We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight getaway”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice overnight getaway”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I enjoyed my Mother's Day overnight break at the Glenview Hotel very much; I was looking for a chance to rest and recharge in quiet surroundings, and got exactly that. The room was lovely and warm upon arrival, with lots of hot water for my bath. Room service dinner of seabass was served promptly and was delicious. The room was wonderfully quiet, and I got a great night's sleep on a very comfortable bed. In the morning, breakfast arrived on time, and I found the coffee to be excellent.
After checking out, I met my father for lunch in the carvery, where the food was very fresh and beautifully prepared. The carvery staff were helpful and obliging, even offering to carry our trays to the table for us.
A very positive experience all in all. My only quibble would be that the check-in and check-out process took longer than it should have, as there was only one staff member on the desk on a busy holiday weekend. However, I would have no hesitation in returning to the Glenview next time I needed a little R&R.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    303
    163
    48
    37
See reviews for
329
381
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I would highly recommend the woodlands resturant in the glenview hotel .The food was excellent, we had a set lunch menu ,The food was cooked to perfection ,I had wicklow lamb and it melted in my mouth the flavours were well blended .my husband had roast beef and he felt the same .as we had a starter as well when it came to desert we looked for something light but went instead for ice cream .The resturant over looks the gardens and wicklow hills .It is a beautiful spot to sit and relax and just enjoy .If you are in this part ,take the time to visit ,you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: rooms to the front have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoinette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We use this hotel a lot for some rest and relaxation but have found that it has taken a turn for the worse when it comes to the choices for your inclusive dinner if you opt for say 2 nights B&B and one dinner, when you look at the menu almost everything has a supplement added if you want it which defeats the purpose !!! Its kinda cheeky really people your food menu should be designed that you dont have to cash out more than you already have to stay in this hotel. I understand cashing out extra for a fillet but you have to dole out for almost everything on the menu except for perhaps the vegetarian option.

Last year the hotel had a better menu if you decided to have your meal in the bar, order 2 main courses and get a pint/glass of wine free and it wasnt so heavily supplemented. Might be an idea to bring this back in. Because of this we have opted to go elsewhere for a 2 night break where we know we wont have to cash out more on top of the supposed "included" dinner in our package. Sorry Glenview but you need to step up to the plate excuse the pun.

Also the leisure centre after 2.30pm - good luck for some peace and relaxation - the place becomes JAMMED with kids and their Mum's so you have to go to the leisure centre well before 2 to have any sort of rest and relaxation time, its a pity because the water suite is so nice. Dont know how the hotel would get around this as it is a source of income for them but its not condusive to a relaxating environment for the hotel patrons. As for the gym, it stinks of stale sweat and Im almost sure that is emminating from the carpet - the gym needs a good top to toe. Im not a picky patron, its just that my money is hard hard earned and I wont be spending it anymore in the Glenview, there are plenty more hotels out there that offer so much more for the same money.

Pity such a nice hotel is not so nice anymore :-/

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunLover1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel.

I am truly shocked and disappointed by your comments . We are a family friendly hotel with a fantastic, professional team that take a personal pride in the hotel and it's guests experiences.

I would be most grateful if you would contact me on the details below to discuss your experience further.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Tel: 01 2873399
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the royal county
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed in the Glenwiew last weekend, while the check in was quick and smooth I had to ask questions about the leisure center opening times, guests use etc, the room was compact but it had a wonderful view and was very neat and clean,the food both dinner and breakfast was first class, the staff in the restaurants and bar were exceptional, friendly and helpful. we used the leisure facilities the following morning we had a swim and a steam/sauna, The pool area, changing rooms were spotless and the leisure center staff were really helpful and friendly.
We only found out at ckeck out that we could have had a back massage for €15. Overall a lovely hotel in a great location with great staff

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the glen and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navanman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had a really enjoyable stay at the Glenview Hotel last weekend. The hotel was fully booked out - we got the last room.
Even though the hotel was running at full capacity, the staff were still so friendly and helpful. We stayed at the Glenview many times in previous years and the standards are consistently very high. We had room service on one evening, as the kids wanted to enjoy the lovely suite we had, with a separate dining room. The next day we had dinner in the restaurant and food, on both occasions was excellent, along with very attentive service. My kids enjoyed the gardens and the pool. Glenview Hotel has the best of both worlds, it is based in the countryside but is only a few minutes drive from Dublin City. Still top of our list for a family break. Lou K.

Room Tip: For a real family treat - ask for the Penthouse - we stayed in room 300. Absolutely huge - like an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have been to the Glenview four times - once for a wedding and three times as hotel guests. We found the service from the reception to the waiting staff to be extremely warm.
Rooms are very spacious indeed.
We would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwtihkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

From the moment my daughter and I entered the Glenview, we were made to feel so welcome by the friendly and efficient staff - each and every one of them. Our room was spacious and beautiful, with fantastic views. Our meal was delicious. An added bonus was discovering that the back massage I booked cost only 15e, there was a special offer on that week. Excellent massage too, by the way! Overall, a most enjoyable break and I do hope to return!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
6.4 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,986 reviews
5.7 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
495 reviews
6.9 km away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
993 reviews
5.3 km away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
434 reviews
5.9 km away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Property: Glenview Hotel
Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing