We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage - and perfect host”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
Graiguenamanagh, Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Elsinki
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage - and perfect host”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I recently spend christmass with my parents and my 20 months son in Mount Brandon Cottages for a wedding we had in Graignamanagh on January 1st. I couldnt be happier with our stay there eventhough the storm those days made it really difficult to drive around. When we arrived it was raining so heavily that the host couldnt even see our car entering the property, but we didnt feel insecure at any stage there.
Andrea gave us a little tour around the house explaining how the heating was working and red the metter so there was no missunderstanding when leaving the property with the amount we spend. Also left us some christmass cookies -which were lovely- and some help with directions to the supermarket.
The cottage was clean and tidy, the kitchen had all we need, beds very confortable and lend us a cot for the baby and a high chair, she warned us before travelling that we had to bring the bedding for the cot so it was all perfect.
eventhough the weather didnt really help with our stay, the views from the windows were amazing, and the surrouding outstanding. Little walk to the village and my son enjoyed the walks around to see the animals rain or not rain he prefered to be outside.
Andrea told us about the problem she was having with the WIFi so there was no connection during our whole stay which was very inconvinient baring in mind that roaming is very expensive and those special dates were important to be in contact with the rest of the family. Andrea did her best and lend us a MIFi for an hour everyday so we could use internet and talk with family, that was very much appreciate it, knowing that it wasnt her fault.
When leaving we tried to do everything on the cleaning list. We supossed she has had bad experience with other clients when leaving the property dirty and bad state cause the list was huge, and some things you dont expect to do when on holidays. If you try and be carefull everyday, dont get floor and kitchen very dirty its not hard to do, but bare in mind that you need sometime to do that before 10am.
I wouldnt doubt to go there again when visiting friends in Graignamanagh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Hi Elsa!
Thank you kindly for your frank and honest review, it was very much appreciated! We are delighted that you and your family had a pleasant stay at Mount Brandon Cottages and are happy to report that our WIFI problem has since been resolved. But only just. It took Vodafone over two weeks to get this issue sorted, which was extremely frustrating, seen that the issue arose over Christmas and New Year.
Our present French guests are extremely happy to not be reliant on the WIFI dongle any more. :-)
And you are of course absolutely right: we had some really bad experiences in the past, which is why we introduced our "to-do-list before you leave". Thank you kindly for treating the cottage like your home and leaving it as tidy as you did.
We would love to have you back again and hopefully next time you come, Graiguenamanagh will be basking in sunshine and not experiencing the worst floods since records began.
Best wishes to you, your son and parents.
Take care,
Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall W
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottages in Great Location”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottages are in a great location overlooking Graiguenamanagh with views over extensive grounds and Mount Brandon (Co Kilkenny) in the distance. The Wenner family are excellent hosts, taking good care of their guests. They have the added bonus of an onsoite pottery school. Carmen is a greta teacher! Graiguenamanagh is an attractive riverside village - a good location for water sports and walking

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kafem1957
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mount Brandon Cottages”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My family stayed in two cottages at Mount Brandon recently ... and they were excellent. Very clean, comfortable and in a lovely location. They suited our needs perfectly. Andrea and Carmen couldn't have done more for us. We even had fresh eggs for brekky supplied ... as well as some lovely choccie treats for the kids. You do need to have a car though to get around to see the countryside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roddy66
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Our favorite place during 10 day stay”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our recent trip to Ireland included a stay over the Easter holiday, so we wanted to homebase and be able to relax, do laundry and enjoy some privacy from our teens. We stayed in cottage 2, which was a completely setup 3 br house with laundry. It was a great configuration for us and allowed us to relax. I really enjoyed the "country" location which turned out to be a great homebase for day trips to Kilkenny, Waterford and Wexford. Our hostess Andrea made sure we were comfortable and even gave us some eggs from her chickens and candy bars for the kids. The local village is a short ride away and very interesting, and has a lovely Abbey dating from 1204, a full grocery, pubs, etc. We loved it and would certainly stay again. I highly recommend this place, thanks again Ms. Andrea!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne_Larr...
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, perfect location!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed 5 nights at the Mount Brandon Cottages in September, and we really loved this home-away-from-home. The cottage was perfectly clean, with everything we needed, and the setting was absolutely beautiful. Graigue was an easy 5-minute drive away, and the Mount Brandon location gave us an ideal place to stay to explore the entire Kilkenny area. Andrea was a wonderful host and made sure we were comfortable and well taken care of - she even brought us fresh eggs and homemade scones! We recommend this property 100% and look forward to returning on a future trip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susi d
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodation in perfect location”
Reviewed January 4, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

My husban and I stayed at no1 Mount Brandon Cottages from 27th December 2011 until 2nd January 2012. We travelled from Wales on Irish Ferries, and then drove to the cottages arriving at 8pm. We had no problem finding the place even though it was a dark wet winters night, as Andrea had sent us detailed directions. She met us at the property, showed us around, and called back the next day to check if we needed anything. The house was far bigger than we expected, with two double bedrooms and a single bedroom. It has electric storage heaters which were on, and the house also has a log fired rayburn in the living room, so it was lovely and warm and cosy. It was immaculately clean and the kitchen had every kitchen utensil and appliance known to man. The bedding was spotless and the bed was very comfortable indeed.The cottages are just half a mile from the village and overlook the valley and the canal and river below. Ideal for a walk to the local shops and pubs or stroll along the river. We also went walking up Mount Brandon itself. Ideal for couples or families who would love the dogs, cats, sheep and chickens. Disabled visitors would also be fine as there was a bathroom and single bedroom downstairs. I would also recommend this to anyone who wishes to visit Kilkenny or Carlow and is looking for somewhere relaxing to stay. Both those towns were about twenty minutes away. We would certainly stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable bed
Liked least: didnt want to get up in morning as bed too comfortable !
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivbe01
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ever again”
Reviewed August 12, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We have spent a week of our Summer holiday in Andreas cottage. We really liked it!! There was a lot to see and do for the kids, and andrea was very kind and helpfull. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing