We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view, the breakfast, the hostess, the location!”
Review of Derrymore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glendalough Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Derrymore House
Reviewed 26 July 2017

What a fantastic way to start our Irish vacation! A large, lovely room with a view of Glendalough Lake, a friendly and charming hostess, exquisite grounds, and a comprehensive breakfast in a dining room full of art books...we could not have imagined a better place to stay our first night. Wish we had a longer stay there!
Derrymore House is right down the road from Glendalough Abbey, with its fine Norman tower and lovely ruins. Just a bit farther and you come to a restaurant with its own lovely decor and fine dining. It doesn't get better!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank artistmother320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017

This B&B is very nice. I made a mistake in my scheduling and when I arrived I was told my reservation was for the next week. Oops! But, we were treated great - we were given a room (we were the only ones there) and fed a wonderful breakfast. I can't say enough about their hospitality. Great location, great food, great room, great conversation.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank ForesterClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We have experienced an outstanding hiking holiday while staying in Derrymore House. Location is outstanding, overlooking Lower Lake. Room was really large and comfy. Hosts could not be nicer. Penny cooked great breakfasts and we used opportunity to order packed lunches. We were also given a lift to Glenmacnass Waterfall for a hike back to Glendalough.
For dinners there are two options. Glendalough hotel is a nice 10 mins. walk on boardwalk trail through monastic city, which is great experience, as all tourists are not there is evenings. Wicklow Heather restaurant has outstanding food and pick up/deliver home service free of charge. All in all - if you are hiker and nature lover, book Derrymore!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarWers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

The main advantage of the Derrymore House is the location - one can walk around the lake, up the mountain, in to town - and the area is so beautiful. The Wicklows were definitely a favorite on our trip to Ireland. The rooms were adequate, clean, and the outside swing had fantastic views. Breakfast was average but our hostess was kind to provide us with utensils and plates for an in-house dinner we bought in town to share with our traveling companions. WiFi was spotty at our end of the house. I would recommend this lodge for its' splendid location - but look carefully for the small sign by the gate when you first approach it. Gail

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed at Derrymore House for 9 days with four other friends. The location had been selected for us by our pilgrimage guide, Andrew Steed and we all found it to be above any expectations we may have had. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms spacious, clean and well- appointed. The rooms with a shared bath were perfectly suited for friends traveling together who want a bit of privacy. Penny, the hostess was so accommodating with any of our special dietary requests for breakfast (Her "Griddle Cakes" and homemade "Muffins" were my personal favorites!) as well for any variations in our morning departures. Finally, the location was superb! The setting is beautiful and features are designed to permit views of the mountain opposite and the lake below. The large property has its own maintained hillside walking trails which are perfect for solitary getaways. When you have walked those paths, you can take and easy and enjoyable stroll to the Glendalough Lower Lake. If you need a destination for your walk, the picturesque St. Kevin's Monastery ruins are within walking distance down the hill to the left. If you prefer to put your feet in the sand and water of the Upper Lake (You can swim there as well.), that is nearby (down the hill again) and to the right of the B&B. If you like hiking up a mountainside, trails around the Upper Lake can satisfy any desire you have for scenic overlooks as well as other sites associated with St. Kevin. I found Derrymore House to be a perfect location for day trips as well as providing the tranquility, beauty and connection with nature that I find so rejuvenating.

Room Tip: If WIFI is important, it seemed the wifi worked best in the family room. (I am unsure about the rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank WSL51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon through Ireland and the UK. Out of all the places we went Glendalough was definitely one of (if not the) most beautiful. Derrymore was within walking distance to the monastery ruins and the two gorgeous lakes. Definitely a perfect location with spacious rooms and a great view! Penny was so sweet and breakfast was delicious! We also really loved the pub in nearby Laragh.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I were traveling with our 22-year old daughter and her best friend. We stayed in the spacious family room and had great views of the lake. Best of all, we could walk everywhere - whether back up the road to the rightfully famous monastery ruins or down the road to the trail up into the beautiful valley and onward the amazing views above it. Also, there was a welcoming pub just down the road where we ate and watched the World Cup. The B&B itself was a bit quirky, and Penny was not as openly friendly as most other hosts we encountered on our 2 week holiday around Ireland. But for comfort and location, we would return for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank holmes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glendalough Village hotels
0 km away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
563 reviews
0 km away
Riversdale House
Riversdale House
#1 of 2 in Glendalough Village
186 reviews
0 km away
Glendalough International Youth Hostel
Glendalough International Youth ...
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrymore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrymore House

Address: Derrymore Lake Road, Glendalough Village RVY 44PO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glendalough Village
Price Range: $104 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Derrymore House Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing