We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We visit the BrookLodge for a few days every year. It's in a beautiful location in the Wicklow mountains with some lovely walks locally. This year we stayed in a lovely quiet room which was kept very clean. A hearty breakfast sets you up for the walking ahead, and in the evenings in The Strawberry Tree restaurant the organic menu is superb. The staff are exceptional, courteous and quietly efficient without fuss. Monika, who served us in the lounge, and Lena, who served us at breakfast, are outstanding. The Village "concept" can seem a little pretentious, but we just find it amusing and have a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    241
    107
    56
    44
See reviews for
144
533
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Took my darling daughter to treat us both - she has stressful job with very long hours; I was just back from amazing trip to northern Norway with three flights on the final day, so we both needed a total chill-out. Our room was gorgeous, and the service from the friendly staff in the hotel and spa was excellent. And the food!!!!!! Breakfast was truly scrumptious - we especially loved the fruit smoothies - and our dinners in the hotel bar and Italian restaurant were super.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheretonextCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

To celebrate a family occasion 16 of us decided to book Brooklodge for a night away. From initial contact to arrange the booking to final check out the following morning, the efficiency, professionalism, friendless and warmth of the whole staff never failed to impress. With a group this large there were a few different priorities as to what would make the stay a success – brooklodge met and exceeded every one – the rooms were beautiful, the golf an enjoyable challenge, the spa a well deserved break, the meal in the strawberry tree – the cherry on the cake. We would recommend anyone to stay in brooklodge – for both young and old the hotel and staff cater for every need. We are already looking forward to the next occasion we can celebrate in this fantastic hidden gem.

Room Tip: Upgrading to a superior room gives the extra space needed for comfy childrens rollout beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I organised a night away for a group of friends. The rooms were lovely. The food & service in the Strawberry Tree restaurant was excellent. The service throughout was brilliant - I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just back from my friends wedding in Co. Wicklow. The church was in St Patrick and St Cillians RC church in Claravale and the drive to it was just stunning. The church itself was not one you would stumble upon but it is set in a valley right beside a river.We had nice weather so it felt really special. The reception was in Brook Lodge about a half hours drive from the church.
I had booked the hotel months ago and was delighted to have got accommodation. When we booked in yesterday we were smitten with the hotel and the appearance and the style as we like the lean to the old world look. Upon entering the grounds a lovely staff member was at the drive with a list of guests names and we were shown where to go which was a nice touch.
We checked in and we were informed that we were next door in Brook mews and not in the Hotel as i had thought we were booked into. Nor were we in the same building as the function room so i was a bit miffed about that.Brook Mews was warm, cosy, fresh, secure and inviting. the room was lovely with a really nice sized en-suite, lovely presentation and extremely clean as was the room and the overall appearance of the bedroom. I was disappointed that the bed was a small double bed and i have to admit that i could not sleep as i felt that if i turned over i would fall out!!needless to say Arthur Guinness helped my husband to rest easy and he did not have the same cliff hanging experience as i did!!!
The food at the wedding was superb,from beginning to end it was one lovely course after the next and the service was really professional.The function room is one of the nicer ones i have been in, just a great size and really nice decor with beautiful doors opening onto lovely well kept gardens.There is a really relaxing bar next door and the suites of furniture in there are very comfortable and it was nice to relax in there when the feet were sore from dancing.There was lovely simple candles lighting around the building and a lovely fire in the foyer which added to the ambiance.
Upon checking out of the hotel I mentioned my two issues to the girl at reception, (1) the fact that we were not in the same building as the function ( it was raining mad all night and even that it was a short trot it still meant getting some bit wet) and (2) the small bed.
So i learned that the beds in Brook Lodge and Brook Mews have the same standard sleigh double bed but that there are different sized beds in the Hotel itself which was across the car park.My friend who is heavily pregnant thankfully was upgraded in Brook Lodge and had a suite so i was glad of that for her sake as she had a bigger bed in the suite.
I do feel this is something people need to be aware of, at the end of the day it was not cheap to stay and so you want to expect that you have space and comfort if you don't end up getting to sleep for some reason. I am thrilled to say that the comments were taken on board, there was no offence taken and i was very happy with the response that i received.I do believe that a business needs to hear constructive criticism so then they can consider making changes if enough people have a similar issue. I did point out that i did not want to be going away annoyed about it especially as everything else was just perfect. So thank you Brook Lodge for hearing me and doing something about it.The sleep quality rating is simply based on my experience but i could have rang and requested a change and i did not think to do this, i will in future. I would really recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask questions about where you are going to be put, the beds!!! and there are some rooms overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittycosengas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights just after Easter. The welcome was warm and we were provided with lots of info when we checked in. I had asked for a quiet room with a garden/ river view - and thats exactly what we got. While the furniture is beginning to show signs of wear and tear, the room was well appointed and clean. It was great to have a complimentray newspaper to start the day.
Breakfast was great- with ample choice and swift service. Staff were friendly and happy to accommodate any variations on the menu we requested.
We ate in the lounge one evening, steak & chicken sandwich - food was very good and well priced. We ate in the italian restaurant another night. The food was good and we really enjoyed our meal. The only down side was the slightly cool temperature of the room!
The spa was excellent. I booked a facial & the other half had a massage. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and enjoyed using the sauna & steam room. Great break - though shop around for a deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogaladyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Food ,service and general all round attention to detail was excellent.Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosekane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJDWicklow, Co-Owner at BrookLodge & Macreddin Village, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Many thanks for your very kind review. Best regards, Eoin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macreddin Village
29.0 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
32.2 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
8.3 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
27.8 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
15.2 km away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BrookLodge & Macreddin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BrookLodge & Macreddin Village

Property: BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
Address: Macreddin Village, Near Aughrim | County Wicklow, Macreddin Village, Ireland (Formerly BrookLodge & Wells Spa)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Macreddin Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macreddin Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BrookLodge & Macreddin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Reasons you must visit BrookLodge Hotel & Macreddin Village: 1. We are a unique hotel in a unique village that offers guests an all-in-one opportunity to experience an Ireland that blends the best of old and new. Best Leinster Restaurant 2014, Culinary Hotel of the Year 2013, Hotel of the Year '09 & '10, and Business Hotel of the Year 2012. BrookLodge & Macreddin Village features an assortment of superb accommodation from classic country house style bedrooms through to state-of-the-art mezzanine suites.2. An extraordinary Organic & Wild food ethos means that Macreddin Village boasts the only certified Wild & Organic restaurant in Ireland - The Strawberry Tree. Another restaurant, a village cafe, a dining lounge, a country pub and an Organic bakery and smokehouse complete a matchless collection 3. An exceptional set of leisure facilities includes a fabulous Resort Spa, Macreddin Golf Course - designed by European Ryder Cup Captain, Paul McGinley, an equestrian centre, mapped walks and complimentary bicycles.4. Macreddin Village has a history dating back to the 5th Century, and is situated in a "Designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty", a remote Wicklow Valley, yet just an hour's drive from South Dublin. Surrounded by stunning countryside, our near neighbours include the world renowned beauty spot - Glendalough Monastic Settlement and Lakes, and The Wicklow Way - Ireland's premier mountain walking trail.5. Now is the time to avail of the lowest hotel rates in Western Europe, and visit Ireland, And nowhere offers a more rewarding and distinctive Irish experience than BrookLodge and Macreddin Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BrookLodge & Macreddin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklodge & Wells Hotel Macreddin Village
Brooklodge And Wells Spa
Brooklodge Hotel
Brooklodge Wells Macreddin Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing