We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here with friends on the 31/3/12. On arrival, we were very impressed. The staff at reception were a delight to deal with. The rooms were large enough and we had a great view of the mountains. The beds were so very comfortable, and very large I might add.
Sligo town was only 5 minutes away, and the eating places there were great. Something for everyone.
The food in the hotel was very good, and the breakfasts big enough to set you up for the day.
Overall this hotel and the staff in particular gets my vote.

Room Tip: Do not get a ground floor room facing the front of the building. This is where smokers go at night w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rognirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Sligo, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about the experience you had with Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo.
We are glad to hear that you found the service pleasant and you appreciated various facilities at our hotel.
We want to make sure that you will have best and positive experience and we hope to see you soon again at our Hotel.
Agne on behalf of management at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    516
    226
    105
    43
See reviews for
337
682
52
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

we enjoyed our stay at the radisson just some minor complaints breakfast for instance bacon and sausages were tasteless no flavour whatsoever on them none of my favourite white pudding and our room was not cleaned until five o clock on saturday evening mini bar prices in bedroom were rediculous imagine paying eight euro for a small bottle of white or red wine what planet are those people on who set those prices apart from all those little compl;aints we enjoyed our stay ust one other point every curtain in the dining room was torn very poor looking

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here on the 24th of March 2012. I phoned reception at 3:10am as the music was so loud we could not sleep and I was told very promptly there was nothing they could do about it!

Worse than this was the fact that we found diphene painkillers lying on the floor under the dressing table along with a lump of blond hair which was definitely not mine. We also found a box of 500mg paracetamol behind the bed which were lying there a long time along with a condom wrapper!! When was this room last cleaned? What if a small child had ingested these painkillers?
I told the receptionist the following morning at check-out and she said "sorry". Very disappointing experience!!! Note: I removed the medication from the room and gave them to the receptionist. Room 257.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Nice hotel situated about 5-10 minutes from Sligo town centre.....easy enough to find as well.....just follow the signs to Rosses point which is well signposted as you enter Sligo and the hotel is located on your right hand side about 2 miles from the town centre in Ballincar on the way to Rosses point

Friendly check in staff and seamless check in process and we were in our room in no time

The room we got was big compared to some of the other hotels we have stayed in Ireland.The bed was cosy and comfortable and the room had a safe , a well equipped mini-bar and complimentary Wifi access.

The buffet breakfast was good with a good collection of hot and cold food and vegetarian options.

On the whole a nice place to stay in and a good base to explore Sligo from.Our only gripe would be that it was not the cleanest hotel we had stayed in.The bath tub still had hairs in in from the people who had stayed before and the general feeling we had when we left was it could do with a spring clean!

If I was visiting Sligo again I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Sligo, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the experience you had at Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa in Sligo.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stay at Radisson Blu Hotel. We are working on the daily basis trying to improve the quality of the hotel and as you have noticed we do have nice and spacious rooms, we have friendly and expeirenced staff as well as great food of the top quality.

The housekeeping staff are very well monitored and we are trying to make sure that the rooms are always clean and tidy after every guest. Nevertheless I appreciate your feedback and will look into the issue to avoid any kind of dissatisfaction again.

We are trying to deliver best service and make sure that you have very positive experience, so we hope to see you soon at our hotel.

Agne from Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have stayed here on a few occasions and have always enjoyed my visits however I think the hotel needs a bit of TLC. The rooms need a bit of a make over as they were like this a few years back when I first stayed here, the restaurant is the same as we were sitting beside a pair of curtains that were torn and looked as if they had seen their day. The staff were helpful as always and I will stay here again as I enjoy the location but please let me go wow next time I walk into my room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front on a high floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishrambler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Sligo, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about the experience you had with Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo.

Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are trying to look after the hotel and create a nice and cosy atmosphere for our customers. The hotel is only biuld in 2004 and we are re-decorating the rooms at the moment. Not all of them have been done yet but we are working on it at this stage.

We want to make sure that you will have best and positive experience and we hope to see you soon again at our Hotel.

Agne at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary and we had our 22 month old with us. I had read the reviews prior to making the booking the hotel for Friday the 23rd of March for two nights but in hinsight alot of them were correct. We stayed in the 250's corridor and the music was so load until after two that it was like it was coming from next door. The fire alarm went off twice in the middle of the night and the bed was very incomfortable.We had our breakfast and decided to check out on the Saturday morning even though we had paid for two nights as we could not stand going through another sleepless night.We went to reception desk to check out and were not asked why we we were checking out or how our stay was so wew loaded up out luggage and drove two hours home.

Room Tip: Try and keep away from the the being over the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finbarr c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Sligo, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about the experience you had with Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo.

I am sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience at our hotel this time. I do appreciate your comments and feedback.

In regards to your comments about the noise, we did have big event on the 23rd of March – “White Boxing Night” and there were about 600 people attending the event. There was a band and DJ afterwards so there was a lot of entertainment. The room 250 is not directly above the Ball room, but it is on that side therefore you would have heard the music there. For future you can always advise the reservation’s that you are staying with the small baby and we would do our best to give you the quiet room when possible.

Unfortunately we did have some incidents during this event on the 23rd of March – the young guy started playing around the hotel and broke 3 glasses of the fire alarm so the fire alarm went off twice and made huge noise in the middle of the night. We were aware of the incident and receptionists kept apologising to all of our guests, they did make some reductions on the room charge. I am disappointed to hear that you did not receive any help. I would suggested always explain your concerns and give feedback to receptionists when checking out – good or bad – it is much appreciated. When we do get feedback, we would always try to help our customers and make sure that you’ll have a pleasant stay.

We want to make sure that you will have best and positive experience and we hope to see you soon again at our Hotel.

Agne at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just back from a 2 night St Patricks weekend break.

Room 251 has a view of a roof about 3 foot from our window and I'm not joking. My wife had to clean make up of the dressing table from the previous guest and the bathroom taps looked like it was cleaned with a dirty cloth,

Beds are a good size, 2 single beds pushed together but no complaints. Very quiet, can't hear nothing from next door.

We ate in the bar on the 2 nights we were there and I must say the food and service was excellent.

Overall a nice hotel but cleaning needs to looked at and not just the rooms

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishlad66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Sligo, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about the experience you had with Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo.

I am disappointed to hear you did not have a best experience at our hotel this time. I do appreciate your comments and feedback.

Regarding the rooms and view - we do have rooms with different view. some of them would be really gorgeous - the view to the Mountains and Sea, some of them would not have the best view and rooms could be looking at the back. You can always request a room with nice view when making reservation. we can never guarantee it, but we always put the request through. When you are staying on busy weekends such as St.Patrick's weekend, the hotel would be fully booked and therefore it is simply impossible to give room with the nice view to everybody, but we're always trying to do our best.

I am delighted to hear that you had a good night's sleep and you enjoyed the service at our hotel. We do have well-trained staff who always serve our customers to the highest standards.

The food at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is of a very high quality and our Restaurant has received the AA Rosette award in 2011. Therefore we are pleased that you enjoyed it.

We want to make sure that you will have best and positive experience and we hope to see you soon again at our Hotel.

Agne at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincar
3.4 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
5.3 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
3.4 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
3.7 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.3 km away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road | Sligo, Ballincar, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Ballincar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the wild and beautiful countryside of Rosses Point, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in Sligo is an easy 5 minutes drive to Sligo's city centre, business travelers will find Finisklin Business Park just minutes away and the leisure guest will enjoy a round of golf at the renowned County Sligo Golf Club or a trip to the beach at Rosses Point village only 2km's from the hotel. Sligo is a thriving city boasting wonderful shopping, enviable outdoor activities - surfing, golfing, angling to mention a few, and impressive historic and cultural attractions, not to forget a lively cafe and pub culture for an enjoyable night out. This superior 4* hotel boasts 132 luxury bedrooms, a fully equipped gym and leisure centre with an 18-meter indoor heated pool, children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Solas Spa and Wellness Centre offers the ultimate relaxation experience, indulge in one of the wonderful Elemis treatments, or unwind in the Thermal suite and relaxation room. The hotel has 132 stylishly furbished deluxe guest rooms including three stunning Executive suites, seven Junior suites, and 11 spacious Business Class rooms. We also offer six rooms designed specifically for guests with disabilities. Business amenities at this 4-star property include a business center, 7 meeting rooms, and the Benbulben ballroom. Dining options at this spa hotel include Benwisken Bar & Classiwbawn restaurant. The staff can arrange wedding services, business services, and limo/town car service. Guest parking is complimentary. The property is a non smoking property. The 132 air-conditioned guestrooms at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo include minibars (stocked upon request) and laptop safes. Televisions are equipped with cable channels and omplimentary TV Internet access. Rooms have dial-up Internet access and WI-Fi. Bathrooms offer handheld showerheads, makeup/shaving mirrors, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Sligo
Radisson Rosses Point
Radisson Blu Hotel Sligo
Radisson Sligo
Sligo Radisson
Radisson Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing