We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wde LOVE the Pinewood Lodge!”
Review of Pinewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinewood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2016

From the minute we walked in the door, we appreciated the friendliness and availability of Mary and Michael Cullen, and their daughter. They were happy to answer any questions we had, our room was very nice and clean, bathroom was lovely, and the breakfast was fabulous! We had never had potato waffles before - wonderful... I would highly recommend the Pinewood Lodge to anyone traveling to Glendalough!

Room Tip: I would suggest a room with your own bath, but that is simply my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2016

The lodge is very close to the Wicklow Way (100m) in a secluded wooded location. Rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. Mary and Michael are warm and welcoming hosts. The breakfast was a highlight (the pancakes with bacon and maple syrup a real treat). Living in Dublin we were delighted to find this gem. We'll definitely be back for further walking trips in the area. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmcdermottdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this place. The room was clean and quite spacious, but boring and without atmosphere. The bathroom was very nice though. Also the common areas were lacking the cosiness you would normally find in a B&B. The elderly women serving the breakfast was very polite and chatty, while the younger women receiving us was friendly but reserved/not interested. The internet worked poorly in the room, we had to sit in the common room.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We spent 2 nights here, and it was a very nice place. It has 6 rooms, and a common living room that guests can enjoy. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the family very friendly, and the breakfast was excellent, with several choices to select from.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank thetravellingeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Very convenient to Glendalough, and accessible by bus from Dublin. It was a very nice hike from the B&B to Glendalough via the Wicklow way. Our hosts were wonderful, room was very nice, and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EHL129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived by bus and had to pull our suitcases up a steep hill to reach the lodge, which had a gravel driveway as an additional challenge for wheeled suitcases. Our room was bright and spacious and the bathroom was spotless and full of natural light. The lack of fresh fruit at breakfast was a bit disappointing but, when asked, the hosts provided oranges and apples. The Wicklow Way hiking trail runs right behind the house and was great for hill walking. We were also able to use the trail to get to the National Park information centre to walk on their trails. Be forewarned-there are no bank machines, grocery stores, or other shops within walking distance. A hotel and cafe in Laraugh are within 10 minutes' walk down the steep hill to the road. The scenery in the National Park trails is excellent. Do the white trail if you are experienced. It takes about 4 hours. Hosts at the lodge are friendly and helpful and for a fee they will wash, dry, and fold your laundry-a great bonus for long-distance travellers!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We stayed here for two nights as we hiked the Wicklow Way. The room was comfortable, the breakfasts (nice Irish breakfasts!) were delicious, and we were well taken care of. The water in the shower didn’t get very hot though, a minor problem. Mary is a great hostess. Pinewood Lodge is located just a short distance from the Wicklow Way, so it is very convenient. There is a small but adequate grocery at the end of the lane which helps one to get prepared for a lunch on the path. Our time here was a pleasure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcrutchfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laragh
1.5 km away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
555 reviews
1 km away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
172 reviews
1.7 km away
Trooperstown Wood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
120.4 km away
Lynhams Hotel
Lynhams Hotel
#6 of 12 in Laragh
149 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Lodge

Address: Glendalough | Co Wicklow, Laragh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Price Range: $127 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star (Fáilte Ireland) accommodation on the Wicklow Way, in the heart of the Wicklow Mountains National Park. With over twenty years experience of welcoming people from far and wide into our home, we aim to provide our guests with a home away from home. Whether it be advice on places of interest in the local area, a restaurant reservation or suggestions on walks for all abilities in the locality, we do our utmost to see that every guest's needs are met. To ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay with us we offer the following: free wifi, ample free car parking, spacious guest lounge with log fire, refreshments with homemade scones and jams on arrival, an extensive breakfast menu (special dietary requirements catered for*) and tea/coffee making facilities, television and hairdryer in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pinewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Lodge Laragh, Ireland - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing