We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay with friendly knowledgable staff!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Helier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kensington Guest House
Ranked #10 of 20 St Helier B&B and Inns
Leicester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice stay with friendly knowledgable staff!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights, had a very warm and friendly welcome from Joao the owner. The whole place was clean and tidy, a nice lounge area and breakfast room too.

The bedroom, having seen 4 of the rooms, they were all of good standard, clean and tidy. There is a TV in each room with freeview, kettle and hair dryer. Clothes hangers were provided in the wardrobes.

The bathroom was small, but it had a very good power shower and was clean. It's not like you live in your room so it did the job fine.

There was very minimal noise from outside also.

The breakfast, it was excellent. There was a choice of half a dozen cereals, jams and juices etc. toast was provided done exactly as asked.

The full English was cooked very well, I do not mean burnt, I mean it was top notch! A very good generous portion of everything and certainly enough to keep you going until lunch. It was all grilled and not greasy which was good.

Theres a large amount of leaflets and such like in the hall way if you are not familiar with Jersey. The knowledge of the island and best places from Joao the owner was outstanding.

The location of the hotel is excellent, it's virtually in the middle of St Hellier just a five min walk to the shops.

We will definitely be staying in this hotel again, we would highly recommend it to anyone. Having read a bad comment from someone else who stayed here, they are so wrong, it's really nice, the service really was excellent, in my opinion they have not been at all honest.

Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieAndThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    25
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
17
41
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Brilliant stay, very friendly, breakfast excellent, no need to eat again till evening !!!!!! Would definitely go back if ever in Jersey again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Another good holiday at the kensington. Very friendly can,t fought the cleanest of this guest house. We spend six weeks here every year and look forward to this from the day we come home if you want good friendly place to go this is it. well done John Annie and Mo.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I'm from Jersey and we just wanted a cheap and cheerful guest house with a comfy bed, good shower and a tasty breakfast...which is exactly what we got. The owners of the guest house were just so lovely, cheerful and happy to help all the time and gave us a very warm welcome.

There are 2 cosy, nicely decorated lounges and a breakfast room. In the hallway there are loads of leaflets for things to do and see on the Island and a lot of the 'what's on in Jersey' type guides have money off vouchers in them.

The room itself was comfortable, plenty of storage space for us and a great shower. The only issue we had was the noise from the road, although it is a side street it did seem to be very noisy with traffic and people chatting outside. No ones fault and just a small issue as everything else was perfect. The location of the guest house was perfect, 5 mins walk from town, couple of minutes walk from the beach and main bus station.

The cooked breakfast was wonderfully cooked and they were very accommodating if you wanted anything different.

As for things to do in Jersey, here are some ideas to ensure you see as much of beautiful Jersey as you can!!

*Plemont Bay is my favourite of them all, quite a few steps to get down to the bay but it is stunning and there are caves down there that you can explore too. Lovely cafe at the top of the stairs also.
*St Ouen Bay - great for surfers. Recommend Big Verns cafe down there, great food.
*Smugglers Pub down at Ouaisne has gorgeous food after a day at Ouaisne bay. My favourite pub on the Island.
*Same area as Ouaisne is also Noirmont, Portelet... Noirmont has the old german bunkers, really interesting to potter around.
*Elizabeth castle is beautiful, very interesting day out. It's out at sea off St Aubins bay (the waterfront). You can walk out to it (bit of a trek) or get the 'duck' boat which is good fun, kids will love it!
*Gorey castle and the harbour below it is lovely, great beach too. Gorey village just down the road has the potteries too which sells some gorgeous stuff and you can make some pottery down there too.
*Get a take away from Pizza Express in St Brelade Bay and eat it on the beach!
*Some lovely bays on the east coast.... Archirondel is very pretty, St Catherines pier is stunning.

I'd recommend you hire a car and drive round all the bays, they are all so different and all lovely.
Why not take a day trip to Sark, Guernsey, or France too!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Kensington whilst visiting family and would highly recommend it for a reasonably priced guest house extremely close to the centre of town and seafront. We had a double room (3) at the front which was a good size with ensuite.
The breakfast was full english or any combination you requested, also fruit juice and cereals and prunes were made available on a side table.
The staff were very friendly and cheerful and made breakfast time a pleasure.
You are only minutes away from all that St Helier has to offer and I would have no hesitation in recommending it and look forward to staying there next time we visit Jersey.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sah897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We had booked a family room for my wife and me and our two children. The room was quite clean and the bathroom in the room (en suite) was okay.
Breakfast is normal british breakfast with some additional cereals.
The owner and the whole staff are very friendly. The owner (John) is joking all the time.
We were just looking for a simple accomodation (bed and breakfast) in the centre of St. Helier to visit the island.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadi-fabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We had an excellent room at the back of the House, which was very quiet. We used 3 different restaurants in Kensington Place, all within 2 to 3 minutes walk & none disappointed - the 'early bird' menus suited us well. John & his staff were friendly and helpful &, if they couldn't answer guests' questions, were quick to phone for the necessary information. The breakfasts were good, though an option of grapefruit, prunes etc. instead of cereals would have suited my wife. The location near the Esplanade was good for several buses and it was only a 10 minute stroll to the Liberation Bus Station for all the other buses. Obviously it would not suit those who wanted all the facilities of an hotel, but was excellent value for money for those who simply want a comfortable bed in a clean room and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therev41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 km away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.7 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.7 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.1 km away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 32 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.7 km away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Guest House

Property: Kensington Guest House
Address: Thomas House 21 Kensington Place, St Helier JE2 3PA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in St Helier
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kensington Guest House Hotel St. Helier
Kensington Guest House Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing