We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
316
83
19
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
316
83
19
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course indoor pool afternoon tea wedding reception studio room wedding party health suite overnight stay self catering apartment health club four poster bed first class fillet steak special thanks three course meal main restaurant across the road
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 427 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2018

We re time-share owners and have been visiting Guernsey and staying at La Grande Mare hotel for over twenty years. We love it. We love the place, the staff, the location in fact, we love everything about it. Nothing like an early morning walk on Vazon Beach before breakfast. Rooms are well equipped and have recently been refurbished. Good deals to be had on the food too. We usually use the indoor pool facilities, as well as the outdoor pool and jacuzzi when the weather is good. Having lunch outside overlooking the pool and golf course beyond, brilliant. My son and family are spending our week at La Grande Mare from tomorrow, what a treat they are in for.
We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: We have F1 which is a very large suite with two entrances.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank carolannaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Thank you for your fantastic review for your recent and last twenty years of staying with us,we are delighted to hear just how highly you rated your visits with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

We booked the poolside for a BBQ for 60 friends on a Saturday
All of us had time of our life - prompt service, welcoming bar, absolute mesmeric food - served for at least 2 hours - lots of wine
Poolside setup well, plenty seating - access to the garden
Kids had free for all splash in the pool & Jacuzzi
...and one could top up glass from bar inside
Didn’t want to leave
Sun was kind & shone non stop
What a show - picturesque & welcoming
Thank you GRANDE MARE!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Aruni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely review-what a party and such a lovely day -we are delighted that you and your guests enjoyed it all so much.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2018

Popped into La Grande Mare Restaurant last night (4th May 2018) with my wife and 2 friends. We haven't been for a while as there is a lot of choice on the island. I must say we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we were well looked after and made very welcome. Thank you Edit and Petre for looking after us. I didn't get the barman's name, but my wife enjoyed his Gin based cocktail. Also, a conscientious Maître D was always at hand and gave us a warm welcome.

We decided on the Chateaubriand which was perfectly cooked and came with a delicious sauce, mushroom, tomato and french fries to our special request instead of 'fat' chips.

If you have heard of the 2018 film "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society", then you will understand all about the Liberation of Guernsey. It was very nice to see that the hotel was bedecked in red white and blue bunting for the occasion.

Top marks and thank you to all for a very enjoyable evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a Four Poster Suite. It's worth the extra!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharkfinn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

Thank you so much for the great review-it was great to hear how much you enjoyed your experience at La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and Country Club recently and we look forward to welcoming you back agani soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018

Management does not tell the truth. The offer is not true.this is not a good place to relax, there are many inconveniences and the owner and the first manager lied to me before I came to this hotel.I do not recommend this hotel

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Piotr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Piotr
You worked for the Hotel-you didn't stay in the Hotel as a guest.
Maybe you thought you were on vacation but I can assure you that is not the case.
It is indeed a shame you now stoop so low to sully our good name.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

I booked an overnight stay as I was attending a function in the hotel. From booking to check out everything was spot on. Staff are informative and friendly. My room was a standard double but exceeded expectations. Free water, large selection of teas, large room and bathroom, robes and slippers, amazing shower once I figured out how to work it! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

What a lovely review-thank you for taking the time to write it and it was nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us at La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and Country Club.
Should you decide to stay with us again you would be most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews