We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 3- Glendalough

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough, County Wicklow

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bernadett...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A beautiful cottage in a gorgeous setting, and the owners could not have been more friendly and welcoming.

It was so peaceful and quiet and it was a pleasure to be away from the demands of technology - no mobile phones or wi-fi etc!

As the whole cottage was bare flooring, we did find it just a little chilly occasionally (even with the heating on!), but that was a small inconvenience for a wonderful week, and I'm sure that in warmer weather later in the year it would be an absolutely lovely place to stay. Yes, it may be a little basic, but we found that very much in keeping with the location, and everything we needed was ready to hand.

Keep an eye out on the fields across the road in the evening, as the wild deer come down to share them with the sheep!

All in all, a real pleasure to visit, and we definitely hope to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Perhaps a few more rugs on the floors might have made it a little cosier in the evenings?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic week in Glendalough ”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for 1 week in this property. It was fantastic, we had amazing views out of the living room. It was only short drive to glendalough and the rest of the Wicklow mountains for some amazing walks and bike rides. Laragh was close with a small shop and pub then roundwood had some brilliant pubs and food (byrne and woods did amazing food). Dublin was not too far both for the ferry or a day trip to the city. The owners who live next door were really helpful, arranging over the phone to leave us a key and then came round when we arrived to explain everything. The cottage had a good shower, the radiators soon warmed up the cottage, there was also a parking space for tge cottage, a big oven, washer/dryer, microwave, coffee machine, TV with a huge range of dvds...the list goes on. All hot water, radiators and the oven run off electric so please bring plenty of 2euro coins for the electric meter or it will be a dark and cold 1st night.

Would recommend this cottage to anybody staying in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruckshaw
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic especially in poor weather”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The situation of this cottage is splendid with good mountain views. However the weather for our holiday was poor .... windy, cold and often wet so that the lounge/kitchen area with its draughty exterior door was inadequately heated even with the radiator on its maximum setting. Locking the door on the inside does eliminate some but not all of the draughts.A small coffee table and carpet or rug on the laminated flooring in the lounge would have added a more cosy touch. The twin bedroom has no carpeting at all.. We never found the second bathroom mentioned in the TripAdvisor blurb and the references to The Hook, Fethard on Sea and the beaches seem to have been imported from some other property. or even country. Unfortunately the owners never received our email informing them of our arrival time as requested so that there was no-one to greet us and we did not know where to find the key Also unfortunately there is no mobile phone network signal at the cottage and we had to drive 3 miles back down to Laragh to be able to ring the owner and be told where the key was. The owner finally arrived at about 7 pm. Not an auspicious start after a long day's drive. Note that there is also no WfFi here and no broadband facility because of its fairly remote location but that did not concern us too much. The shower is lovely but there is no towel drying facility . Unsure whether we were allowed to use the garden to sit out on our "one fine day" we did ask and it is allowed. There is a large selection of DVDs available by the TV and some books in the double bedroom. Electricity for water and space heating is by a 2 Euro pre-pay meter so collect a few coins before you arrive . Car parking space is adequate for 1 car but u-turns on the driveway are a little tricky and the owner needs room to get his van in and out. Take care on exiting the drive as cyclists come down from Sally Gap at great speeds on the narrow road especially on Saturday and Sunday. If you have small children with you be aware that there are 2 dogs securely penned behind the owner's house. They do bark if disturbed but if approached they could frighten a child. We highly recommend the food at the Wicklow Heather Lodge and visits to Powerscourt and Glendalough (no charge for the site itself). Provisions are available at the well-stocked Convenience Store in Laragh.
If the weather had been more kind perhaps we would have come away with a better impression.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishWand...
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Glendalough in Laragh”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I found my week in Laragh at Glendalough to be inviting, breathtaking and felt as if I was home. Outstanding property, well furnished. The owners made me feel welcome and were respectful of my privacy but close enough that should I have needed anything they would be there to respond. Perfect location for touring the Wicklow Mountains and the Sally Pass. The sheep grazing across the road became my pals as I walked the road. Made a couple feline friends and was able to view an occasional visit from a local Fox. Great Pub and restaurant 5km down the road in Laragh. The Wicklow Heather restaurant was especially nice....try the Hereford Fillet Steak....Yum! All in all an amazing week, would not hesitate to rent again and suggest others looking to spend a week in Wicklow to strongly consider this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and beauty of the Sally Pass!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gias0u
Goch, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas S
Werl, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ruhige Lage
Liked least: Strombezahlung über den Zähler
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing