We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Comfortable Stay”

Kane's Pub and Accomodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kane's Pub and Accomodation
Ranked #7 of 10 Athy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Very nice place in the centre of Athy.
An interesting mixture of a B+B and a Pub with a Function room.
We travelled as a group for a weekend excursion and stayed here on the recommendation of a local.
The rooms were comfortable,and clean and the hosts are very welcoming and helpful.
Some great Pubs close by.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zooprune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Kane's Pub and Accomodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

A few friends meeting up in Athy and we stayed in Kanes. Our host was welcoming and efficient. The room was clean, warm and quiet with bathroom and shower en suite. The Breakfast was fine. It's in the centre of athy and handy for being out in the town. I would recommend of you are staying in Athy.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

This is an excellent B and B in the heart of Athy Co Kildare. We have just enjoyed a 3 night weekend break and found it made a great base to explore many parts of Ireland easily with the superb Irish roads. We were given a very warm welcome when we arrived and given good advice where to eat locally. ( found Bay Tree restaurant very good.) Our room was large and spotlessly clean as was the en suit. The bed was very comfortable and good quality double glazing cut out the outside noise so a good nights sleep was had by all. The full Irish breakfast was most enjoyable and served at a time that suited us. The bar downstairs was run by son Paul who always greeted us with a smile and poured the perfect pint of Guinness. The bar was cosy with a roaring log fire which made it hard to leave so more than a couple of pints were enjoyed. All in all we found everyone at Kanes made us feel very welcome as did the rest of Athy and Ireland

Stayed: September 2015
Thank garyhP3768RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Although I rarely review I have travelled for work extensively in Ireland during the past 20 years. Our room was clean, however, the proprietor and her son appeared tense and unhappy in their work. The breakfast was appalling and probably the worst I have ever experienced. It consisted of low grade food swimming in warm low quality oil. Basic breakfast, including tea, was dropped on the table with no choices offered. There was no brown bread or preserves. Our host seemed taken aback when my travelling companion politely asked for coffee rather than the tea provided. We have never been rude as we understand the pressures of running a service based business, however, we found the hosts to be rude at arrival and breakfast. It was also mentioned shortly after breakfast that it would be preferred if we vacated our rooms ASAP as the B&B was busy. For the price we paid I am aware from colleagues that there is much better value and more pleasant experiences to be had in other B&Bs in Athy and therefore unfortunately I cannot recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms to front have road noise. Windows are dangerous for children. Certain rooms share a bathroom...
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seabreeze2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

My husband and I stayed here before Athy triathlon in May. Our hostess Margaret couldn't do enough for us. She found a very safe spot for my bike, told us how to get to registration, recommended a restaurant and booked it for us. She was so welcoming and nothing was any trouble. The rooms were large spacious and clean. You couldn't get a closer spot to the start line. Margaret exemplifies irish hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redheadsturnheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

A comfortable stay at the Bed and Breakfast in Athy after a day of canoeing down the river with some friends. Margaret was helpful and gave us a very tasty breakfast in the morning! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

It's hard to find a B&B in Athy. This one is above a pub and offlicence store.
The lady is very friendly and the room and breakfast was good for a reasonel price.
Next door is also a pub where you often can hear live music.
It's a little bit difficult to park your car in front, but it can also at the back.
Me and my friend enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We were once there and we slept at the back and that was quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athy
1.6 km away
Clanard Court Hotel
18.8 km away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
221 reviews
5.1 km away
Moate Lodge
Moate Lodge
#2 of 10 in Athy
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hawthorn B&B
Hawthorn B&B
#5 of 10 in Athy
23 reviews
0.9 km away
Aurora House Bed and Breakfast
6.9 km away
Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kane's Pub and Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kane's Pub and Accomodation

Address: 11 Leinster Street, Athy, Ireland (Formerly Kane's Bed and Breakfast)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Athy
Price Range: $52 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm and friendly atmosphere at Kane's Bed and Breakfast, Athy, Co. Kildare. We offer pleasant surroundings with comfortable en suite bedrooms. Overnight rates from 35 to 45 per person sharing. Prices include full Irish or continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kane's Pub And Accomodation Athy, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing