We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive don't bother” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingfisher Restaurant - CLOSED

Kingfisher Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Went here had tandoori chicken and veg side curry with a small bottle of Kingfisher beer and the bill was for 28.49 euro's!!!! It wasn't even very nice no wonder the place was empty even though it was happy hour!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rock2Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Co Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Avoid this awful restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Went here for Valentines day, upon booking it in advance we were not advised that it was a set menu, no choice of wine that was even set, I offered to pay extra for a descent wine and this was not allowed, I will never darken their door again, owner is extremely rude and obnoxious, I cannot understand how this establishment has won awards and almost everyone I have spoken to in Portlaoise is of the same opinion. Awful food at ridiculous price

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Adeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasteless food, dirty bathrooms and a complementary back ache”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

What a disgrace is the Kingfisher. The food, terrible, the bathroom was worse than a rail station toilet. It had no heater, and it's December, for crying out loud, the urinals, dirty, sinks, dirty, win mould and pieces of hair. WC, both of them with marks of old defecation, looks like a brake mark from a car test made by Jeremy Clarkson.

The cleaning log sheet at the bathroom was from July and we are now in December! See pictures

And the worse of all... The fixed seats at the walls were so uncomfortable and I am now half paralyzed, with a muscle spasm, I fell dizzy and the pain is unbearable. I I seriously thinking taking legal action agains the restaurant for damaging my back.

The service was good, no complains there. You can't blame the staff for what is clearly the management's fault.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juanchoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Our most recent visit to Kingfisher was an excellent experience. It started with the courteous staff, greeting us and showing us to our table. Once settled in with a pre-dinner drink, we checked out the new menu - the staff were well versed in all the new dishes and had no problem answering our queries. The menu still has the usual favourites and some new 5* dishes - freshly prepared and full of fresh ingredients.
We shared a Tandoori Iftaq to start - the lamb cutlet needs a special mention..it was mouth-watering. We also tried a new dish, the name escapes me, which was a fresh tomato stuffed with mashed fish and minced prawn - very unusual and extrememly tasty.
For mains, I had chicken masala which on previous occasions was quite spicy (which i like) but on this visit, it was still spicy but yet seemed more full of flavour.
The staff were very attentive and yet not intrusive.
The Kingfisher is a special experience as the restaurant has a fabulous dining room with great atmosphere and fab sound system playing chill-out music.
We have eaten in numerous ethnic restaurants around the world and would definitely put Kingfisher among the best. It ticks all the boxes for a great night out.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Welltravel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly a feast for the tastebuds...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Have been coming here regularly on and off for 2 years bit since the menu revision, this eatery experience has shot up in my estimates. The starters are exquisite, main meals are a delight and desserts are just what is needed to round off a perfect meal. The staff are most attentive and make you feel as special as the most important royalty.
In essence, quite an unmissable experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wakachaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfisher Restaurant also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing