very cosy. An enjoyable stay once again!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

A lovely warm welcome awaited us on our recent stay in Kanes B&B. Margaret is a very obliging host and her premises is clean and well appointed. The B&B is in the middle of the town and although the night life was loud outside the insulated rooms meant we all slept undisturbed. The breakfast was ample and nothing was too much trouble for Margaret. Come here for a warm Irish welcome and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gerard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We recently booked this so we could attend the ploughing championships in stradbally! There was four of us, two couples( ages 27-30)Once we arrived at the b&b we were greeted with the most unwelcoming reception. We got shown to our rooms where the owner went from one room to the other watching us unpack.
The owner ordered us a taxi and we left, on the way home we booked with the same company however with traffic and mis commutation we couldn't find the taxi and got another lift home. On returning to the b&b the owner questioned and gave off to us for not getting the taxi back as if we were children! And told us to take our shoes off before going to our rooms. On website it said the b&b offered a lot more and also there was a lively&friendly bar... Well there was nothing lively and friendly about it. Nice bar next door called Clanceys very good service there.
We ordered breakfast the night before as requested however really wish we just had the extra half hour in bed... Breakfast was rotten and we weren't fussy eaters! No-one finished there's felt like owner put any old thing out just to be done with it!
Rooms clean enough but had to share bathrooms when it says on website rooms are ensuite!
It was €90 per couple and of that and the experience wish I had have saved my money and drove home!! Also b&b couldn't accept card for payments which involved hassle of looking for cash machine! We asked for a receipt and was told we couldn't get one for some reason.
There's a lot of positive reviews on this b&b but honestly can say that's not what we experienced sadly!

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athy
1.6 km away
Clanard Court Hotel
18.8 km away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
221 reviews
5.1 km away
Moate Lodge
Moate Lodge
#2 of 10 in Athy
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hawthorn B&B
Hawthorn B&B
#5 of 10 in Athy
23 reviews
0.9 km away
Aurora House Bed and Breakfast
6.9 km away
Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kane's Pub and Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kane's Pub and Accomodation

Address: 11 Leinster Street, Athy, Ireland (Formerly Kane's Bed and Breakfast)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Athy
Price Range: $52 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm and friendly atmosphere at Kane's Bed and Breakfast, Athy, Co. Kildare. We offer pleasant surroundings with comfortable en suite bedrooms. Overnight rates from 35 to 45 per person sharing. Prices include full Irish or continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kane's Pub And Accomodation Athy, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing