We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in St Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My husband & I* stayed here in July in a sea facing room with balcony. Having stayed in 2009 we knew we would not be disappointed.The staff are so helpful at all times. Nothing is too much trouble. The view from the room is second to none, there is only a walk way separating you from the beach. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beach, so sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    143
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
134
291
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Home Counties UK
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Our first visit to Jersey and the Golden Sands at St Brelade's Bay made an ideal base.
The recommendations that steered us to this hotel were accurate. It makes a delightful holiday hotel - and having spent an enjoyable week in sea view room no 308 with balcony - unusually we have no adverse comments at all. The staff are very helpful and friendly, especially considering that we stayed in the first week of October after they had worked through a busy season and must surely have been tired. If they were they didn't show it. Similarly the restaurant
was excellent, with beautiful sea views across the wide bay every meal was a pleasure. We took half board and were delighted with the quality of the menu.
So it is not surprising that several fellow guests we spoke to had used the Golden Sands before and returned regularly. Not something my wife and I usually do but we may follow suit in this case - one day anyway.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms well worth the extra and will be quieter than those facing the road at the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding,Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We have been visiting Jersey on and off for many years generally taking a 4 night break at the end of the season.During this time we have stayed in hotels in the North of the Island,South of the Island and inland.Having seen good reports on the Golden Sands Hotel we thought we would give it a try.Initially were a bit apprehensive when we saw it had no car park but our fears were soon allayed on arriving to find the public car park is directly opposite the hotel and from the 1st October parking fees do not apply.
We were very impressed with all aspects of the hotel and particularly the location this probably also helped as we visited during the weekend when temperatures reached the heady heights of 28deg C for October (which compared favourably to our visits to Italy and Ibiza this year ).
We did not have a sea view room but the room we had overlooking the road was comfortable and well equipped.Road noise was negligble at night and viirtually non-existant.
We found staff in all areas of the hotel friendly and helpful on all occasions and having stayed in several hotels previously on the island we will not hesitate to return to the Golden Sands

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avebury27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed for a week on a trip organised by a coach company. We had a superior room which was very spacious and comfortable. The food was well prepared with plenty of choice and the staff were all friendly with just the right amount of informality. The location was excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the road and was the only one available. We found it quiet, although we would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank normanWestBromwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Visited the Golden Sands Hotel in September 2011 and loved everything about the place. What a wonderful location for a hotel - right next to the Beach. The Staff were most helpful and informative about everything we asked them in relation to the area etc. Restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful at any time of the day. Food was excellent and the choice was endless and affordable. Service with a Smile always!! Even though we didn't have a room with a sea view we still enjoyed the hotel. Our room was spacious and the hot chocolate drink was a real treat evey night. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to my friends and maybe we might be lucky to get a sea view next time we visit. Well done to all the staff who were professional and friendly during our stay at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View - it's breathtaking. Otherwise ask for a top floor room at rear if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MolCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Our third visit now to this well positioned hotel on the sea front. So easy to get to and on such a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterborough1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Just returned from the Golden Sands Hotel, St Brelade's Bay, Jersey and we loved it.

The hotel is situated right on the beach with panoramic views of St Brelade's Bay.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities.
We had a sea view room with balcony.

The food is fantastic. Breakfast is buffet service with a huge choice of both cold and hot food, all of an excellent quality.

Dinner is waiter service with a choice from the daily menu, or you can choose from the grill menu, I would rate the food 10/10 - compliments to the chef. Tip: try the steak, it's the best I have ever had.

There is not a lot to do in the evening but there is a bus stop outside the hotel into St Helier with connections to other parts of the island.

Room Tip: Tip: Chose a sea view room, which has a balcony. The non sea view rooms are located at the rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patlloyd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Brelade
0.2 km away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
1.9 km away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
771 reviews
0.3 km away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Brelade
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,001 reviews
5.8 km away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,665 reviews
5.8 km away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Property: Golden Sands Hotel
Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade’s Bay, St Brelade JE3 8EF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Brelade
#7 Family Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Luxury Hotel in St Brelade
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of the popular St Brelade’s Bay, the Golden Sands Hotel is the perfect location for a quality, beach holiday in Jersey that is as active or relaxing as you choose. Recently refurbished and enjoying 4 star status, the hotel offers panoramic views over the white sandy beach and clear blue waters from the restaurant, café bar and most of the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands St Brelade
Golden Sands Hotel Jersey/St Brelade
Hotel Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing