We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$95
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
US$172
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lord Bagenal Inn(Leighlinbridge)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$83
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
20
1
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
1
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspottery classcoffee shopthe cottagesst mullinsthe riverbabyschoolcarmenpubchildrainandreawaterforddogwalkshostbarrow
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 23 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2017

We took a couple of days 'in the country' and found the perfect location. Rural, rustic and restful - Mt Brandon Cottages was the ideal place for a quiet break. The cottages are beautifully fitted out - warm, welcoming and cosy - hostess Andrea has a laudable environmental policy which makes for an even more rewarding experience - and Carmen in the Pottery School duly obliged with a few 'one on one' sessions with 'her good self'. Graiguenamanagh is a little bit of heaven nestled in the valley where the Barrow and The Black Water meet - but shhh don't tell anyone - We want it for ourselves cos we'll be back soon. Carl and Siobhan

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank carlcorcoranmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017

This is the fourth year in a row that we have stayed at Mount Brandon Cottages and we have probably stayed there 4 or 5 times before. We absolutely love the cottages and our little dog Maddie is even madder about the place then us, which is saying something. Andrea is the most helpful host you could possibly ask for and she has now become a family friend. The cottages are homely and comfortable, with everything you need. They are set in child and dog friendly gardens, with space enough for scooters and bikes to ride and space for badminton and other games to be played. The covered barbecue area means that you can have a barbecue even when on the odd :-) occasion there is a rainy day . Graiguenamangh is a traditional Irish village/small town with everything that you need from pharmacy, hairdresser, coffee shop, butchers, general store to several public houses. The River Barrow which runs through Graig has amazing walks, with stunning views and the bridge that you see in the picture (which divides Carlow on one side and Kilkenny on the other) is impressive. We love the walk to St Mullins and if you like a challenge than you could alway try walking up Brandon Hill to the cross, and the 165% views will take your breath away. Kilkenny is the loveliest city/town (I am not sure which) and so is Waterford (lots of shops). So lots of things to do and see and we never tire of revisiting it year after year. Have a lovely holiday, we recommend it highly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017

We chose Graiguenanamagh for its proximity to Kilkenny and other cities like Waterford and Wexford, and we were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful the area is and how much it had to offer. Travelling from Scotland with our five year old son, we spent a happy and relaxing week in Cottage No.1. The cottage itself was very comfortable and well appointed, with everything we needed to cook in a fair number of dinners, and relax sitting inside or outside in the evenings. The grounds and gardens are beautifully kept with an abundance of flowers and mature trees, and plenty of room for our son to run around with the owner Andrea's very friendly dog, Twig. The views from the cottage's back door sweeping down to the valley and the village were a marvellous morning treat. The cottages are a very easy 1km walk to the village where we could eat breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local cafes and pubs. Of note for eating in Graiguenamanagh is the Waterside, where we also hired bikes for a beautiful cycle along the river tow-path, the Druiske pub, that serves excellent fish and chips, and Boats cafe for lunch and good cofffee. There is also an excellent Chinese takeaway that delivers to the cottages. Graiguenamanagh itself is a charming village with swimming and canoe hire on the river, a well-stocked Supervalu supermarket, and some pretty little streets winding round the smaller, Druiske river, a good play park for younger children, and an excellent 'secret room' toy shop on the main street. For touring the local area, we particularly enjoyed the pretty villages of St Mullins and Inistioge, Woodstock Gardens and Jenkinstown Woods for child-friendly walks, Bennetsbridge for cream tea at the pottery and the exciting caves at Dunmore. Kilkenny and the castle is a good day out for all ages, and the Viking museums and activities at Waterford worth a look too. All in, we had a wonderful family holiday (with just one day of rain in the week!) and Andrea couldn't have made us more welcome at her lovely cottages.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

Lovely clean warm cottage, equally warm hospitality if needed, fantastic garden with great views. Rivers forests and mountains all on your doorstep.
This long weekend was the recharge and reconnect with nature that we needed.
Thanks carmen & andrea.
we'll be back!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Seven of us stayed in two cottages. The cottages were very neat and tidy and everything we needed was there. They are a short walk from the main town where there are pubs and restaurants. The place has a quaint feel about it and little touches like a coffee grinder on the wall with fresh coffee beans in it makes the place all the more appealing. The owners are extremely helpful and quick to respond to any queries. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews