We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing. The worst B&B we have stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Undercliff Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Trinity B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2011

In our opinion this place was not four star. Our "ensuite" comprised a tiny shower room with toilet, the wash basin was at the other side of the bedroom within the bedroom. The bath mats were paper. There was no visitor information in the room - not even information on fire procedures! In a double room we had only one chair so nowhere to sit and relax. The room was very tired and dated and in need of refurbishment. The tea tray comprised poor quality tea and coffee with UHT milk and no biscuits. The car park sign faced in towards the carpark, not the road, and said it was Undercliffe Car Park not a buidling site. There was little choice for breakfast and no self-selction other than a small amount of fruit and jams.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P_and_D_Trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Undercliff Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

Chose this for a last minute weekend on Jersey - one of few with rooms still available. It turned out to be the best possible place we could have stayed and for less than half the price of the headline hotels. It lies on Jersey's historic hill climb race route, which in itself is impressive. The Undercliff was comfortable, clean, well managed and the location simply fantastic. The breakfast was excellent. Hosts couldn't have been more helpful but didn't pounce on you the moment you came through the door. We paid £146 for a double room, two nights B+B and worth every penny. Took the cliff path to Rozel Bay, which is just down the road from the guest house - very beautiful walk. The Undercliff has the standard of a good hotel but with all the home comforts. Ideal place for a last minute short break - or longer stay. Unusually for me, I would go back again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Make it clear if you need anything
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid_Bergmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Me and my now fiance (he proposed whilst away) stayed here for 4 nights and it was lovely, when we arrived around 9pm we wasnt sure where the enterance was but we soon realised. Once inside we met another guest who told us to ring the bell. That was when we met Ida, Being rather late we hadnt had any dinner so we asked Ida if their was a takeaway we could order from, she gave us the menu and then said she would set a table up for us in the dining room and to just leave all the dirty plates she would clean them in the morning (we wasnt expecting that so very pleased)

The hotel itself is a lovely old building (we think it used to be a church but not sure, didnt ask either) The room was really nice and wow the bed, which we had a kingsize was soo comfy I didnt want to get out of it.

The location of the hotel I felt was a little bit too far out of the main town for me, we chose not to hire a care due to being on holiday and wanting a drink. The buses are ok one each morning at 9.50 just down the road, but to get back again only one in the evening. You can if you want to get a different timed bus but it only takes you so far, the walk is about 10-15 minutes long to get back to the hotel and can be a little difficult if you dont fancy a hill.

The breakfast was really tasty we tried both the continental and the cooked breakfast, both very nice and if your still hungry you can just ask for more, Ida was out serving and Richard was in the kitchen cooking it so you always knew it was fresh.

Other than that I think the hotel is great and I would definatly stay their again purely because of the service and the great views and walks.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hushpuppy290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

What a lovely B&B, very personable and friendly staff - always happy to go the 'extra mile. A wonderful location, clean and peaceful, just the place for stressed out executives....

Gino Ginelli

Room Tip: See views are a must
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joethetaxi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Had an enjoyable weeks stay last week with my husband at the Undercliff, quaint 200 year-old property with certainly a lot of charm, we were made very welcome by Ida and Richard the owners, the breakfasts were enjoyable especially the porridge and the full cooked breakfast cooked by Richard. Nothing was too much trouble as I forgot my hairdrier so Ida loaned one to me. The location was not suitable for people with walking difficulties as it was on a steep hill, car hire is essential.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

The Undercliff is perfect for those who like natural beauty as it is situated in a gorgeous place near the sea. The family who run the hotel are very friendly and kind and are always willing to adapt to what is requested , and even to anticipate a need, such as travel information. They go the extra mile. The meals are good and the breakfast is served at 9 am the perfect time. We really enjoyed our visit and hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariadne069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We found Undercliff Guest House to be quite charming, and a very friendly and relaxing place to stay. The owners really make you feel welcome, and there is a warm, comfortable feeling about the place. Breakfast is served in very pleasant surroundings, and the food is well cooked and served with a genuine smile. It is a four minute walk to idyllic Bouley Bay, on what might be described as the more peaceful and prettier north side of the Island. Although Undercliff cannot be compared to a luxury hotel with lots of facilities, we can highly recommend it to anyone like ourselves who prefer accommodation offering a more personal and relaxing environment. We would definitely like to stay at Undercliff again if/when we return to Jersey.

Barry & Valerie

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelreview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
0.0 km away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,692 reviews
0.0 km away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
841 reviews
0.0 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.0 km away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
1,026 reviews
0.0 km away
Windmills Hotel
Windmills Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Brelade
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Undercliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Undercliff Guest House

Address: Les Charrieres de Boulay, Trinity JE3 5AS
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Trinity
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range: $113 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Undercliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Undercliff is a tranquil family run guest house. Due to the ever increasing popularity of self catering, for 2017 we will be converting existing guest rooms to 5 self catering rooms and 3 Self Catering Junior Suites ( both these rooms types will benefit from free Continental breakfast inroom) All within the same quirky building, all modernised to a 4 star guest house standard with bigger beds, bigger TV's, bigger ensuites, and more stylish. We also have a one bed Countryview Apartment, 2 bed Sea view Apartment and our 2 beautiful Sea view 3 bed Villas, all situated in a unique location on the north coast very near Bouley Bay harbour and beach. One of the main attractions of Undercliff is that it is situated literally a few yards from the beautiful north coast cliff paths where you have stunning views of the coast of France and the outlying reefs. Also located a few minutes drive from the famous Durell Wildlife Centre and the main town of St Helier is only 15 mins drive away. With free WiFi, gardens , swimming pool and car parking Undercliff makes a perfect base to enjoy all that Jersey has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Undercliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Undercliff Guest House Hotel Trinity

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing