We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful beach house”
other travellers have booked this property
Challaborough Beach safe and sandy for surfers, swimmers, boogie boarders
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Challaborough Beach safe and sandy for surfers, swimmers, boogie boarders
dining room with lounge in background view of kitchen from lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Challaborough Beach safe and sandy for surfers, swimmers, boogie boarders
dining room with lounge in background
view of kitchen from lounge
large fully equipped kitchen
gorgeous master bedroom
twin room A
twin room B
lounge
lounge looking in the other direction
ensuite. Family bathroom is exactly the same style but has a bath with a shower inside it
double bedroom. Room also has a large wardrobe
patio dining
sea tractor to the Pilchard Inn on Burgh island (5-10min walk)
Burgh Island with tide out
afternoon tea in the lounge
cgi of exterior
Christmas dinner!
New island in the kitchen
master bedroom
master bedroom with ensuite
double bedroom. Bed can also be day-bed as shown
family bathroom. bath and shower combined
twin room a
view from
sunset on coastal path - 5 mins walk from house
view of house from front - road has been finished since photo taken
hallway
lounge
dining room and kitchen
dining room and kitchen
bookcases at top of stairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anna g
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful beach house”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Located in Challaborough, this beautiful beach house offered warmth in the winter month of February and had everything we needed. Superbly furnished, it was a short distance from the beach where we dipped our toes (with our wellies) into the sea. A 15-20 minute walk over the headland took us to the beautiful beach at Bigbury and Burgh Island. Great for surfing, body boarding and paddle boarding- we watched! Great base to visit other neighbouring towns to: Salcombe, Kingsbridge etc. We'll visit again! Thank you Sandra.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Thank you for such lovely feedback Anna! So pleased you had a great weekend - you're certainly welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iwantmysa...
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good property- shame about the view”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a modern property with good facilities and accommodation. It is "upside down" in layout with the large kitchen/dining/sitting room on the top floor to make use of the view. Had been looking forward to sea views with the advertised location so close to the beach. It is a short walk to the beach, but the view is of ....... a caravan park. There is a hill opposite with some sheep visible and the coastal path is nearby for walks, but the full height picture windows give a good view of the caravan park so would suit those who wish to observe other people at play or leisure, but not the most restful of prospects as the evening entertainment in the caravan park finishes around 10:30pm and people will migrate back to their caravans after that.
Advertised as dog friendly, but there is no division between the steep green patch at the back and another family objected to our dog straying onto "their" patch of this green. Good walks for the dog, but not allowed on the local Challaborogh beach from 1st May to 30th September inclusive so had to go over the hill to neighbouring Bigbury -on Sea which has an area where dogs are allowed. On the plus side there are lifeguards at the beaches in season at both Challaborough and Bigbury and the surf is better at Challaborough.
The biggest drawback to this property is that it is on a building site currently and access is limited as a consequence. More of the same type of houses are being built and although there is a driveway that can accommodate more than one car we were told that any more than one had to be parked at the caravan park site (at extra expense). It was a pain when going out in separate parties as to who would have the keys with access to the building site gate. This problem will not exist when the other houses are finished and the road made up and surfaced.
If the weather is kind, there are places to enjoy it at the property with an outside terrace off the kitchen and flat roof has artificial turf and would be suitable for sunbathing (although no suitable furniture there when we visited). This is the only part of the property where a glimpse of the sea can be had when standing in the corner.
Not suitable for anyone with joint problems or poor mobility as stairs (quite steep) only access from bedrooms to living area and external metal stairs to the roof.
We did try and watch a DVD on the player, but it did not have any instructions and upon contacting the owner we were still unable to fast forward, pause or rewind even after replacing the batteries in remote control.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Thank you for the 4 star review. I trust that giving such a high rating, your issues didn't spoil your enjoyment of the weekend, however, I think the issues need to be resolved.
I will address each in turn.
These are new houses on a very new site and the landscaping will take many years to mature at which point the trees will obsure the caravan site view. We have had to be careful with what we have planted to ensure it fits well into the environment. We do have full length blinds on all the main windows with the caravan view .
We have advertised as dog friendly as we are allowing pet lovers to visit but few beaches in the uk accept dogs in peak season and we need to respect our neighbours' space too. Yes dogs can be brought to the house it's not unreasonable to have the dog on the lead. I have updated my house rules to specify this so that guests know more what to expect.
Actually house rules are for 2 cars on site. Fee for another car is £10 for a weekend, £20 for a week. This is a reasonable charge and stated clearly.
Our roof terrace has now been decked. As I specify, the roof deck is not developed. Access is possible but we will take our time over the design of the furniture etc.
The DVD player will be removed the next time I am at the house. I don't believe it's mentioned as a facility. I will update accordingly if it is.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole ambience of the property
Liked least: there was nothing i disliked
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maisymay1
1 review
“Highly recommended to relax in beauty home & location.”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Thanks to Sandra & family for a perfect place to explore a beautiful coastline. The property is spacious, well equipped & gorgeous interior. Hope to visit again as could not fault to property, service & location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmal0uis...
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal location - beautiful holiday home”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

6x adults 2x children and our four legged friend had a wonderful stay here. The house, facilities and location were absolutely perfect and as a lovely sign inside says memories really are made at the beach. Highly recommended and would definitely come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina83...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house in perfect setting!”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house is simply beautiful and located within a very short walk to the beach. Good food in a nearby pub/bar with a very friendly staff. There is a small local shop close by with everything you need. Gorgeous views around and plenty of walks to explore. We have visited Challaborough with a group of five adults, one child and two dogs - our short stay was fantastic! We definitely want to come back and try surfing :)
The house is amazing, with a big terrace where you can enjoy peaceful evenings listening to the sounds of the sea. Overall, we've had a wonderful time and regret it was only for two nights. Hopefully next time will be longer :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you Paulina - I'm so pleased you had such a wonderful stay. Thank you for taking such good care of our home, you are welcome back any time to try the surfing!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Beach Break”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful house. The photos don't quite capture how lovely this house is. It is airy, light and delightfully decorated.
You can smell the sea from the patio and have less than a minutes walk to a wonderful beach that we rented body-boards at and tucked into fish and chips.
Just a 10 minute walk around the headland to bigbury.
There is everything you could possibly want to have a truly relaxing and luxurious break.
Only downside if not being able to park outside the house. But you can park for a whole weekend for 10 pound so not too much of a problem.
Definitely a winner!
Thank you.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you Daniela. It was a pleasure to host such appreciative guests! Hopefully parking problem will be sorted soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing