We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“New Year”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just stayed in the hotel for New Years with all our family, we had a comfortable and plesant stay at the hotel, rooms were clean and spacious and staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient... my only complaint would be the size of the bar it's very small for the size of the hotel but all in all we had a brilliant 2 night stay and would definitley recommend to anybody... also used the Body & Soul Treatment rooms and had a very relaxing and enjoyable treatment.....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Joanne G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay over New Years in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

I was glad to read that you took some time to sample one of the many excellent, relaxing treatments on offer at very keen prices by Rachel and her Team in Body & Soul.

Joanne G, I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    194
    84
    50
    29
See reviews for
223
152
16
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
dublin irealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed on new years eve and new years day and we had the best time ever.staff was very friendly and so nice.we received hats and blowers for when 12ovlock came around.kids got party bags with dinner with colouring books and crayons.food court next door great for children with great selection.if I had to say there was a bad point it would be the bar is to small and there was no proper lobby,but staff dealt with the huge volume of people very well.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Ryaner,

Thank you for taking the time to review your New Years Stay in our hotel.

We, as a team also enjoyed the excellent athmosphere over this time and we look forward to doing it all again next New Years!!

Ryaner, I hope to welcome you back for the 2013 celebrations if not sooner!

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Family event lead to a last minute booking for one night only.I had a double room with my wife and my adult children had a twin.I had passed the hotel many times on the motorway which passes right by it.The rooms ,staff and breakfast were all very good.As there was a Christmas Party there that night all guests not part of that group were roomed on the top floor to avoid any noise.All of us had a really good nights sleep and enjoyed a hearty breakfast before continuing our journey.The food court next door had a good variety of outlets.I would strongly recommend the Maldron.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Conirish,

I thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and our Hearty breakfast offering.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed here with my daughter on a cheap deal. The staff were really nice and the room was very comfortable. The foodhall beside it has a great selection of cheap places to eat. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneC283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear ReneC283,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay whilst at Maldorn Hotel Portlaoise and that you availed of one of our many excellent special offers deals which are available all year.

ReneC283, I hope you will retun to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise for another stay at some point.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I really loved this hotel the locantion was excellent and also it was nice to see a few restaurants there after my long journey. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again. But I booked a double room and was in one with a double bed and a single bed. I thought this was strange.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Travel Bug 062,

Thank you for your lovely review about our hotel.

All of our rooms are very spacious and for that reason were designed to sleep one to four people. While some rooms have a double and single bed, we also have several with double and two singles to conveniently sleep a family.

Travel Bug 062, I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

good large spacious room very clean
all staff very pleasent
Breakfast was only ok fruit and yogurt and good choice of bread Hot breakfast was not very warm and was fairly tastless in my opinion it seemed to be cooked some time and dried up

Dinner in resteraunt is not fine dining but very good food and service

We got very good deal with bottle of wine and dinner

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Bernadette31,

Thank your for taking the time to review your stay in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

I was happy to read that you had availed of our excellent Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package with a Complimentary bottle of wine which really is great value.

I was saddened to read that you were disappointed with our breakfast as we always strive to push standards of perfection across all departments in our hotel, particularly with the quality of our food. I appreicate you taking the time to review this expereince as it is only through our guests taking the time to offer their feedback that we can grow and improve on our service.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed with a friend at the Maldron in Portlaoise and was really happy with this hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. All we spoke to had a friendly smile and an offer of help. We ate in the resturant and the food was really good, tasty and with plenty to fill you up at any meal. The pool is beautifully clean and warm. I will be returning to the hotel as I think it will make an ideal base to explore not just Laoise but all the surrounding counties.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Nora K,

Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

I am so happy to read that you had a lovely pleasant stay. Indeed the hotel is centrally located in the heartlands of Laois and is ideal when travelling to visit scenic areas of any other county around us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise some day.

Kind regards
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
3.4 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.3 km away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
2.2 km away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
10.0 km away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
12.5 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing