We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
51
61
26
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
61
26
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river irish pub large comfortable room glendalough martina tea
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 156 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2017

The first impression was heavy wood and thick carpets but somehow was suited to the area it is in. Our room was of generous proportions and overlooked the river. The bed very comfortable although I haven't seen beds with blankets for some years. We dined in the bar and on a warm evening the atmosphere was good. I had pulled pork, very tasty. We found on an evening walk a restaurant just up the road but we obviously having just eaten ,didn't go in, but it looked very popular. Breakfast had only one choice of egg. Wyfi is only in the public areas and there is comfortable area on the first floor to sit and surf.

Room Tip: Get a room river side
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staghunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Well what can I say ,the hotel is lovely the staff are brillant and the food is to die for.
Just back from a long weekend and will be back again,very relaxing and in a lovely part of the country,you will not be disappointed if you visit here

Room Tip: The rooms out the back look over the river which is quite nice
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davey115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2017

Visited for lunch on a cold January day. Had beef stew for lunch beside a roaring fire. Divine! Good service, great location. The lounge is lovely, feels like a genuinely old Irish pub rather than the the manufactured "old" Irish bar you get in the city. It's right beside Glendalough so highly recommend it for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017

We are regular visitors to Lynhams Hotel and this was supposed to be a wonderful surprise for my wife who had been unwell for a good time. We booked a 3 night stay to include New Years Eve & New Years day to relax and unwind. We managed to have 1 good nights stay and the next evening the nightmare began. We had children screaming and running around the corridor upstairs for hours and slamming doors without parental supervision and this went on for hours. Then a huge argument broke out at 4am in the morning with a couple next door arguing for hours banging and moving furniture. This continued all morning and the overall experience was more than traumatic. We packed up and left the hotel and cancelled our stay for New Years Night as it was an awful experience. Whilst the receptionist did her very best no manager or owner of the hotel talked with us. We paid our bill in full and left the hotel feeling utterly traumatised we will not be back every again!! Extremely badly managed in all areas lack of communication, sheer understanding of our experience and a fully paid bill for what was an awful experience when it should have been a celebratory time of the year.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsNurture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johned_L, Manager at Lynhams Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

Dear Mr Lowry

Firstly we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your recent stay with us. As you are a regular guest here and have stayed many times you also know that this is the first time anything like this has ever happened in our hotel. Unfortunately when we check in our guests for their first ever stay we have no idea what they are going to be like during their stay – the room where the incident occurred between the two guests at 4am was the first time they have ever stayed with us.

With regard to the children running up and down the corridor – when you contacted reception at approximately 6.30pm to let us know the receptionist on duty immediately contacted the adult who was supervising the children and explained that we had other guests and it wasn’t permitted for children to run around and make excess noise to which she apologised and promised to keep the noise level down. After a few minutes the children did start again to which the duty receptionist went upstairs twice and spoke to the two children involved who then ceased running up and down and making noise.

Our night porter on duty on New Year’s Eve once he became aware of the incident began to deal with the situation. It came to Reception’s attention after the gentleman in question had checked out and paid. On his return to try to gain access to the room the receptionist called the Garda at the request of the Manager on Duty.

It is very unfortunate that you felt you had to check out as your stay was tarnished by other guests with whom we had to involve the Garda.

We do apologise for this isolated incident which unfortunately happened on as you say what is supposed to be “a celebratory time of the year” and we do hope that you reconsider returning to us as we appreciate our valued customers very highly.

Kind regards


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Great little hotel in the heart of the Hills of Wicklow! The room was spacious and clean with a nice view over the nearby river. Reception was cheery and welcoming. The standout was the breakfast - highly recommended is the Full Irish Breakfast complete with Black and White Pudding! Morning service was cheerful, helpful and efficient!

Room Tip: Have a go on the massage chair!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Overman-Edmiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews