We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Greenhills - very good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenhills Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greenhills Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Peter
Certificate of Excellence
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greenhills - very good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were very pleased with the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was very good. Bedroom was very comfortable - but a bit small, albeit with good storage space and a good comfortable bed. We had minor problem with hot water in the bathroom - but the hotel brought in a plumber very quickly and it was largely fixed.

It is in a good, quite location with easy access to the island.

Correspondence during and after booking was quick and efficient by email. I would very happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllonLeonards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    68
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
86
335
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here like a few other reviewers as part of a Groupon deal which included car hire. We were here 2 nights and were very impressed with the hotel - the rooms were very comfortable and have everything you would need. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant but had breakfast, which was very nice - hot food cooked to order and cold items (cereal, yoghurt, croissants, rolls, fruit & juice etc) were layed out as a buffet.
I would recommend hiring a car to get around the island, you get to see so much & as the hotel is a bit out of the way - its more convenient.
We flew with just hand luggage from Gatwick, so it was very quick & easy to get to Jersey.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cloudyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Greenhills through the Groupon national deal. I am so glad the hotel participated in the scheme as it was outstanding value for money. I confirmed the dates with the hotel via email which were answered promptly. I read the reviews on this site before visiting the hotel but arrived with an open mind.

We rented a car with Europcar through the affiliate scheme which went very smoothly; by the time we collected our cases we were sat in the car within 10 mins. I would certainly recommend booking the car hire with the hotel.

In response to the comments about the rooms looking aged, I would say bare in mind this is a 'country' hotel - therefore the floorboards squeak and it's not minimalist - but I loved it. Some beautiful paintings and lovely antique furniture. The bathroom was clean and contemporary, there was a flat screen digital tv and a very comfortable bed. We stayed in Room 7 which didn't have a view but was more than compensated by the size of the room - it had a 3 piece suite and still enough space to swing a cat!

Although we didn't eat in the hotel, we had breakfast both days in the restaurant which appeared to have been recently redecorated very tastefully. The selection at breakfast was excellent as was the quality. Cooked breakfast were made to order and were served promptly.

The staff were faultless throughout our stay. The traditional hotelling approach made us feel very special, the manager was very friendly and the concierge took our baggage to our room (without us feeling like we were obliged to tip) and brought us our complimentary bottle of bubbly.

The hotel is out of town but I wouldn't let it put you off as nothing is too far way as it's a small island. Overall I would 110% recommend this hotel, it was outstanding values for money and I will certainly be recommending it to all my friends and family.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dieselsuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham,
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here on a Groupon deal. The staff are the hotel's best asset. they are lovely, so helpful and polite. Clearly well trained by the management who are always in attendance. Had a garden view suite which was very pleasant, had a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed. Breakfast was relaxed and a good choice. dinner was very good. Alll in all can't fault it. Would definitely stay here again if we ever came back to Jersey.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norrisBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burgess hill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

we recently stayed at this hotel through the groupon deal , lovely setting and i have to say the staff were excellent very welcoming and friendly , the food was also very good , my only critisism was that the rooms are a bit tired and dated although the bathroom was spotlessly clean and the bathrobes a really nice touch , we were really hot in our room and asked for a fan the staff found us one straight away and brought it up to us , if the rooms were brought a bit more up to date this hotel would be perfect !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flygirlBurgessHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was our first visit to Jersey and we booked this hotel for a three night stay mainly because there was an offer of free car hire which is not really worth it but the hotel is excellent, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was wonderful every morning.
We had a very spacious garden room and they made our stay very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel everytime.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxfordmnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very nice clean hotel, excellent breakfast and staff were very helpful and polite. Excellent value for money. The only downfall was no spa on site but you can have the option to use another hotels facilities which make up for it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter
2.8 km away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
7.6 km away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
3.2 km away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
3.9 km away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
6.0 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Country Hotel

Property: Greenhills Country Hotel
Address: St. Peter's Valley Le Mont de L'Ecole, St Peter JE3 7EL
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Peter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenhills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Greenhills Country Hotel and Restaurant stands in the heart of Jersey's 'Green Lane' Parish of St Peter. Come and experience the unique atmosphere of a small country house hotel.Each of our bedrooms are traditionally styled, whilst having all the facilities expected of a 4 Star hotel, with a fine reputation for meeting, and surpassing, every guest's needs and expectations. Our aim is to offer a tranquil and relaxed atmosphere in which you can enjoy your stay with us. All bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower, hair dryer, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee tray, satellite LED TV's with foreign language channels, bathrobes, white duck down duvets, and The White Company toiletries. Full English breakfast is included in the room rates.The award winning AA Rosette Restaurant offers imaginative table d'hôte menus. The Chef selects only the finest quality ingredients including fresh Jersey produce.The resturant is known for attentive and personal service, whether for dinner, lunch, a 'lighter bite' or afternoon tea, served in beautiful tranquil surroundings: on the terrace, surrounded by the beautiful gardens, or in one of the lounges.You can be sure of a great welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Greenhills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenhills Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing