We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place, great location with a stunning secluded garden.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place, great location with a stunning secluded garden.”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Staff are amazing. Rooms are great and spacious. The garden is a real sun trap and pleasant place to enjoy a summer afternoon drink.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpgruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    224
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
60
328
48
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our room over looked the courtyard. The decor is funky -modern and the bathroom huge. The hotel was very close to the main shopping street and then down some steps to the esplanade. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast very nice. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble carrying luggage upstairs ask for a ground floor room as the spiral staircase up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Had a family reunion on Guernsey and a party of 7 of us stayed at the hotel. It was comfortable quiet and the food was wonderful. Would love to go back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Hotel is perfectly situated to explore the centre of St Peter Port and near the bus terminus to explore the rest of the island . Hotel itself is fine with nice well fitted rooms , very pleasant staff all round , good breakfast and lunchtime snacks .

Highly recommended .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This was a one night business trip.
The room was good and priced OK as it was from the internet. There was one little thing wrong with the room, but since they leave a card for you to highlight any maintenance issues, I cannot complain as I'm sure they will sort it.
I wouldn't necessarily choose here for a holiday hotel, but that said the price was good and although it wouldn't add to a holiday experience, this was a perfectly good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WithScruples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A 5-night stay pre-Easter to sample the gastronomic delights of St Peter Port, and we were not disappointed. Loved the contemporary styling of the rooms, very tastefully decorated, spacious and, I thought, classy! We were initially located on the top floor with a gorgeous bath on a raised dias in the bedroom area and an equally stylish bathroom attached, but the stairs were going to be a problem with achy joints over 5 days. We were relocated, with no fuss at all, to 32 on the ground floor which was a relief. As an example of 'problem-solving', it was brilliant! The new room was equally good, with a more 'conventional bathroom', and the same stylish interior. The staff, from top to bottom, were excellent, cheery, chatty and helpful - what more could you ask? The flowers, an extra, are still going strong a week later which has cheered the 'distaff side' no end! I'd definitely go there again.

Room Tip: The beer-garden comments made by others are prudent, but until I experienced the possible noise I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed at the Duke of Normandie Hotel over Easter on their Easter deal, we had a twin room (no37), and the Easter deal included half board.

The room was really lovely, the twin beds were a bit too close together but we managed to space them out a bit – the room had everything we needed, the bathroom spacious and the shower really good. We never heard a sound from anyone during our stay there and slept really well.

Only complaint about the room was it did get very hot during the night, but I think that was more the quality of the duvet as the heaters were not on when we were sleeping.

The breakfast was really nice and had a good selection each morning, the evening meals were good as well and we could find something different to eat each night. Service was attentive but not in your face in the restaurant.

Location was perfect, very central but felt like it was hidden away.

When I come back to Guernsey I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.7 km away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
0.2 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
3.5 km away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
573 reviews
1.8 km away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Property: Duke of Normandie Hotel
Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing